Topic Title: AMD CAP's ...Where are they??
Topic Summary: Everyone please send a request
Created On: 06/13/2014 08:18 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/13/2014 08:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 8211
Joined: 11/13/2009

Ever since AMD started including the CAP profiles with the driver suites, there is nowhere to download the new CAP's unless you install the driver suite. And if you uninstall the driver suite, you lose the CAP. It's pretty evident that the newer drivers are not working well for everybody..for whatever reason. It has been said over and over...unless the new driver suite fixes a issue you are experiencing ...there is no reason to 'update' it. If it ain't broke don't fix it. Well..how are you to get the new CAP's ? Where is the download? In the past there was a seperate download for the CAP...which would be available to everybody, without having to install a new driver suite.

Latest AMD Catalysttm Beta Drivers for the AMD APU Series, AMD Radeon HD 7000, HD 6000, HD 5000 Series

AMD Catalysttm 14.6 Beta for Windows 8.1 and Windows 7 32/64-bit

AMD Catalysttm 14.6 Beta for Linux 32/64-bit

NOTE: AMD CrossFiretm users do not need to install a CAP for this release.Hotfixes



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******



Edited: 06/28/2014 at 06:11 PM by stumped
 06/13/2014 09:08 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 1993
Joined: 11/14/2010

Yes, i agree 100%.

We used to get 2-3 app profiles in a single month.

I would settle for one a month.

There should also be different drivers for older and newer generations or different gpu architectures.

That way, an HD5000 or HD6000 series user, for example, would get less frequent driver suite updates but more optimized, but could still catch up to today's performance by updating just an app profile.

 

This should motivate as many users as it can to raise questions and maybe contact AMD Customer Care

 

Very good topic stumped.

Keep it up man, and spread the word.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 06/14/2014 01:52 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 1993
Joined: 11/14/2010

Can a poll be implemented on this topic, to see what others think about ?

Just a thought.

 

 

Catalyst Application Profiles concerns single gpu users as well, because optimizations can be found for both CrossfireX and single gpus.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 06/14/2014 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 8211
Joined: 11/13/2009

To: TECH.SUPPORT@CRMPRD.AMD.COM
Subject: CAPs
CAPs Since AMD started bundling the CAP profiles in the new drivers, the people who don't need/want the newer drivers have no way to get the newest CAP profiles. Before, there was a separate download for the CAPs....it would be nice to have them available again.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/14/2014 02:26 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 1993
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: stumped To: TECH.SUPPORT@CRMPRD.AMD.COM Subject: CAPs CAPs Since AMD started bundling the CAP profiles in the new drivers, the people who don't need/want the newer drivers have no way to get the newest CAP profiles. Before, there was a separate download for the CAPs....it would be nice to have them available again.

 

 

Oh, that's even better !!!

Sending right away....

 

Thanks.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 06/17/2014 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 8211
Joined: 11/13/2009

This is the response from AMD customer support. Everybody should send in a report using the 'issue report' form then maybe we can get the CAP's back in a seperate download. It only takes a minute...I just filled in the minimum required to send the thing and explained my issue in "more information' box on the form.

 

our service request : SR #{ticketno:[8200594375]} has been reviewed and updated.

Response and Service Request History:

I recommend you to use the Error Reporting form at http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D25AD12B73 , this will generate the necessary information for the driver team to investigate, and ultimately resolve. More details you provide and more people have the need, the seperate Cap will be more likely to be available again.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/17/2014 08:47 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 1993
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: stumped This is the response from AMD customer support. Everybody should send in a report using the 'issue report' form then maybe we can get the CAP's back in a seperate download. It only takes a minute...I just filled in the minimum required to send the thing and explained my issue in "more information' box on the form.

 

 

 

our service request : SR #{ticketno:[8200594375]} has been reviewed and updated.

 

Response and Service Request History:

 

I recommend you to use the Error Reporting form at http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D25AD12B73 , this will generate the necessary information for the driver team to investigate, and ultimately resolve. More details you provide and more people have the need, the seperate Cap will be more likely to be available again.

 

 

Thanks.

Submitted the survey myself.

