Topic Title: Far Cry 1 (Crytek, 2004) very low FPS
Topic Summary: Bad perfomance with Catalyst newer than 12.10
Created On: 01/17/2014 09:16 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/17/2014 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NomadAlexNT
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/17/2014

Hello. Sorry for my bad English.

Graphic Card: SAPPHIRE HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE, No overclocking.

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

Catalyst 12.10 (good) and some newer versions, 13.12 too.

Operating System: Windows 7 SP1 Ultimate x64

Motherboard: ASRock H55M-LE

Power Supply: 500W

Display Device(s): Acer AL1511

CPU Details: Intel Core i5 750, 2.67GHz, No overclocking

System Memory: 8Gb of RAM

Issue Details I have problems with FarCry 1. With Catalyst 12.10 and older FPS is good. But If I install other newer Catalyst's version (and 13.12 too), performance is bad. Game settings:

Vertical Sync: Enabled

AA: High

Screen Resolution: 1024x768

Texture Quality: Very High

Texture Filter Quality: Trilinear

Anisotropic Filter Quality: 8

Particle Count: Very High

Special Effects Count: Very High

Environment Quality: Very High

Shadow Quality: Very High

Water Quality: Ultra High

Lighing Quality: Very High

I found some parameter: e_shadow_maps (Activates drawing of shadow maps). And now look at screenshots:

It is Driver issue ? How it's possible to fix this without changing of  e_shadow_maps to 0 ? Or I must to use only 12.10 driver ?



Edited: 01/17/2014 at 09:23 AM by NomadAlexNT
 01/17/2014 04:55 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Farming Materials

Posts: 585
Joined: 10/30/2009

Is this the uPlay version of FC1?

if so there is your problem - get the original CD (Ubi free version) and it will run much faster. Be careful with AA settings as it can drag down too.

No problems here playing it @1920x1080 no problems

 

 



-------------------------











GA 990FXA-UD3v3
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1600 HyperX
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SATA3 WD Blue / 1x SSHD ST1000DX001 / 1x STBV2000300
Corsair 620W
Win7x64

 01/17/2014 05:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NomadAlexNT
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/17/2014

I have retail version (1 DVD). I repeat: with old versions of driver FPS is good. Some links with this problem (it is mass problem):

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3049285 - "Far Cry 1 Low choppy framerates"

QUOTE: ""EDIT: It seems to be a problem with the shadows, I tested every setting on Very High and the others on Low and Shadows just completely kill the FPS. Turned Shadows to Medium and Lighting to High and problem solved, no more bad frame rates.""

http://steamcommunity.com/app/13520/discussions/0/810919056949532408/ - "Low FPS/stuttering in outdoor areas" On this page ALL people with Radeon Adapter's have this problem with FC1

 01/17/2014 05:54 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Farming Materials

Posts: 585
Joined: 10/30/2009

There are 2 retail versions available - with uPlay and without! The version without uPlay is much faster.

http://s10.postimg.org/rfy9rdchl/FC1_001.jpg



-------------------------











GA 990FXA-UD3v3
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1600 HyperX
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SATA3 WD Blue / 1x SSHD ST1000DX001 / 1x STBV2000300
Corsair 620W
Win7x64

 01/17/2014 06:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dch48
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 09/15/2011

Just use the driver that works best with your system and don't fall into the "latest and greatest" trap. Many times, the latest only works well with the newer hardware it was designed for and will provide no benefit to the older cards.



-------------------------
HP Dv6-6140us Laptop, AMD A8-3500M APU with Radeon HD 6620G graphics, 6 GB DDR3-1333 RAM.
 01/18/2014 01:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NomadAlexNT
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/17/2014

"There are 2 retail versions available - with uPlay and without! The version without uPlay is much faster."

I dont have Uplay. It is old retail disk without uplay.

"Just use the driver that works best with your system and don't fall into the "latest and greatest" trap. Many times, the latest only works well with the newer hardware it was designed for and will provide no benefit to the older cards."

Yeah.. For Far Cry 1 I can use only Catalyst 12.10. But look like it is has no dependence with new/old hardware (HD5xxx,HD6xxx, HD7xxx), just this game dont supported anymore by AMD for new drivers newer than 12.10 (old 2004 year game and new drivers from 2013-2014 years - for what they must support it ?)

I'm playing also all Crysis's series and Far Cry 3. Usually new drivers fixes some graphical issues possible in new games, so I aspire to update the driver. But I'm not complaining about the problems in these games.

QUOTE: "Perhaps it's an AMD issue, it literally drops to 5fps when near AI, unless you turn shadows off. And if you've looked at the people's specs (6790 Turbo and 6870) you'd see there is no reason they shouldn't be able to handle the game, myself included."

I know, AMD will no fix drivers for this game, but it is some offensively. Ubisoft and Crytek too. XD If there are no more ways to get around this problem (for example, to run Far Cry with a specific driver's version in a time when the OS is use the other version), then I am no longer update the Catalyst. Anyway thanks for reply.



Edited: 01/18/2014 at 01:57 AM by NomadAlexNT
 01/18/2014 07:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4004
Joined: 01/27/2008

Originally posted by: NomadAlexNT then I am no longer update the Catalyst.

Good idea, I took this route after 12.10. I've tried a few newer versions but always went back to 12.10 for my 5870.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/19/2014 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kahless_uk
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 06/19/2013

This is a known problem with the SM3.0 render path, there is no real solution but there is a workaround to play with newer hardware/drivers.

 

Try setting Lighting Quality down to High instead of Very high, this will knock it back down to SM1.1 but at least it'll run like you expect it to and your shadow maps wont kill your fps either

 01/19/2014 04:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NomadAlexNT
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/17/2014

Originally posted by: Kahless_uk 

 

Try setting Lighting Quality down to High instead of Very high, this will knock it back down to SM1.1 but at least it'll run like you expect it to and your shadow maps wont kill your fps either

 

NO, I'm downgraded to 12.10.

I dont have problems with Very High Lighting Quality (to be more precise parameter r_Quality_BumpMapping=3) as my shader's cache  for FC1 was compiled long time ago (I mean first very long launching of game with fxc.exe in Task Manager). I just saved my Shaders folder. (But in "The Project" ATI-Crytek's techdemo this trick dont working for me, and I dont know why (before reinstalling of Win7 it was OK(!!) ). So in TheProject I just set  r_Quality_BumpMapping to 2 and it working)

In this situation (If I have new drivers, ofc) I need set up ALL Far Cry setting to Very High/Ultra High AND type to console  \e_shadow_maps 0. Shadows Quality will became as Custom. Hm... Judging by the my screenshots e_shadow_maps has no direct dependence with Shader's Model 3.0 (no shadows but SM3.0 is enabled, lol)

Statistics
84303 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.