Topic Title: Very bad perfomance in World of Warcraft (ancient game)
Topic Summary: getting around 20-30 fps max
Created On: 07/02/2014 11:37 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/02/2014 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
victorp2x
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/02/2014

Hello guys,

I'm having problems in order to run World of Warcraft. I bought a computer to be able to play it on high settings, yet i can't. FPS only goes up to 25, which frustrates me " src="http://m.bestofmedia.com/sfp/images/design/usr/smilies/frown.gif" alt="" /> 

All my drivers are up to date (i use catalyst 14.4 - tried 13.1, no change)

On another note, i can play BF3, Witcher 2, Dota 2, Diablo 3, Assassins Creed Black Flag, etc on max settings with high fps. It's just in wow that i get the low performance. I have collected some data that may be useful:

PC Spec:

OPERATING SYSTEM:
Windows 2.6.1.7601 (Service Pack 1)

CPU TYPE:
AMD FX(tm)-4100 Quad-Core Processor

CPU SPEED:
3.9 GHz (Overclocked)

SYSTEM MEMORY:
4.24 GB

VIDEO CARD MODEL:
AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series - Sapphire 6870

VIDEO CARD MEMORY:
2.92 GB

VIDEO CARD DRIVER:
aticfx32.dll

DESKTOP RESOLUTION:
1920x1080

HARD DISK SIZE:
750.05 GB



CPU USAGE

Max settings: 35%
Low: 16%

 07/03/2014 01:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1468
Joined: 07/13/2009

What's the GPU usage at this time?  It sounds a lot like a CPU bottleneck, but your experience with the other games conflicts.

 

 07/03/2014 01:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
victorp2x
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/02/2014

Originally posted by: Thanny What's the GPU usage at this time?  It sounds a lot like a CPU bottleneck, but your experience with the other games conflicts.

 

 

 



You mean the temperature? It's 43º C with WoW open - if you mean the % thing i don't know how to check it.  

 07/03/2014 01:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12865
Joined: 04/17/2008

Task manager. Right click the task bar, click Task Manager, performance tab.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/03/2014 01:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
victorp2x
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/02/2014

it only shows CPU perfomance, not GPU performance, at least here

 07/03/2014 01:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12865
Joined: 04/17/2008

MSI Afterburner.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/03/2014 01:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
victorp2x
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/02/2014

Originally posted by: black_zion MSI Afterburner.

thanks, it worked!

With everything in ultra, it goes up to 98% GPU usage.

With everything in ultra but view distance (on Low), it only goes up to 60% GPU usage. 

 07/03/2014 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

From what I know WoW is largely CPU dependent so if you're experiencing lag its from the game not fully utilizing your CPU and once it uses all of the cores it can access, it'll lag. 



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 07/03/2014 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1139
Joined: 11/14/2010

View distance, level of detail and any similar setting is the first to lower when the gpu will struggle to render a whole lot of things ar the same time.

Anti-aliasing for vram economy too.

 

98% GPU usage and lower than max CPU usage means you are gpu bottlenecked, or close to it, most of the time in-game.

Try the latest beta driver as well.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 07/03/2014 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12865
Joined: 04/17/2008

WoW may be an ancient game, but they keep piling on more and more onto an ancient engine so it isn't efficient.



And that is with a 4.2ghz i7.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/03/2014 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1139
Joined: 11/14/2010

From the benchmark i can see the hd6870 having a lot better performance than the op has described.

And that's on ultra settings with x8 AA.

Not the high settings.

And i don't think the CPU will cover that gap.

 

How did afterburner solved the performance issue ?

The rivatuner frame limiter ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

Statistics
87423 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.