Topic Title: Starcraft 2 crashing and blackscreen freezes
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/29/2013 08:28 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/29/2013 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nfgama
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/29/2013

Hey guys,

I really need your help with a irritating and frustrating problem im having with SC2.

In the middle of the game, the game freezes into a black screen (can still see cursor), and sometimes it comes back to the game, sometimes it just auto tabs out to windows (still see SC2 cursor) but it won't go back up again and forces me to Ctrl+Alt+Del and shut SC2 down on task manager if i want to get the windows back on working.

Now this happens every single match, and ive lost many many ladder matches and im just frustated to the point i can't take it anymore, because theres no point playing if im going to loose due to this problem.

I think i have tried like everything that comes into mind:

Checked for drivers updates, they are updated.
Tried all the help that is on every single sticky thread on this forum
Tried searching google without any help
Lowered settings but nothing changed.

It's really wierd because i can run Battlefield 3 on High settings and that thing pushes WAY harder than SC2. And BF3 doesnt give me one single problem.

I even tried to play the game on my laptop but its no use because the laptop shuts itself down after 5 mins into the game playing (no ideia why aswell..)

Heres my specs from Dxdiag:

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 9/26/2013, 21:20:32
Machine name: NUNOGAMA-PC
Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.130801-1533)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
System Model: System Product Name
BIOS: BIOS Date: 03/16/09 15:59:51 Ver: 08.00.12
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 3584MB RAM
Page File: 2145MB used, 5018MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 2: No problems found.
Sound Tab 3: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x683F)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_683F&SUBSYS_04271043&REV_00
Display Memory: 2546 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1010 MB
Shared Memory: 1535 MB
Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: L222W
Monitor Id: GSM5664
Native Mode: 1680 x 1050(p) (59.883Hz)
Output Type: HD15
Driver Name: aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1230 (English)
Driver Version: 13.152.0.0
DDI Version: 11
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 8/31/2013 01:13:56, 1233080 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Now it freezes to black screen and goes straight to a Blue screen on death.

Heres the report:


==================================================
Dump File : 092713-24093-01.dmp
Crash Time : 27/09/2013 00:19:18
Bug Check String :
Bug Check Code : 0x00000116
Parameter 1 : fffffa80`0379a060
Parameter 2 : fffff880`0660ae5c
Parameter 3 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 4 : 00000000`00000002
Caused By Driver : dump_ataport.sys
Caused By Address : dump_ataport.sys+8772054
File Description :
Product Name :
Company :
File Version :
Processor : x64
Crash Address : ntoskrnl.exe+75b80
Stack Address 1 :
Stack Address 2 :
Stack Address 3 :
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\092713-24093-01.dmp
Processors Count : 2
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 7601
Dump File Size : 336,711
Dump File Time : 27/09/2013 00:20:53
==================================================


I've tried all kinds of solutions for this BSOD with no success.

BUMP

Reinstalled win7 and problem still occurs but now it just goes into black screen and freezes, no blue screen of death.
for some reason the newest drivers for my HD7750 is what makes the game go black screen / freeze / BSOD error 0x116 atikmpag.sys error

1 - So i formatted my windows, installed RegcurePro and fixed all reg files.
2 - Installed the drivers that come up with the gfx card cd package to make sure i used old ones.
3 - OC'd the GPU a little bit
4 - Game playing at Windowed (fullscreen)
5 - Shades at Low

result: not a single crash so far into many games.

After rebooting system, the game would automatically freeze after hitting Play button in Launcher.

So im thinking its drivers conflicting with SC2. Apparently the 2 newest drivers wont work with SC2 but old ones apparently do.

Im currently switching drivers and see wich version works with SC2, trying Catalyst 12.3 atm and see if it gets stable.

It's wierd because when using the drivers that come up with the box the game works flawlessly.

Imcurrently trying to see if theres a driver that works and im working my way up in releases and currently at 12.6 with no success.

Anyone got a fix for this?

Thanks
 09/29/2013 09:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Did you try the newest version to fix an issue you had or just because they are brand new.

If it because they were new, then stick with what works and report the new ones as not working with SC2.

Wait till SC2 appears as being in the release notes as being fixed. Then upgrade to those drivers.

This is the first report of SC2 I have seen, so there maybe someone else out there that has the same issue.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/29/2013 09:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nfgama
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/29/2013

none of them actually works.

they all give black screen freezes and the 13.10 goes to BSOD.

 

the only one that actually works is the version 8.98 but it only works untill i reboot pc.

 

ive been monotoring GPU load % when the black screens happen and thats the only times when GPU load hits 100%, if i have lucky to get the game returned to normal the GPU loads back down.

 09/29/2013 09:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

So you have gone through all 13.x and 12.x CCC packages. Have you followed the procedures that are laid out in these two documents.

Un-Install:

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/GPU57RemoveOldGraphicsDrivers.aspx

Install:

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/InstallCatalystDriversForWindows.aspx

If you have been installing/un-installing without following these procedures as documented, then please try them.

I would think that 13.1 WHQL (not 13.10 ) or 12.10 would be stable enough. This is where I would start testing at.

I can't use 13.8 Beta 1 it caused my system to crash in certain games. 



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/29/2013 10:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nfgama
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/29/2013

i do as those links say, i even use driver sweeper.

Just tested 13.9 with Vsync on, 5 mins into game and it black froze followed by BSOD error 0x116 atikmpag.sys error

testing 13.1 atm.

 

EDIT: ok so 13.1 is more stable. but sometimes it still freezes for 1 second, auto-tabs out to windows and gets back in game.

 

at least now it doesnt crash lol



Edited: 09/29/2013 at 11:43 PM by nfgama
Statistics
81133 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.