Topic Title: Terrain flickering in BF4 with new 13.12 driver
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/19/2013 01:43 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/19/2013 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bfine20
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/19/2013

I just installed the new AMD Catlyst/Driver 13.12 released on the 12/18/13 and now I get horrible terrain flickering while playing Battlefield 4. I was using beta version 13.11v8 before and it worked fine but I would get intermittent crashes. I installed the new 13.12 since it states it resolves some Battlefield 4 crashes. Is anyone else having this problem. Even though the game is nearly unplayable due to the horrible terrain fickering, my FPS are good and the game has yet to crash so I would like to fix the problem without reverting back to the beta driver but I will if I have to. Please any advise/suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!! 

Oh yeah, I am running (2) Radeon HD 7950's in CrossfireX, no overclocking. Video quality on Ultra has been superb before installing the new drivers, just been dealing with random crashes here. 

 12/19/2013 02:01 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7037
Joined: 11/13/2009

..and you did use the 'issue reporting form' to notify technical support didn't you?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/19/2013 08:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
murcius18
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/19/2013

Its not a problem with the drivers, if you read the bf forums, its a problem with SLI/crossfire graphics cards and the latest patch DICE realeased.

So you have to deactivate one of the graphics and the problem is solved, until they get another patch...

 

 12/19/2013 10:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bfine20
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/19/2013

Originally posted by: murcius18 Its not a problem with the drivers, if you read the bf forums, its a problem with SLI/crossfire graphics cards and the latest patch DICE realeased.

 

So you have to deactivate one of the graphics and the problem is solved, until they get another patch...

 

 

 

 

Yeah, I read that too last night but I was running Crossfire just fine immediately before I updated this driver. I've never had to disable one of my cards with any of the BF4 patches so maybe I was just lucky. I guess even though that is an issue for some running Xfire it just happened to not be an issue for me until I installed this new driver. Hopefully EA/DICE will fix the issue if it's on thier side. 

 12/20/2013 11:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xman63
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/07/2013

Patch out earlier this morning that supposedly addresses this issue.

Statistics
84179 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.