Topic Title: Can I overdrive my HD 6870?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/14/2014 03:50 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/14/2014 03:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jorge Junior
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/14/2014

Hi!

When I ran Watch Dogs for the first time, I heard a loud fan noise. I'm not sure if it was the video's or the CPU's, but the machine restarted. Then I ran the game again and it was OK.

I've read a lot of posts everywhere and I've already tried all possible settings to get rid of the lags in Watch Dogs. No success!

Then I was wondering if it would be dangerous to overclock the video card. Apparently it's simple. All I have to do is open the AMD Catalyst Control Center and check "Activate Graphics OverDrive".

This is my configuration:

Sapphire Radeon HD 6870, Catalyst driver v. 14.6, Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

Asus P8Z68 Deluxe BIOS 3203, Intel i7 2600@3.40GHz, 16GB RAM DDR3 Corsair Vengeance, PSU Corsair CX750.

 06/14/2014 08:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Jorge Junior Hi!

 

When I ran Watch Dogs for the first time, I heard a loud fan noise. I'm not sure if it was the video's or the CPU's, but the machine restarted. Then I ran the game again and it was OK.

 

I've read a lot of posts everywhere and I've already tried all possible settings to get rid of the lags in Watch Dogs. No success!

 

Then I was wondering if it would be dangerous to overclock the video card. Apparently it's simple. All I have to do is open the AMD Catalyst Control Center and check "Activate Graphics OverDrive".

 

This is my configuration:

 

Sapphire Radeon HD 6870, Catalyst driver v. 14.6, Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

 

Asus P8Z68 Deluxe BIOS 3203, Intel i7 2600@3.40GHz, 16GB RAM DDR3 Corsair Vengeance, PSU Corsair CX750.

 

 

 

Well, unfortunately your gpu only has 1gb vram which is just enough to play watch_dogs on low settings, especially  the textures and anti-aliasing (these demand a lot of vram). The game also needs patches.

Your gpu is probably overheating, so manually force the fan (in ccc) constantly to a value of 50-70% before loading the game.

You can check/ monitor temps and framerate with gpuz or msi afterburner.

EDIT:  you can overclock the gpu by raising clock speed 20 mhz each time and testing heat and stability with a benchmark and monitoring tool.

I suggest you only do this after you have carefully read an overclock guide on the interner.

Applying too much overclock and/ or overvolt can damage the gpu

 

Test and post back.

Thanks.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12



Edited: 06/14/2014 at 09:07 AM by backFireX64
 06/14/2014 03:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jorge Junior
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/14/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64
Originally posted by: Jorge Junior

 

I suggest you only do this after you have carefully read an overclock guide on the interner.

 

Applying too much overclock and/ or overvolt can damage the gpu.

 

OK. Thanks for your help!

I'm not gonna test. I'm uninstalling Watch_Dogs. I'll buy a better graphic card next month.

Can you run Watch_Dogs without lags with your configuration?

 06/14/2014 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Can you run Watch_Dogs without lags with your configuration?

 

Nope. Same for me.

Watch_dogs was built with the new game consoles in mind, which means 8gb unified ram memory usage.

Without a new patch, i assume you would need a gpu with 6gb or 8gb minimum, so that no lag/ stuttering/ fps dips would occur in-game. And that's very optimistic.

My case is different though. I can play with minimum lag with shader=low, but when i restart the game it crashes, unless i modify the .xml config.

 

Go for a 3gb-4gb at least vram card next time.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

Statistics
85373 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.