Topic Title: Random FPS drop in BF4
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/09/2014 10:14 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/09/2014 10:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tall7kiwi
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/09/2014

Hey, guys. 

So yesterday I got my motherboard replaced due to a really wobbly SATA port. I got the exact same model as my old mobo. I got the new mobo and installed it (along with a new CPU cooler) and started playing BF4. I would normally get around 60+fps in-game but at random points it would drop down to about 15-20fps for about 2-4 seconds. With my old mobo I wasn't having this issue. I am not using Mantle as that has random fps drop as well. 

My specs are: 
- ASRock 970 Pro3 R2 mobo 
- Sapphire Vapor-X R9 270x 
- AMD FX 8320 CPU 
- 8GB RAM 

I am running Win7 but am thinking of upgrading to Win 8.1 since I've heard you get better performance with it. 
I have all the latest DirectX drivers up to date. I even tried a rollback driver version for the GPU to see if it would help - it didn't. 
What are your suggestions

 06/08/2014 11:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EAX
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/08/2014

I have the exact same Issue with Mantle.

 

im Running the Game on:

 

Windows 8.1 Enterprise Trial Build 9600 |
-AMD FX-8350 @ 8x4,0GHZ@100%49°C@~25°C Roomtemperature/1300RPM Corsair H100i |
--Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev 1.1 (F7a Bios) |
---2x Kingston HyperX KHX1866C9D3/4G (2x4GB) |
----Gigabyte HD 7870 (GV-R787OC-2GD) |
-----500GB WD Blue WD5000AAKX 16MB 3.5" |
------Be quiet! Pure Power L8 CM 430 |

AeroCool Black Mechatron | AOC M2752V 27' 8ms GtG AMVA-Panel

 

 

It works for 1-3 Minutes then it will start randomly dropping my FPS into the 1 number counts.

 

Since Mantle is out i couldnt use it at all :/

 06/09/2014 12:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 945
Joined: 09/11/2008

Did you reinstall the OS?I know even with a Mobo change(even same model)you have to re-activate Windows.

I would consider going to 8.1 a downgrade,If you read even these forums ,you will see all the issues with it,stick with W7 IMO.Infact some of the people I game with have even uninstalled 8.1 and have gone back to W7.

As for Mantle and BF4,It works smooth as butter for me.Infact It runs smoother for me than DX.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.



Edited: 06/09/2014 at 12:18 AM by Earnhardt
 06/09/2014 12:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EAX
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/08/2014

Mh so what now? Uninstalling W8 ? Ive recieved huge performanceboosts over Win7 in all Games :7

 06/09/2014 01:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 945
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: EAX Mh so what now? Uninstalling W8 ? Ive recieved huge performanceboosts over Win7 in all Games :7

 

That wasnt what I said,If you already have W7,there is no reason to spend $150 for such a small increase in performance,If you have W8.1,then yes,leave IT in.

And it's not a HUGE "performance boost"

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2013/11/24/battlefield_4_windows_7_vs_81_performance_review/5#.U5UGoqNOVRA



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/09/2014 02:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EAX
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/08/2014

Well Windows 8.1 is free ... nvm.

 

Im not happy currently at all with AMD graphiccards due to mantle all other driver improvement does lack and mantle at all does not work for me :X.

 

I just tried again with different graphicdetails from low to ultra and the same appears no matter wich setting i take.

 

even more worse is next to the stuttery and low fps experience the increased lag.

TV Missiles, tank shells and jets seem to lag alot.. :/

 06/09/2014 03:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 945
Joined: 09/11/2008

I guess i'm one of the lucky ones,I have had 0 issues.

 

BF4,64 player servers.

1920X1200 Ultra,Mantle on

crossfire enabled 100-120 fps Ultra

crossfire disabled  50-60 fps Ultra.

 

This was done with the ingame fps tool.

 

I hope you get yours sorted out!



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

Statistics
88835 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.