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 06/18/2014 09:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 8211
Joined: 11/13/2009

I hope everyone who reads this post will take the time to send in the report. Everyone benefits.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/24/2014 06:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 8211
Joined: 11/13/2009

Some people think that the CAP profiles are for crossfire only..or for desktop drivers only. This is not so...there are profiles that include optimizations for single cards, Mobility graphics, as well as crossfire. If everyone who reads this would just take a minute or two to send in the issue report, we can get back to having a separate download for the CAP's without having to use a 'new' driver suite. Use the 'other details box' to ask them to make these available again.

 http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D25AD12B25

As a example, the new optimizations listed in the new beta driver are unavailable to you unless you use the new beta driver.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/24/2014 07:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13342
Joined: 04/17/2008

I really do wonder why they pulled them as a separate download, especially because they made such a huge deal out of them being separate downloads so they wouldn't have to release a new driver suite for every little update. Though it would be nice if AMD had an actual working, secure update function which would retrieve only the updates specific to your system.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 GHz Edition, 1TB Samsung 850 Evo, 256GB OCZ Vector, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ult Ed x64
 06/24/2014 07:26 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 1993
Joined: 11/14/2010

It must have something to do with the bunch of crossfirex problems people are having these days .........

A change in direction or policy perhaps ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 07/03/2014 01:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 8211
Joined: 11/13/2009

I searched with google for the latest CAP's download. The sites all had a link to download the 13.5 CAP. The link was to AMD...and was Raptr. So I guess the mystery of why no seperate CAP downloads is solved. Raptr will keep you up to date with the newest profiles. Hooray.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 07/03/2014 01:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13342
Joined: 04/17/2008

Do like me, wait a year or more after a new game is released to buy it.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 GHz Edition, 1TB Samsung 850 Evo, 256GB OCZ Vector, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ult Ed x64
 02/10/2015 05:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
???
Cookie Monster

Posts: 412
Joined: 01/30/2015

Seeing how many games lack a proper scaling crossfirex profile lately, and the large release time frame between drivers that bring actual optimizations, it would be a very good idea for the CAPs to start appearing again.

The original point of the CAP, was to provide game improvements and boosts, before the next driver support, and that would benefit both the amd driver team having the extra time to bring out more polished catalyst driver releases, and also benefit the end user that expects to play a newly released game with the quickest driver performance support.

That includes both single gpu users and crossfirex users. So i think that most of us should better understand the convenience and practicallity of having a CAP release or two, during a month, alongside or without having to wait for a new driver release.

Whoever believes that CAP should be reintroduced, make sure you request it directly from AMD with the help of these official links:

www.amd.com/report

Contact AMD

 02/10/2015 05:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 8211
Joined: 11/13/2009

What it seems like to me is..this is a crude way to get everyone to use the Gaming Evolved app.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 02/10/2015 06:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13342
Joined: 04/17/2008

Should be a law against that.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 GHz Edition, 1TB Samsung 850 Evo, 256GB OCZ Vector, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ult Ed x64
 02/11/2015 04:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jeff2417
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/11/2015

Originally posted by: black_zion Do like me, wait a year or more after a new game is released to buy it.

 

Or wait for a Steam blowout...



-------------------------

 02/11/2015 01:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cornugon
Farming Materials

Posts: 590
Joined: 10/07/2008

Originally posted by: stumped What it seems like to me is..this is a crude way to get everyone to use the Gaming Evolved app.

 

So how would the Raptr App include profiles? To my understanding it just updates in-game graphic settings by taking your specs in account, just like the 'GeForce Experience'. Plus it has some additional 'useful' features, like playback recording, which seems to be a hype these days, and social networking linking.

On the other side, it hampers performance in Dragon Age: Inquisition (unless that's been fixed by now), and often uses a lot of resources by scanning your system for games.



-------------------------
 02/11/2015 01:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
???
Cookie Monster

Posts: 412
Joined: 01/30/2015

Originally posted by: Cornugon
Originally posted by: stumped What it seems like to me is..this is a crude way to get everyone to use the Gaming Evolved app.

 

 

 

 

So how would the Raptr App include profiles? To my understanding it just updates in-game graphic settings by taking your specs in account, just like the 'GeForce Experience'. Plus it has some additional 'useful' features, like playback recording, which seems to be a hype these days, and social networking linking.

 

On the other side, it hampers performance in Dragon Age: Inquisition (unless that's been fixed by now), and often uses a lot of resources by scanning your system for games.

 

Crapware indeed. Good question though.

 02/11/2015 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13342
Joined: 04/17/2008

It would be nice if one of the @AMD guys would chime on on this subject.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 GHz Edition, 1TB Samsung 850 Evo, 256GB OCZ Vector, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ult Ed x64
Statistics
91390 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2015 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.