Topic Title: Enable high quality graphics in Watch_Dogs
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/20/2014 08:47 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/20/2014 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12320
Joined: 04/17/2008

http://www.tomsguide.com/us/wa...ow-to,news-19022.html

Superhacker Aiden Pearce might use the latest technology to fight bad guys in the video game "Watch Dogs," but the game itself is a a long way from cutting-edge, especially in terms of graphics. When it was released last month, fans noticed that the game actually looked worse than it did in demonstrations at the E3 2012 video-game expo.

Now a modder, or game modifier, called TheWorse has released a mod, or modification, that restores the PC version of "Watch Dogs" to some of its apparent former glory. How does it work? Fans had previously discovered that the files that enabled the higher-quality graphics seen at E3 were still buried, inactive, in the game's software.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/20/2014 09:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Very good mod that one.

Very simple, user-friendly and easy to install.

 

I've been playing for hours with this and actually had better, smoother experience with the framerate locked to 30 fps.

It introduces nice little effects, like the bokeh-pseudo dof, the bloom lighting, lens flares and a bunch of others.

Someone with a better gpu, or more vram, should definetely appreciate it more than me.

 

A pretty game, made just a little prettier.

 

Thanks for the link black_zion.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/21/2014 01:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 878
Joined: 09/11/2008

I think Ubisoft got caught and are now backtracking to save face!

A few more:

http://www.polygon.com/2014/6/20/5826982/ubisoft-responds-to-watch-dogs-mod-that-recreates-e3-2012-demo

http://usfinancepost.com/watch-dogs-e3-2012-settings-found-hidden-in-ubisoft-code-20068.html

Quote from Ubisodt:

Watch Dogs PC Update

The dev team is completely dedicated to getting the most out of each platform, so the notion that we would actively downgrade quality is contrary to everything we’ve set out to achieve. We test and optimize our games for each platform on which they’re released, striving for the best possible quality. The PC version does indeed contain some old, unused render settings that were deactivated for a variety of reasons, including possible impacts on visual fidelity, stability, performance and overall gameplay quality. Modders are usually creative and passionate players, and while we appreciate their enthusiasm, the mod in question (which uses those old settings) subjectively enhances the game’s visual fidelity in certain situations but also can have various negative impacts. Those could range from performance issues, to difficulty in reading the environment in order to appreciate the gameplay, to potentially making the game less enjoyable or even unstable.

Thanks for playing Watch Dogs and stay safe on the mean streets of Chicago.

-The Watch Dogs Team



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/21/2014 01:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Yes, it was kinda expected from pc users.

 

I was reading the same thing on ign and i thought "yea, yea same old story...".

 

I mean, remember the Dark Souls launch ?

I launched the game only to find it had the same graphics (resolution) as the ps3 version. And i said, WHAT ????

Then a modder came and did the most simple thing (dsfix) a whole development team couldn't or wouldn't do.

 

When it actually hints that they downgrade the visual quality deliberately, it just pisses you off. Because the price is not any lower.

 

Long live the modding community.

Respect.

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/21/2014 03:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12320
Joined: 04/17/2008

Especially when you know they did it because it required at least 6 more months of debugging before release.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84651 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.