Topic Title: path of exile : drivers crash during game (ati3duag.dll)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/29/2014 08:09 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/29/2014 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chiko
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 06/26/2014

hello,

I play a game called "path of exile" (http://www.pathofexile.com).

The game sometimes crashes the video drivers, and pc freezes, needs to be restarted.  It happens in random occasions, don't know how to reproduce it.

Minidumps are created, BlueScreenView shows :

==================================================
Dump File         : Mini063014-01.dmp
Crash Time        : 6/30/2014 1:37:47 AM
Bug Check String  : THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER
Bug Check Code    : 0x000000ea
Parameter 1       : 0x89af8020
Parameter 2       : 0x89b8d618
Parameter 3       : 0x89c22a58
Parameter 4       : 0x00000001
Caused By Driver  : ati3duag.dll
Caused By Address : ati3duag.dll+56507
File Description  : ati3duag.dll
Product Name      : Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Radeon DirectX Universal Driver
Company           : Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
File Version      : 6.14.10.0962
Processor         : 32-bit
Crash Address     : ati3duag.dll+b845c
Stack Address 1   : ati3duag.dll+564f8
Stack Address 2   : ati3duag.dll+afc39
Stack Address 3   : ati3duag.dll+a0888
Computer Name     :
Full Path         : C:\WINDOWS\Minidump\Mini063014-01.dmp
Processors Count  : 2
Major Version     : 15
Minor Version     : 2600
Dump File Size    : 65,536
Dump File Time    : 6/30/2014 1:37:47 AM
==================================================

Thanks for the help

-----------------------

graphics card : saphire hd6850 no overclock

catalyst drivers : 14.4

os : win xp pro sp3 32bits

motherboard : GA-MA78GM-UD2H

power supply : maxinpower 580W

display : iiyama b2409hds

cpu : amd athlon 7750 dual core

bios : gigabyte f9b  mb_bios_ga-ma78gm-ud2h_f9b

ram : 4gb no name

-----------------------------

 06/30/2014 09:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Is windows up to date ?

Is the game up to date?

Do you get that error with previous drivers ?

Do you get that error with other games as well ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/30/2014 11:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chiko
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 06/26/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64 Is windows up to date ?Is the game up to date?Do you get that error with previous drivers ?Do you get that error with other games as well ?

Windows and game up to date.Same error with catalyst 13.12.Don't have this in other games, but I don't play many games.

In the www.pathofexile.com forum, many people complain about those crashes, I am not the only one. It's a free game, anybody can test it and see if they get those errors. (to download the game for free, you only need to register to their website www.pathofexile.com)



Edited: 06/30/2014 at 11:52 PM by chiko
 07/01/2014 06:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Downloading now ..........



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12



Edited: 07/01/2014 at 07:34 AM by backFireX64
 07/01/2014 08:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Playing for half an hour, no problems.

 

Afterburner osd in-game:

gpu1: 20% 60° C

gpu2: 20% 58° C

mem: 302 mb

d3d9: 60 fps

ram: 3782 mb

 

All settings maxed, 1080p fullscreen, crossfirex.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 07/01/2014 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Played for an additional hour, no problems so far.

Good game for a free game.

Nice visuals. Good optimization for single gpu and crossfirex.

 

Have you tried the 14.6 RC2 june23 driver yet ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 07/01/2014 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chiko
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 06/26/2014

My game crashes are random, I have no idea how to reproduce them, so it's not easy to find out.  I didn't try 14.6 rc2, where can I find it ? I am confident it will not solve anything . By the way, do you have good fps with the game ? For me , it's between 0 and 50 FPS, but it seems it's very cpu dependant.

 07/01/2014 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Sorry, i just noticed you are on xp 32bit.

The driver i suggested is not supported for xp.

 

Take a look at these previous drivers though:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop/previous?os=Windows%20XP%20Professional/Home

 

Your cpu is starting to show it's age mate.

