Topic Title: Assassin's creed IV drivers?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/20/2013 09:51 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/20/2013 09:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
manupa14
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/10/2012

I'm getting from 35 to 60 fps in AC with a phenom II x6 3.5 ghz and a 7970 GHz and I was wondering if there is gonna be a driver released soon to increase performance dips

 11/20/2013 10:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scultima
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/20/2013

Looking at various forums the majority of PC users are experiencing issues. Nvidia have already released an updated driver, and have a whole page of possible tweaks and tips to boost graphical quality and performance, but those recommendations do not work in the AMD Catalyst Control Centre. It could be that many of the issues are to do with CPU more than GPU though, as evidenced by this performance analysis from DSO Gaming.

The game is locked at 60fps which would be fine for me but when vsync is enabled this can drop to 30fps depending on the complexity of the scene, disable vsync though and it can shoot back up to 60 even in the same scene, which does not make any sense. Screen tearing is very bad so I imagine most people would want to keep vsync on.

Let's hope AMD can do something to help make this great game more playable!



-------------------------

ASUS P8Z77-V LX, Intel i5-3570 @ 3.40 GHz, AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB, 8GB DDR3 RAM



Edited: 11/22/2013 at 08:00 PM by Scultima
 11/20/2013 12:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
manupa14
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/10/2012

Lets hope so! you are very right, screen tearing is very annoying, despite the fps being between 35 and 60 it fluctuates all the time >.<

 11/20/2013 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scultima
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/20/2013

I blame it on the foliage!



-------------------------

ASUS P8Z77-V LX, Intel i5-3570 @ 3.40 GHz, AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB, 8GB DDR3 RAM

 11/20/2013 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
davion10
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 08/23/2013

Since the game has like 30 islands there is foliage everywhere and the framerate is just a complete crap. I've read the whole internet about people havingframerate issues. People played it on 800x600 with awful framerate, then the new Nvidia drivers came out and now they are fine. I hope AMD release their soon cuz they are really slow at releasing their drivers for new games...

 11/20/2013 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scultima
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/20/2013

I'm not actually holding out much hope, for example the horrible microstuttering on Far Cry 3 (also by Ubisoft) was never fixed and that definitely was something that could have have been fixed by a driver update.



-------------------------

ASUS P8Z77-V LX, Intel i5-3570 @ 3.40 GHz, AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB, 8GB DDR3 RAM

 11/20/2013 03:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
manupa14
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/10/2012

the thing is that it is sponsored by nvidia so im not sure if amd were able to get their hands on the game before the release..

 11/20/2013 03:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scultima
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/20/2013

Good point, here's hoping then...

...or not lol - http://www.videogamer.com/pc/assassins_creed_4_black_flag/news/assassins_creed_4_producer_says_pc_optimisation_isnt_important.html



-------------------------

ASUS P8Z77-V LX, Intel i5-3570 @ 3.40 GHz, AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB, 8GB DDR3 RAM



Edited: 11/20/2013 at 05:39 PM by Scultima
 11/20/2013 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
manupa14
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/10/2012

that guy, such a moron. The latest titles were almost all sponsored by amd, crysis 3, dmc, bf4 among many others, thats why i keep my hopes up that they will release a driver soon 

 11/21/2013 04:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vincentyo2
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/21/2013

After playing it is poor optimization on the developers part that is the issue. When monitoring my i7 activity my first core is using 96% and the rest are using under 10% usage. Also in graphically intensive parts of the game my FPS drops and my GPU is only using around 70-80% when it should be at 100%. The game needs patching by Ubisoft as well as drivers from AMD.

 11/21/2013 04:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

Originally posted by: vincentyo2 After playing it is poor optimization on the developers part that is the issue. When monitoring my i7 activity my first core is using 96% and the rest are using under 10% usage. Also in graphically intensive parts of the game my FPS drops and my GPU is only using around 70-80% when it should be at 100%. The game needs patching by Ubisoft as well as drivers from AMD.

 

+1



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 11/21/2013 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
7stars
Peon

Posts: 35
Joined: 04/18/2013

Originally posted by: Scultima Good point, here's hoping then...

