Topic Title: FPS problems with older Call of Duty
Topic Summary: FPS
Created On: 09/30/2013 09:42 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/30/2013 09:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LAZER
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/30/2013

Hello there.

I seem to be having some fps issues with Call of Duty 1 and its expansion: United Offensive. These games are from 2003/2004 and should be causing me no difficulty in running what so ever.

I have an XFX Radeon 5870 graphics card (not to be confused with the non-XFX version) and struggle to maintain 125fps at the best of times which is extremely irritating as I had significantly better performance and no fps issues at all running my old Nvidia 9800GT card which obviously is not near the level of my current graphics card.

I've tried installing various Catalyst versions, but to be honest there's so many it's beyond a nuisance to pick a specific one to 'try' .. I'm not even sure it makes a substantial difference but nevertheless I tried it.

I'd also like to note that the rest of my computer specs are more than capable of running these old games as the performance was always flawless running my old 9800GT which unfortunately broke due to use. It is most definitely a graphics card issue and I'm running 32bit XP just to note.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! First post here so excuse my babbling.

 

 10/01/2013 08:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12481
Joined: 04/17/2008

So you are using a true 120hz or 144hz monitor that can physically display all those frames? I highly doubt it since you are using Windows XP. So who cares if you get 60, 125, or 9000000000 FPS if your monitor cannot display them?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64

Edited: 10/01/2013 at 09:09 AM by black_zion
 10/01/2013 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LAZER
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/30/2013

What kind of comment is that? Even a block monitor should be able to display 125fps on game(s) that old... Are you suggesting the graphics card is forcing the game to run more intensely than it needs to and the monitor can't handle it despite me being able to comfortably get 250fps on my old 9800GT with the same monitor? I don't see how that's possible.

 10/01/2013 04:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12481
Joined: 04/17/2008

I am not suggesting anything, I am saying that unless you have a true 120hz, 144hz, or 240hz display, then anything over the refresh rate, which is most likely 60hz, is a waste, and cannot physically be displayed.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/01/2013 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LAZER
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/30/2013

But surely all that would mean is I'd never be able to get the most out of my graphics card on a remotely demanding game which would require more Hz. On games like these there is no need for me to ever aspire to run at more than required.

 10/01/2013 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12481
Joined: 04/17/2008

It's not unusual for relatively old games to have performance issues with relatively new hardware and/or drivers, both for Radeon and GeForce, ESPECIALLY on games which are OpenGL based, as Call of Duty is (Id Tech 3 engine). You can look up ways to increase OpenGL performance in older games on newer hardware.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/01/2013 08:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LAZER
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/30/2013

CoD1 isn't OpenGL it's DirectX. I'm not sure if a game can be both but never mind. Appreciate your time!

 10/03/2013 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1406
Joined: 07/13/2009

CoD1 uses the Quake III engine, which is OpenGL.

 

Statistics
85473 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.