May i ask why are you still using a good, but ancient os ?

Don't get me wrong, i still use that os for an old laptop that has really crap performance compared to today's standards.

Nor for gaming.

 

I suggest that you start upgrading your software and hardware.

There are easy and quick ways to upgrade your os, which i cannot speak on this forum for many reasons.

If you would like assistance on this matter, send me a private message on this forum.

 

As far as the fps is concerned, take a look at my previous posted results.

It doesn't show the cpu usage, but since i have an 8-thread cpu, i can assure you it's between 15-25%.

 

Let me know if you need anything else, and please, take no offence from my remarks about your hardware.

 

Thanks.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 07/02/2014 05:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chiko
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 06/26/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64 Sorry, i just noticed you are on xp 32bit.The driver i suggested is not supported for xp. Take a look at these previous drivers though: http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop/previous?os=Windows%20XP%20Professional/Home

Your cpu is starting to show it's age mate.

May i ask why are you still using a good, but ancient os ?Don't get me wrong, i still use that os for an old laptop that has really crap performance compared to today's standards.Nor for gaming.

I suggest that you start upgrading your software and hardware. There are easy and quick ways to upgrade your os, which i cannot speak on this forum for many reasons. If you would like assistance on this matter, send me a private message on this forum.

As far as the fps is concerned, take a look at my previous posted results.It doesn't show the cpu usage, but since i have an 8-thread cpu, i can assure you it's between 15-25%.

Let me know if you need anything else, and please, take no offence from my remarks about your hardware.

Thanks.

Hi,

I am using catalyst 14.4 and yes it supports XP, so not a problem.

My cpu is old, but I won't change, coz I dont have a job or the money. If people are rich here, send me the money .
I still use xp because it's good, I tried 7 and 8, they use too much RAM etc. That game "path of exile" still supports xp. When I should change, it will be for linux.

Anyway, I still havent solved my BUG. So please lets go back to it. My bug is random, so ... maybe someone will get it one day and write here .

Cheers

 07/02/2014 06:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

I am sorry you took offence.

I'll restrain myself in the future from making any side remarks on a p2p forum.

 

Did you try any previous drivers yet ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 07/02/2014 06:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Have you tried this exactly as described ?

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=175451&enterthread=y



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 07/02/2014 07:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chiko
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 06/26/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64 I am sorry you took offence. I'll restrain myself in the future from making any side remarks on a p2p forum.

Did you try any previous drivers yet ?

There is no offence, why do you say this again ? What is p2p forum ?
I tried driver version 13.12 but it was worse : blue screens. With 14.4 no blue screens, but drivers crash and pc freeze.

 07/02/2014 07:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chiko
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 06/26/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64 Have you tried this exactly as described ?http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=175451&enterthread=y

Yes.

 07/02/2014 08:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

A peer-to-peer forum is a place where a user uses his own knowledge and experience and personality to try and help another user on an issue, question or general conversation. No one is working for AMD here and our opinions and suggestions are our own, and not affiliated with AMD.

It's a place where you exchange views and opinions, ask and give advice, chat and debate.

 

Now, when you combine an old os with relatively old hardware and a modern game or modern software in general, you are bound to have compatibility issues, conflicts or poor perfomance all-around at some point.

As far as the hardware goes, when someone expresses politely his/ her opinion, on a p2p forum, and you politely return this sarcastic remark:

My cpu is old, but I won't change, coz I dont have a job or the money. If people are rich here, send me the money

, then i assume that individual has taken offence.

That is why i apologized, because this was not my intention.

 

My intention was to give you my personal opinion about some facts, regarding how to solve issues or improve performance on games such as the "path of exile".

I actually know a lot of people who do not currently have the budget to upgrade the hardware, even if it is apparently the time to do so, myself included.

And that is quite understandable.

 

As far as the os goes, microsoft has ended windows xp support on April 8th 2014. And it is a great os used by a lot of people till today.

