Topic Title: Low FPS in Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory with Catalyst 13.12
Topic Summary: The game works fine with Catalyst 13.9
Created On: 01/25/2014 01:50 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/25/2014 01:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smalul
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/25/2014

The game: Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory

The problem: Low FPS in the game after updating the driver from Catalyst 13.9 to Catalyst 13.12 (the FPS went down from ~125 to ~25 after updating the driver). It is clear something is wrong with the new version of the driver.

My computer:

CPU: Intel E6750 @ 2.66GHz

RAM: 6GB DDR2

Motherboard: Gigabyte P965-DS3

Video Card: Gigabyte AMD Radeon HD 6570 1GB DDR3

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

 

Notes:

1. I uninstalled the display driver which came with Catalyst 13.12 (and only the display driver, I left everything else installed) and then reinstalled Catalyst 13.9 (I assume only the display driver got installed, as everything else in the list was already checked), and the issue was resolved - the FPS went back up to ~125 like it used to.

2. I saw there are other topics regarding this game, but they all dealing with problems with older versions of the display driver, and none of them were about Catalyst 13.12. Therefore I started this new topic.

3. I haven't tried using the 13.11 Beta drivers.

4. Basically I don't have a problem now after downgrading the display driver to 13.9, but I don't want to have the same issue in the future (the next time I update the display driver). Also - downgrading the driver to an earlier version is not a "good solution" - the newer version of the driver should solve problems, not cause new ones...

5. Some technical details regarding the drivers, in case they are needed:

13.12 Driver (the one with the problem):
Driver Packaging Version        13.251-131206a-166389C-ATI
Catalyst Version            13.12
Provider                Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
2D Driver Version            8.01.01.1360
2D Driver File Path            /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0001
Direct3D Version            9.14.10.01001
OpenGL Version            6.14.10.12618
AMD Catalyst Control Center Version    2013.1206.1603.28764

13.9 Driver (this one doesn't cause the problem with the game):
Driver Packaging Version        13.152.1.8-131008a-163824C-ATI
Catalyst Version            13.9
Provider                Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
2D Driver Version            8.01.01.1331
2D Driver File Path            /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0001
Direct3D Version            9.14.10.0984
OpenGL Version            6.14.10.12430
AMD Catalyst Control Center Version    2013.1206.1603.28764

I hope someone from the development team would look into this issue.

 02/09/2014 03:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sebbel
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/09/2014

heyo,

had same problem, even with downgrading.

found the solution ingame:

seta r_primitives 2

try it out. with this fps are stable even with 13.12

see you fragging on prime-squadron.com

 02/11/2014 03:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 435
Joined: 08/21/2011

No offense intended,but 6/7 yr old cpu/mobo/10 yr old game(apparrently no longer supported).

Stick with driver that works.

Ya ain't gunna play bf4?

.



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 

 02/11/2014 06:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smalul
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/25/2014

@Sebbel

Thanks for the answer. I will try it the next time I update the video card driver if the problem continues. For now I'm going to stick with Catalyst 13.9, which seems to work.

 

@goodplay

Yes, my computer is old, so what? I'm not asking support for my computer, since neither my CPU nor my motherboard (chipset) were manufactured by AMD. The age of my computer is not the issue here - I have an AMD Radeon HD 6570 video card, which isn't that old and should be supported no matter its age.

The problem is with the drivers and not with the hardware, as an older version of the driver works just fine.  Since I found a problem with the Catalyst 13.12 drivers it means there could be other problems with it, so the development team should try and figure out what went wrong.

 02/11/2014 06:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7423
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: smalul @Sebbel

Thanks for the answer. I will try it the next time I update the video card driver if the problem continues. For now I'm going to stick with Catalyst 13.9, which seems to work.

 

@goodplay

Yes, my computer is old, so what? I'm not asking support for my computer, since neither my CPU nor my motherboard (chipset) were manufactured by AMD. The age of my computer is not the issue here - I have an AMD Radeon HD 6570 video card, which isn't that old and should be supported no matter its age.

The problem is with the drivers and not with the hardware, as an older version of the driver works just fine.  Since I found a problem with the Catalyst 13.12 drivers it means there could be other problems with it, so the development team should try and figure out what went wrong.

Use the 'issue reporting form" this is a user-to-user forum.

http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=443



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 02/19/2014 05:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sloxy
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/19/2013

This is year and multiple driver upgrade problem. Only conclusion I can take from this is that AMD simply doesn't care. I have tried all solutions on this and other forums, but nothing works. I regret now buying my 7850 and after some other issues to, AMD is losing customer. Maybe they are concentrating on mining now.

 10/09/2014 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Practikill
Grinding Levels

Posts: 148
Joined: 08/07/2009

Originally posted by: Sebbel heyo,

had same problem, even with downgrading.

found the solution ingame:

seta r_primitives 2

try it out. with this fps are stable even with 13.12

see you fragging on prime-squadron.com

 

Fixed the game for me.

Thanks Man!



-------------------------

Asus P5Q-SE+ / Core2 Duo E7400 2.8GHZ / 4GB DDR2 / HD6870 1GB / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Ultra 650watt PSU / Windows 7 X64

 10/10/2014 09:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kahless_uk
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 06/19/2013

Since it's an OpenGL game it will load whichever OpenGL version it finds in the same directory as the executable in preference over whichever OpenGL version is present on the system.

 

You can exploit this to keep your updated drivers for D3D while still using older but working OpenGL by copying the atioglxx.dll from the driver that works into the directory with the game exe then when you update your drivers the game will still use the older driver that worked instead.

 

Also the game is old enough to still use OpenGL 1 which means you can use an OpenGL wrapper to convert render calls into Direct3D, GLDirect works with the parent game really well so should be ok with Enemy Territory too.

 

Wolfenstein New Order is to blame for the 14.xx drivers being broken with older OpenGL games so I have to use the above trick to play older OpenGL games since that came out (even OpenGL games as recent as Quake 4 and Doom 3)

 10/10/2014 12:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
smalul
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/25/2014

Thanks Kahless_uk - your method worked.

Here is what I did:

1. I had the 13-9_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql.exe file, which is the 13.9 drivers. Hadn't I had it, I would have been required to find and download it from the Internet.

2. I used Universal Extractor to extract the files from this installtion file.

3. I located the atioglxx.dl_ file.

4. I used Windows File Expansion Utility to turn the file to atioglxx.dll (this is done by Start->Run->cmd and then using the command "expand atioglxx.dl_ atioglxx.dll". Of course you need to have the atioglxx.dl_ file in the current directory or at least know the path to it).

5. I coped the atioglxx.dll to the Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory main directory where the ET.exe file is located.

6. I started the game.

Problem solved. Thanks.

Statistics
87459 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.