Topic Title: Catalyst 13.9 + Age of Empires The Conquerors
Topic Summary: Colors got messed up
Created On: 10/30/2013 07:08 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/30/2013 07:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mtorres2006
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/30/2013

Hi, I use a Radeon 7870, and after i installed Catalyst 13.9 to play BF4, i got my Age of Empires fully messed up. I play it throught GameRanger, and now i cant play the two games, i have to choose one of them. Without Catalyst 13.9, i can't play BF4, and with, i cant play Age of Empires.

Colors got crazy on AOE, and its impossible to play. I already tryed to reinstall, but it didn't worked.

Please help.

 10/30/2013 11:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Have you tried the 13.11 Beta 7 which was just release 10/29/13. The beta for every release has had improvments for BF4. The 13.9 WHQL release had to go through Microsoft certifications so it is older than the release date.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 10/31/2013 07:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mtorres2006
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/30/2013

I did it right now (beta8), and the problem is still there. My problem isn't with BF4. I'm having problems with Age of Empires (not the HD edition, but the older one).

 11/01/2013 01:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Andrey_Rybenkov
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 08/21/2013

Cannot say about AoK, but for original AoE last correct driver is 13.5b2. Since 13.6 colors borked in AoE and other DirectDraw games of the era.



-------------------------

Athlon II X4 630@3360, MA770t-UD3, Sapphire HD7790 1GB, FSP ATX500R,  Win7-32 PAE 8GB, Catalyst 14.4 WHQL

 11/14/2013 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vivs_007
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 03/02/2011

Found your post. I have the same exact problem. I'm using AMD 6500M series card on my Inspiron 14r.

AoE 2 dislays 8-bit colors(mostly purplish) with Catalyst 13.9. I was previously having 12.10 version in which it used to work okay.

Is there no cure to this? AoE won't ever run with post Catalyst 13.6?

Statistics
84297 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.