Topic Title: Black screen/No video input with Guild Wars 2
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/21/2014 12:44 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/21/2014 12:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rjarre5
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/21/2014

It seems that I've tried everything with this game, besides replacing hardware. This issue occurs ONLY in GW2, and no other games. First, the hardware:

GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series PCIe 3.0

CPU: Intel i5-4570 @ 3.20 GHz

PSU: Dynex 520W

Motherboard: BIOSTAR Hi-Fi Z87X 3D

Ram: 8192MB

OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit (upgrade from 8)

Not sure if anything else is needed. 

 

Basically, I start up GW2, and between 5 min. to ~3 hours, the video card will stop sending a signal to my dual monitors. The only solution I've found is to do a hard reset of the entire computer. The fan still runs, and sound can still be heard, but no signal is being sent. I've checked all cables, and tried every driver from the first 12.X driver, to the latest 14.4 driver available. The GPU and CPU temps rarely go over 50C. I've fooled with the power options in the control panel, but no luck.

 

However, this error hasn't always occured. I first found out about it on Windows 8 64-bit, when I upgraded to the 13.X series of drivers. Eventually, I did I clean install and reverted back to the 12.10 drivers, and had no problems whatsoever for over a year. After recently upgrading to Windows 8.1, it seems the error occurs with any driver set, and multiple users have the same problem with the 7770 card. I'm not tech savvy enough to fix the problem myself, hence why I'm asking here. If any advice or info can be given, please feel free! Thanks.

 

 05/21/2014 12:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Did you upgrade from Windows 8 or did you install a fresh Windows 8.1. There seems to be a higher instance of issues with upgrading 8 versus a clean install of Windows 8.1. Also the updates..don't depend on 'auto' updates. Run Windows Update, check the 'optional' and 'recommended' updates which have to been manually selected for updating.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/21/2014 12:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rjarre5
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/21/2014

I agree. I've seen many issues with the upgrade from 8 to 8.1.

 

I did in fact upgrade from Win8. I'm not looking to buy a new copy of 8.1, but I can obtain it through my university via digital download if I need. I don't mind losing files, I don't have anything important on my desktop. Thanks for the quick reply.

Statistics
85565 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.