Topic Title: Red Screen of Death
Topic Summary: PC crashes after 5-10 minutes of playing BF4 and Sleeping Dogs
Created On: 03/03/2014 10:08 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/03/2014 10:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Muffin Man
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/03/2014

I used to get the Red Screen of Death and the computer would restart  ccasionally when playing BF4 but that went away after one of the first few updates. Now it happens every 5-10 minutes if I can manage to stay in the game long enough before the game crashing. Is there any fix for this?

 

Here are my specs:

 

Radeon HD 7870  7870PE52G

Catakyst 13.12

Windows 8.1 64 bit

Intel Core i7-3770K

Asus VE247H on HDMI

Motherboard Intel D77SL-50K

Bios version Intel Corporation SLz7710h.86A0087.2012.0907.1808, 9/7/2012

16 gb DDR3 Ram

500W PSU

 

Thanks for the help in advance!

 03/04/2014 04:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VirtualZ
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/04/2014

i have 2 options that might be the problem:

1.check for the temp of your CPU and GPU maybe they are overheat when you play BF4

2.500W PSU is kinda weak for your PC platform.

 03/04/2014 06:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Muffin Man
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/03/2014

Originally posted by: VirtualZ i have 2 options that might be the problem:

 

1.check for the temp of your CPU and GPU maybe they are overheat when you play BF4

 

2.500W PSU is kinda weak for your PC platform.

 

 

Thank you for the reply!

 

1. It runs at about 70*

 

2. Which PSU should I get? I have a microcenter near by.

http://www.microcenter.com/search/search_results.aspx?N=4294966654&Ntt=power+supply&Ntk=all

 03/04/2014 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12486
Joined: 04/17/2008

500w is fine for your system IF it is a quality unit. Suggest running Memtest86+ to rule out a faulty RAM module. But if you're using some off brand piece of garbage PSU, I would highly suggest the Corsair CX600

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/04/2014 09:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Muffin Man
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/03/2014

This is the computer I started off with.

http://www.microcenter.com/product/400091/G171_Desktop_Computer

Is it worth spending $75 when it might not be the problem?

 03/04/2014 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12486
Joined: 04/17/2008

This makes me extremely nervous

Combined +12V Rating 432 Watts (36A)


Which makes me think it has multiple 12v rails, most likely two 18A, and with a much smaller possible combined 12v output than the rated maximum, only 86.4%, that's a sign of a cheapo unit. That, and they only shipped it with Intel Integrated graphics, which I'm sure you disabled, when it was described as having been "Designed for the ultimate in performance gaming, digital content creation, and picture/video editing..."

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/04/2014 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Muffin Man
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/03/2014

I'm going to ask a buddy of mine to borrow a spare PSU and test it out.

How can I be sure the integrated gfx is disabled?

 03/04/2014 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12486
Joined: 04/17/2008

BIOS.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
85483 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.