Topic Title: Battlefield 4 crashes after GPU overclock
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/20/2014 10:47 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/20/2014 10:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tschegger8
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/20/2014

Hey,

 

I overclocked my Graphics Card with MSI Afterburner

from

Power Limit (%): +0

Core Clock (MHz): 925

Memory Clock (MHz): 1250

to

Power Limit (%): +20

Core Clock (MHz): 1100

Memory Clock (MHz): 1575

 

I made a benchmark test with Furmark and it runs never over 66°C.

When I try to join a server in Battlefield 4, I get a Direct X Error and Battlefield 4 doesn't work anymore:

 

Anyone can help me ?

Thanks

 



-------------------------

My System:

Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 Boost Edition
AMD FX 8350 @4.3 GHz 8-Core
8 GB Ram
Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit

 02/20/2014 08:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Well that can be blamed on by not supplying enough voltage! Otherwise its unstable and will crash. Up the voltages (at your own risk) and try overclocking it 25mhz at a time, if someone said 1100mhz is the ideal goal, that doesn't mean every unit can do so.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 02/21/2014 11:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tschegger8
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/20/2014

Originally posted by: zipsi Well that can be blamed on by not supplying enough voltage! Otherwise its unstable and will crash. Up the voltages (at your own risk) and try overclocking it 25mhz at a time, if someone said 1100mhz is the ideal goal, that doesn't mean every unit can do so.

 

 

Okay im gonna try it with less oc settings.. how can i supply more voltage? id like to use all oc potential stable without a crash..



-------------------------

My System:

Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 Boost Edition
AMD FX 8350 @4.3 GHz 8-Core
8 GB Ram
Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit

 02/21/2014 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

In MSI Afterburner right above Core Clock overclocking you can alter the voltage, it probably needs to be unlocked in the options before and with Sapphire it isn't usually the case, many GPU's are vbios/hardware voltage locked.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 02/26/2014 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
angeloc
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/25/2014

I'm getting the same error that you're having, here go my specs:

Intel core I5-4440 3.1GHz

MotherBoard: Gigabyte H87M-D3H

8GB ram

500GB HD

VGA: XFX R9 280x

Windows 8.1

 

I'm using the version 13.12 of the catalyst driver(i tried the latest 14.1 beta, but the game keeps crashing). And i didn't changed anything on the overdrive specification of the ccc. Anyone knows what may be causing this problem?



-------------------------
----------------------
I5-4440k
VGA: XFX R9 280x
HD: 500gb
 02/26/2014 03:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tschegger8
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/20/2014

Originally posted by: zipsi In MSI Afterburner right above Core Clock overclocking you can alter the voltage, it probably needs to be unlocked in the options before and with Sapphire it isn't usually the case, many GPU's are vbios/hardware voltage locked.

 

 

How can I unlock it in the settings? I found the settings but im not sure which of those many options the right one is.. And how can I unlock my vbios/hardware? I found a little button and activated it, now it lights up blue ..

 

Originally posted by: angeloc I'm getting the same error that you're having, here go my specs:

 

Intel core I5-4440 3.1GHz

 

MotherBoard: Gigabyte H87M-D3H

 

8GB ram

 

500GB HD

 

VGA: XFX R9 280x

 

Windows 8.1

 

 

 

I'm using the version 13.12 of the catalyst driver(i tried the latest 14.1 beta, but the game keeps crashing). And i didn't changed anything on the overdrive specification of the ccc. Anyone knows what may be causing this problem?

 

 

Try Catalyst Driver Beta 14.2, released yesterday. Comes with AMD Gaming Evolved. Not sure but I think Battlefield 4 runs better, overclocking is easier in CCC now:

CCC Beta 14.2



-------------------------

My System:

Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 Boost Edition
AMD FX 8350 @4.3 GHz 8-Core
8 GB Ram
Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit

 02/27/2014 09:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
angeloc
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/25/2014

But i'm not trying to overclock my card, people say that i should underclock it, and that supose to fix the directx crash, but the problem is that i don't know what values i should use, heres a screenshot of my ccc overdrive page:

 

CCC overdrive values

If someone could tell me what values should i use to uderclock my VGA would be much appreciated. This directx error has been very frustrating.



-------------------------
----------------------
I5-4440k
VGA: XFX R9 280x
HD: 500gb
Statistics
85425 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.