Topic Title: Unsupported Video Card detected ? HD7950 o_0 !?!?
Topic Summary: Sniper Warrior 2
Created On: 01/10/2014 04:45 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/10/2014 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
metagondria
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/02/2013

Tis like the title implies..

Just have bhought an new HD7950 sapphire factory OC and bhought the game Sniper Warrior 2 ghosts on steam..

Now, the 2 dont seem to mix well.. 

At startup of the game i get error message "unsupported Video card detected" .. iam like FTW !?!?

But i do have a choice to either cancel or continue but with the risk the game may become unstable the message reads !!

anyway... so i continue and to my surprise the game play's very well both on DX9 and DX11 settings !!!

So my BIGGEST QUESTION, → WHY do i get to see that error message every time i start up the game and how do i get rid of that message !!?

The drives are already up to date and iam on 13.12 !!

thanks,

 

and

Cheers,

 



-------------------------

  • CPU = AMD PHENOM II X4 965BE @ 4.0Ghz

  • GPU = HD7950 3GB Sapphire Factory OC

  • PSU = OCZ 700 Watt / ModXstream Pro - Sli

  • DDR2 = 4x2GB / PC6400

  • SSD = Kingston KC300 / 240GB

  • HOBO = M3A32-MVP Deluxe

  • OS = Windows 7 Ultimate x64

 01/10/2014 07:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12677
Joined: 04/17/2008

How about asking on their forums why their game doesn't detect the 7950 as a supported card?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/11/2014 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
metagondria
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/02/2013

pff.. what woud that accomplish !?

 

Thanks anyway..

 



-------------------------

  • CPU = AMD PHENOM II X4 965BE @ 4.0Ghz

  • GPU = HD7950 3GB Sapphire Factory OC

  • PSU = OCZ 700 Watt / ModXstream Pro - Sli

  • DDR2 = 4x2GB / PC6400

  • SSD = Kingston KC300 / 240GB

  • HOBO = M3A32-MVP Deluxe

  • OS = Windows 7 Ultimate x64

 01/11/2014 01:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12677
Joined: 04/17/2008

It would fix your issue...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/11/2014 02:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Did you have another card before the 7950 and was it install when you first tried the game. If you did try reinstalling the game and giving it a try. 



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 01/11/2014 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
metagondria
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/02/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion It would fix your issue...

You woud think so !!

Yet here i am again...

I have googled for an sollution , yet it seems to be an mistery !!!

1 person that had an similar problem wos using obsolete old ati/amd gpu card , according to some one else that has posted that nonsense

Then there are other poeple that claim the game works just perfect with their amd/ati card.. I.E → no errors, crashes what so ever !!

I myself, have just experience my first crash in that specific game today

DX11+DX9 (doesnt matter what i pick) !!! 

So , go figure...  You would think that the developers woud create more stable games/software nowday's anno 2014 !!

Originally posted by: WMudrockJr Did you have another card before the 7950 and was it install when you first tried the game. If you did try reinstalling the game and giving it a try.

Yes, my previous card wos an HD6870 VTX3D...  But NO, the game wosn't installed at that time when i still used that card.

Only the gpu drivers that were required for that gpu wos installed ofcourse !!

As a matter of fact, after i have bhought my new gpu HD7950 and my new SSD drive.I did an FRESH install of windows 7 x64.  After which i have bhought this game to install it on my fresh installed OS→GPU→SSD.

So yes, the game wos installed on an fresh installed complete system!

 

EDIT: @murdrockjr,  hehe i can't help but notice u LOOK AWFULL like KING BEHEMOTH on that pictar... 

Sorry, this FF buff simply couldn't resist to mention that..

 

 

thank u anyways..

 

 



-------------------------

  • CPU = AMD PHENOM II X4 965BE @ 4.0Ghz

  • GPU = HD7950 3GB Sapphire Factory OC

  • PSU = OCZ 700 Watt / ModXstream Pro - Sli

  • DDR2 = 4x2GB / PC6400

  • SSD = Kingston KC300 / 240GB

  • HOBO = M3A32-MVP Deluxe

  • OS = Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Edited: 01/11/2014 at 11:22 PM by metagondria
 01/15/2014 12:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 180
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi that is a Nvidia game so it may say unsupported but it still works ok. When I installed Sniper Elite v2 which is amd on my 7950 cards it was fine. I just built a new pc with a gtx 780 lightning card and now on install it says the same upsupported video card but the game still plays great

-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 01/15/2014 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Some people don't get it that games that are designed for nvdia cards have to install a physX to run on AMD cards. So if you had the n card and swaped it out for AMD card. Then you have reinstall games so it can install the physx code.

But some people just lack the ability to grasp that.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 01/16/2014 03:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 434
Joined: 08/21/2011

Dd that once(uninstal physx).Re-instal game.



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 

 01/19/2014 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
metagondria
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/02/2013

Originally posted by: WMudrockJr Some people don't get it that games that are designed for nvdia cards have to install a physX to run on AMD cards. So if you had the n card and swaped it out for AMD card. Then you have reinstall games so it can install the physx code.

 

True up there ↑ ..

As a matter of fact, some applications that use Gpu capability's CAN NOT RUN/function properly on an AMD card whitout physX !!!

Go figure !!

Strange though, why the problematic game didnt install physX if it wos that important !!

I guess it wosnt THAT neccesary to include physX.

Appart from that nag screen the game did infact play well.. most of the time (→ crash)

cheers



-------------------------

  • CPU = AMD PHENOM II X4 965BE @ 4.0Ghz

  • GPU = HD7950 3GB Sapphire Factory OC

  • PSU = OCZ 700 Watt / ModXstream Pro - Sli

  • DDR2 = 4x2GB / PC6400

  • SSD = Kingston KC300 / 240GB

  • HOBO = M3A32-MVP Deluxe

  • OS = Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Statistics
86495 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.