That doesn't change the fact that it isn't ideal for modern gaming anymore, even if the developers say it is supported in their game. It would be of limited support because all debugging and optimizations are usually focused on newer os and hardware.

Seen the specs you posted, i think 4gb RAM is more than enough for a 64bit windows 7 or windows 8.1.

The rest, no.

 

But i could be wrong.

 

It could be a game installation issue.

It could be a driver installation issue.

It could be another thing entirely conflicting with your gpu driver.

 

Are your temps good ?

Is your PSU delivering enough power/ voltage from the +12v rail ?

Are your hdd in good condition ?

 

Have you seen this great advice about clean installing the drivers yet ?:

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=175451&enterthread=y

 

Only way to be more certain is to clean reinstall os and try clean installing the supported drivers.

Or wait for another xp user to give you better feedback than me for this game.

 

Sorry if i wasted your time.

Thanks for the feedback and reading.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 07/02/2014 08:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

I just remembered and seen the other similar topic of yours.

 

You "solved" the fps issues with the same game by running the cpu in a low speed of 1.3 ghz because it was overheating. Up to ~30 fps.

 

Now you think that the game is cpu dependant.... and you have crashes.......

 

Oh man, do you see my point ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 07/02/2014 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chiko
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 06/26/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64 I just remembered and seen the other similar topic of yours.You "solved" the fps issues with the same game by running the cpu in a low speed of 1.3 ghz because it was overheating. Up to ~30 fps.  Now you think that the game is cpu dependant.... and you have crashes.......Oh man, do you see my point ?

no no no dont mix everything up please, I had those crashes problems for a long time already and also with higher cpu speed. Please lets not change subject, this has really nothing to do with it.

 07/02/2014 10:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chiko
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 06/26/2014

Now, when you combine an old os with relatively old hardware and a modern game or modern software in general, you are bound to have compatibility issues, conflicts or poor perfomance all-around at some point.

Win Xp is accepted by catalyst 14.4 and by the game, and my hardware gives me 40fps. I won't change any soon.

 

Are your temps good ? Is your PSU delivering enough power/ voltage from the +12v rail ? Are your hdd in good condition ?

GPU temp : 60
CPU temp : 50
+12 ? bios shows OK.
Hdd ok.
What free monitoring softwares you recommend ? I use GPUZ, CPUZ.

 

Have you seen this great advice about clean installing the drivers yet ?: http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=175451&enterthread=y  Only way to be more certain is to clean reinstall os and try clean installing the supported drivers.

Yes my os is clean virgin installed.

 07/02/2014 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

no no no dont mix everything up please, I had those crashes problems for a long time already and also with higher cpu speed. Please lets not change subject, this has really nothing to do with it.

 

Ok man.

You got a point and i respect that.

If you can maintain 40 fps, then it's actually pretty good for that game.

 

As far as the crashes go, it would be really helpful if you tried other games too and see if a similar crash log appears.

I googled "THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER" and found all sorts of potential hardware and software problems, since it is a generic os error message.

Most cases were about bad gpu drivers.

I'll try the other parameters and let you know if i find anything useful.

I have an old laptop with xp that i could try to run the game, but the vga is crap.

I'll try it anyway.

 

The monitor programs you use are the same for me, so it's good.

You can try AIDA64 (32bit) too if you like.

 

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 07/02/2014 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chiko
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 06/26/2014

For the bug, I havent found yet how to reproduce it. It seems maybe playing with alt+tab or some firefox in background, but I don't really know. Are there log files in windows which can help, except the minidump ? Or programs ?

 07/03/2014 03:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Follow the instructions here:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315263#method2

 

You can use WhoCrashed program as well.

 

From what i have searched on the internet, it should be a gpu driver problem.

Clean reinstall the drivers, or use a previous one.

Another guy had actually memory errors when run the memtest86+ and replaced one of his RAM sticks and fixed the issue.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

Statistics
85450 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.