Topic Title: Possible poor results with BF4 Mantle, for my PC?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/19/2014 07:32 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/19/2014 07:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
digeythedog
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/19/2014

So I have a AMD 8350 (overclocked to 4.4ghz), and a AMD 7990 (using 14.4 drivers), 8 gigs of 1600 ram, running on Windows 8.1 64 bit,  but yet when I run BF4 with max settings and the supersampling at 150%, with DX11 I get right around an avrage of 45fps (no V-sync). If I turn on V-sync with DX11 my fps drop to below 30 most of the time. Now I see basiclly no gain from Mantle with all the same settings. The only gain I do see is V-sync has a lot less impact on fps. But their is a negative to Mantle... Anytime their is a big explosion (anything over a granade) the fps drops to 15 or less fps! So what I am saying is, with BF4 I get no gain really from Mantle, Where as mantle in Theif, I get right below 60fps in the benchmark, instead of the 35-40fps avrage without Mantle.

Note: My computer is free of viruses as well, gets scanned with Avast and Malewarebytes

Now as a side question, I was wondering if my motherboard could be the bottleneck,becuase it only has PCIE 2.0 and not 3.0, would this make that huge of a diffrnce in a game like BF4?

 06/19/2014 09:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Hello mate.

 

but yet when I run BF4 with max settings and the supersampling at 150%, with DX11 I get right around an avrage of 45fps

 

At what resolution are you gaming ?

Reduce scaling to 100%, since it may be overkill, and/ or wait for the upcoming catalyst driver.

Mantle is nowhere near as optimized as dx11 is, and you don't even need it. It applies to those with weak/ old cpus.

 

Also, keep malwarebytes, ditch avast and get a proper safety net.

My humble opinion, take it or leave it.

 

 

Thanks.

 

 

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/19/2014 06:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
digeythedog
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/19/2014

The monitor is 1080p and that's what I run the game at. I only have and use one monitor. 

 

As for Avast, I persnollay like it and has helped me a few times. You (anyone really) have any recommdations for a diffrent anti-virus?



Edited: 06/19/2014 at 06:26 PM by digeythedog
 06/19/2014 06:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

An 150% scaling means you burden the gpu to downsample from a 1.5 times your native resolution. There is no need for that. Use aa instead for picture quality.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/21/2014 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EAX
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/08/2014

The Problem is pretty simple!

 

AMD / Mantle once a Game Supports Mantle you HAVE TO run Mantle.

 

In my case i cannot run Mantle BUT i cannot run Dx11 smooth on high frames too.

 

Since AMD does not give a ***** anymore cause of Mantle about the DX 11 Performance  you r in the same situation like me and im not sure if i should buy a freakin 0 Driver Support R9 290 instead of a GTX 770.

 

If u just take a look over the driversupport its either Mantle Mantle Mantle or its nothing and ur performance goes to zero.

 

and yes IAM Serious about this issue - cause some ppl run BF4 with Mantle on same graphicscard with lesser hardware and recieve better FPS on same situation...

 

While i sit around mostly 50-65 Frames with DX11 on Ultrasettings w/o  MSAA or Grounddetails..

 

geting the SAME Drops down to !!!15!!!fps!

 06/21/2014 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 894
Joined: 09/11/2008

Not too sure about that,one of the guys I game with just had a new rig built for BF4,I asked him if he was running mantle and he checked,he was running DX11 with (LOL) 200FPS with this setup:

MB - Asus Rampage IV Extreme
CPU - Intel i7 4820k @ 4.6Ghz
GPU - R9 290X Tri-Crossfire X
Ram - 64Gig Corsair Vengance
Monitor - Asus VG278H x3 Eyefinity
KB - Logitech G15 (Ducky soon)
Mouse - R.A.T. 7
Custom Watercooling setup!

14.4 drivers

We were on a 64 player locker server.

Microsoft security essentials works great!



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/22/2014 04:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Microsoft security essentials works great!

 

No.

It is a total piece of crap.

Worse anti-virus/ anti-malware built on an os, ever.

 

You might as well get avast.......... (not really)

Sorry for the off-topic.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/22/2014 06:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Originally posted by: digeythedog So I have a AMD 8350 (overclocked to 4.4ghz), and a AMD 7990 (using 14.4 drivers)....

