Topic Title: 32bit 4ram: Games and videos working fine. 64bit 8ram: Games and videos stuttering
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/27/2013 07:01 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/27/2013 07:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lolmamalol
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/27/2013

I used to be able to play Battlefield 4 (heavy game) on medium to high settings without the game stuttering whatsoever. Recently I upgraded to 64bit and 8 RAM. Even though the game is supposed to run better - it runs worse. I can barely run it when I'm on the lowest settings. Note that videos in media players and YouTube are stuttering too. I ran an antivirus scan (even though just formatted) and my computer is clean.

Intel® Core™ i5-2400 CPU @ 3.10GHz, 8 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6700

 12/28/2013 07:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4001
Joined: 01/27/2008

First thing is check your antivirus and make sure it's not checking every file the system uses.

Are you sure the latest Catalyst suite installed correctly?

Check your cpu temps to make sure it's not throttling from overheating.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/17/2014 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lolmamalol
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/27/2013

Originally posted by: Hardwood First thing is check your antivirus and make sure it's not checking every file the system uses.

 

Are you sure the latest Catalyst suite installed correctly?

 

Check your cpu temps to make sure it's not throttling from overheating.

 

I am sure about the antivirus and the Firewall.

 

I am sure about Catalyst.

How do I do check CPU?

 01/20/2014 02:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lolmamalol
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/27/2013

Anyone, please?

 01/20/2014 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7029
Joined: 11/13/2009

After you installed your OS...did you Manually go to Windows update and install the 'optional' downloads? There should be about 60-80 of them.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/23/2014 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lolmamalol
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/27/2013

I did not.. Where are those?

 01/23/2014 04:13 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Button Masher

Posts: 291
Joined: 10/14/2011

Originally posted by: lolmamalol I did not.. Where are those?

Look in Control panel / Windows updates.



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 01/24/2014 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lolmamalol
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/27/2013

Then yes. Everything is installed.

Statistics
84128 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.