 

...or not lol - http://www.videogamer.com/pc/assassins_creed_4_black_flag/news/assassins_creed_4_producer_says_pc_optimisation_isnt_important.html

 

really I can't believe that guy saying a nonsense like that are we sure?

anyway it's true that the game is not optimized as it could...but i find it playable enough on my rig with a single 7850 at 1920x1080... single because the Crossfire profile is not yet available and I can't use it...IMHO there are games worse than this

 11/21/2013 01:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7487
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: vincentyo2 After playing it is poor optimization on the developers part that is the issue. When monitoring my i7 activity my first core is using 96% and the rest are using under 10% usage. Also in graphically intensive parts of the game my FPS drops and my GPU is only using around 70-80% when it should be at 100%. The game needs patching by Ubisoft as well as drivers from AMD.

I sent you a PM



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 11/21/2013 09:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scultima
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/20/2013

 

Originally posted by: 7stars
...but i find it playable enough on my rig with a single 7850 at 1920x1080...

Ah we have the same GPU!

I've been testing ACIV a lot today using various settings in different areas of the game and found I have two choices:

 

1) Run the game locked at a steady 30 fps using these settings -

environment quality - very high

texture quality - high

anti-aliasing - SMAA

shadow quality - very high

motion blur - off

ambient occlusion - SSAO

god rays - off

volumetric fog - off

vsync - on

 

or alternatively:

 

2) Run between 50-63 fps I use these settings -

environment quality - low

texture quality - high

anti-aliasing - SMAA

shadow quality - high

motion blur - off

ambient occlusion - off

god rays - off

volumetric fog - off

vsync - off

 

I prefer to choose one or the other rather than have the frame rate drop dramatically whenever I so much as glance at a shrubbery!



-------------------------

ASUS P8Z77-V LX, Intel i5-3570 @ 3.40 GHz, AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB, 8GB DDR3 RAM



Edited: 11/21/2013 at 09:23 PM by Scultima
 11/21/2013 10:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

Originally posted by: Scultima  

 

Originally posted by: 7stars
...but i find it playable enough on my rig with a single 7850 at 1920x1080...

 

Ah we have the same GPU!

 

I've been testing ACIV a lot today using various settings in different areas of the game and found I have two choices:

 

 

 

1) Run the game locked at a steady 30 fps using these settings -

 

environment quality - very high

 

texture quality - high

 

anti-aliasing - SMAA

 

shadow quality - very high

 

motion blur - off

 

ambient occlusion - SSAO

 

god rays - off

 

volumetric fog - off

 

vsync - on

 

 

 

or alternatively:

 

 

 

2) Run between 50-63 fps I use these settings -

 

environment quality - low

 

texture quality - high

 

anti-aliasing - SMAA

 

shadow quality - high

 

motion blur - off

 

ambient occlusion - off

 

god rays - off

 

volumetric fog - off

 

vsync - off

 

 

 

I prefer to choose one or the other rather than have the frame rate drop dramatically whenever I so much as glance at a shrubbery!

 

this game have a bug that if you set vsync - on the game FPS will cap to 30 BUT i found a solution for this bug on ubisoft forums here : just google D3DOverrider download it and run it just before you run the game BUT be advised : USE IT ON YOUR OWN RISK ... and yes this game need a HUGE driver from AMD and a proper patch from UBISOFT



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 11/22/2013 09:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
manupa14
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/10/2012

still waiting for the driver then!

 11/22/2013 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scultima
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/20/2013

I made a new post with a link to download and how to use D3DOverrider -

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=443&threadid=169526&enterthread=y



-------------------------

ASUS P8Z77-V LX, Intel i5-3570 @ 3.40 GHz, AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB, 8GB DDR3 RAM

 11/22/2013 05:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
davion10
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 08/23/2013

Cool, they released 13.11 Ver9.4 and they didn't fix any AC4 issues. Good job AMD, good job...

 11/22/2013 09:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

13.11 Beta 11/22/2013

come out and not a single word about AC4 ... perfect



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 11/23/2013 06:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vincentyo2
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/21/2013

Originally posted by: davion10 Cool, they released 13.11 Ver9.4 and they didn't fix any AC4 issues. Good job AMD, good job...

 

 +1

 

Statistics
87650 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.