 

Now as a side question, I was wondering if my motherboard could be the bottleneck,becuase it only has PCIE 2.0 and not 3.0, would this make that huge of a diffrnce in a game like BF4?

 

That very well is most likely part of your problem.  You're basically running crossfired cards on 2 x8 2.0 slots (7990 is 2 GPUs, one x16 2.0 slot), which is a pretty significant bottleneck in many cases for many cards.  I've done testing in the past that shows using x8 slots on the newest two generations of cards can hurg crossfire performancd, and that was on 3.0 slots... the problem would assumably be worse on 2.0 slots.

What motherboard are we talking about here?



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 06/22/2014 10:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

I believe the two gpus of a dual-gpu card are crossfired internally by a pci-to-pci bridge/ controller chip, the PLX, so the bus is controlled internally and not on the pcie x16 slot.

So, an HD7990 would normally run at x16 (5 gb/s) on both gpus.

Either way, an x8 - x8 crossfire set up on a pcie 2.0 x16 capable slot would have, what, a 2-4% performance hit ?

That wouldn't explain the massive fps drops/ inconsistencies a powerful gpu has, combined with an also great cpu.

 

I believe it has to be a driver problem, assuming all hardware can be fed with the proper PSU power and function normally.

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/22/2014 01:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 894
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: backFireX64
Microsoft security essentials works great!

 

 

 

 

No.

 

It is a total piece of crap.

 

Worse anti-virus/ anti-malware built on an os, ever.

 

 

 

You might as well get avast.......... (not really)

 

Sorry for the off-topic.

 

In the 3 years I've been using it I have had 0 issues,And I've been on some Shady websites,LOL.

I have known some who have never used an AV and had no issues.

Personally,I would never Pay for an AV product.

 

Originally posted by: HoneyBadger84
Originally posted by: digeythedog So I have a AMD 8350 (overclocked to 4.4ghz), and a AMD 7990 (using 14.4 drivers)....

 

 

 

Now as a side question, I was wondering if my motherboard could be the bottleneck,becuase it only has PCIE 2.0 and not 3.0, would this make that huge of a diffrnce in a game like BF4?

 

 

 

 

That very well is most likely part of your problem.  You're basically running crossfired cards on 2 x8 2.0 slots (7990 is 2 GPUs, one x16 2.0 slot), which is a pretty significant bottleneck in many cases for many cards.  I've done testing in the past that shows using x8 slots on the newest two generations of cards can hurg crossfire performancd, and that was on 3.0 slots... the problem would assumably be worse on 2.0 slots.

 

What motherboard are we talking about here?

 

Doubt It

As for the Pcie2.0 vs Pcie3.0 X8 vs X16:

http://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Impact-of-PCI-E-Speed-on-Gaming-Performance-518/

 

 

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.



Edited: 06/22/2014 at 01:48 PM by Earnhardt
 06/22/2014 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

@Earnhardt:

Well i feel responsible for letting the topic to go a little off- topic, but i also feel the urge to clarify one or two things publickly, so i will just say this:

 

Yes, i also know people that have the necessary skills and common sense to avoid getting infected without an anti-virus software.

Is it less risky ? No. Make no mistake.

Would you suggest this to an average user ? I really don't think so.

Have you personally seen the damage a cryptolocker malware can do ?

Any user ever infected with this, wished he/ she knew better than play with fire.

Now, if we were talking about mac os, then i would understand to a point.

 

I respect your opinion, but that changes nothing. MSE is still a total piece of crap.

Why you ask ?

Well, i'm no expert, though i do have a fair experience of my own, but if you can find me a professional, tested benchmark online that shows that mse is even competitive with the other free and paid software, i will gladly revise my view of things.

There is no need to continue any sort of debate about this here, because it will just get us further off-topic. If you have the time and mood to do so, please, send me a private message to discuss it further or even create a relevant topic (if there is not one yet; too lazy to check it, sorry).

 

 

To the topic.

Here is another view:

http://www.behardware.com/articles/850-2/pci-express-3-0-impact-on-performance.html

Some good general info on the subject:

http://www.tested.com/tech/457440-theoretical-vs-actual-bandwidth-pci-express-and-thunderbolt/

 

 

Thanks for reading.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12



Edited: 06/22/2014 at 04:57 PM by backFireX64
Statistics
86429 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.