Topic Title: COD Ghosts worse after upgrading to R9270X
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/02/2014 04:22 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/02/2014 04:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charwood23
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/02/2014

COD Ghosts was not running brilliantly well with my nVIDIA GTS450 just about coping. That said it ran and was playable but highlighted the need to uprgrade. So that I did and stumped up £180 for the Saphire AMD R9 270X 4Gb after reading some good reviews and it being value for money.

Now though the game is unplayable.

My drivers are up to date with me running  Catalyst v13.12.

My game is up to date and as stated worked better before the upgrade.

Edit* Perhaps some clarification - It is unplayable as the details and graphics are really poor having had to be set on minimum to get it to play at all. My frame rate must be 10 or less and even the mouse cursor moving over the screen is jittery when before all was ok (ish)

 

System is as follows:

Intel Quad Q6600 2.4 64bit

8Gb Ram

Windows 8.1 64bit

Mobo Asus P5K-VM Bios 2.4

Is there anything more I can do other than put back my old GTS450?

 

Chris

 



-------------------------

Intel Quad 2.4GHz Q6600, 8Gb RAM, ASUS P5K-VM, AMD Sapphire R9 270X 4Gb, Windows 8.1 pro. 



Edited: 01/02/2014 at 05:03 PM by charwood23
 01/02/2014 05:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12472
Joined: 04/17/2008

Intel Quad Q6600


Upgrade that to at least an i5 or i7 at 3ghz.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/03/2014 02:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charwood23
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/02/2014

Thanks, sort of. While that is on my things to do list it also means new mobo and ram on top of the CPU. That's a lot of money to spend just to play a £35 game. It is accepted though that my spec is 2008/2009 but does not explain why it ran better with my old GTS450. 

The spec of my systems is also in excess of the minimum requirements with, until said upgrade, my nVidia card being the only thing at the bottom of what is needed. Hence the upgrade. 

Is it a case of some components just work better together than others?



-------------------------

Intel Quad 2.4GHz Q6600, 8Gb RAM, ASUS P5K-VM, AMD Sapphire R9 270X 4Gb, Windows 8.1 pro. 

 01/03/2014 09:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12472
Joined: 04/17/2008

"Minimum requirements" usually mean lowest resolution and detail levels, but CoD Ghosts isn't without its share of bugs, and you probably have some nVidia stuff left over which is causing interference.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/04/2014 04:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charwood23
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/02/2014

Thanks again Zion. I have concluded that my half decent spec PC from 2008 is just not gonna cut it with today's media demands. 

I was kidding myself that upgrading my Gfx card would resolve the issues. I've played COD black Ops 2 and it ran at 40-55fps on max settings so is way better than my old card. 

I suppose its like sticking a turbo on a crappy 1.0ltre car, the performance bottle neck is still the engine, or in this case the mobo. I should have checked before but it's not even PCIE 2.0!

My solution: as mentioned I have the R9 270X 4Gb gfx card so I've added to that with a ASUS Z87M-Plus mobo, 8gb 1866 DDR3 corsair vengeance RAM and a i5 4670k 3.4 to run it all. 

That should hold me out for a few years at least. Just got to tell the missus that, having been told I can't sped £500 on an xBox One I have spent that, and some, on a new PC instead!

I've uninstalled all my nVidia program's etc now so that should be it right?

If so I guess we're done here now. Thx. 

 

 



-------------------------

Intel Quad 2.4GHz Q6600, 8Gb RAM, ASUS P5K-VM, AMD Sapphire R9 270X 4Gb, Windows 8.1 pro. 

Statistics
85443 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.