Topic Title: new drivers problems for older games
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/02/2014 10:32 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/02/2014 10:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
home_sick
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/02/2014

Hi

 

I have a problem with running older games on new AMD drivers: 14.4 or 14.7

 

Graphics card:

Sapphire HD 7770 1G GDDR5 PCI-E HDMI/DVI-I/DP

no overclocking

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History: 13.4 is currently used. Was used before 13.3, 14.4 and 14.7 beta. In 13.3 and 13.4 older games work fine. In 14.4 or 14.7 older games dont work.

 Operating System

Windows7 32-bit, Service Pack 1, all uptodate

Issue Details

The games are Wolfenstein Enemy territory and Ace Online, Airrivals, Space Fighter. The last 3 are the same just different servers. When I play them with latest drivers the games lag very much and are unplayable. When I roll back the driver to 13.4 they work just fine. The problem is that newer games (ex. BF4)  run much better with newer drivers (14.4) and I wanna be able to play all with the same driver. What seems to be the issue here? I made suport for this issue but never got an answer. Please help, I dont know what to do any more.

Motherboard or System Make & Model

ASROCK P43DE

 

Power Supply

SL-500A with 500W

 

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

Acer x203w de 20 inch

max screen resolution: 1680x1050 at 60Hz

connectin VGA with adaptor

 Applications and Games

Wolfenstein Enemy Territory 2.60b patch (latest) multiplayer

Ace online, Airrivals, Spece Fighter basicly same game different versions

 CPU Details

Intel Core2Duo E8400 Wolfdale with two cores, 3GHz, socket 775LGA, 45 nm

no overclocking

 Motherboard BIOS Version

American Megatrends Inc., version P1.40

 System Memory Type & Amount

Kingston DDR2 2x2GB and 2x1GB in dual channel, 800MHz

total 6 GB

 Additional Details

PC scanned regularly for viruses with Avast and Malwarebytes

 08/02/2014 10:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12502
Joined: 04/17/2008

It's normal for old games to have issues with new drivers. Best thing to do is buy some old computer tower and a KVM switch.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/02/2014 10:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
home_sick
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/02/2014

Originally posted by: black_zion It's normal for old games to have issues with new drivers. Best thing to do is buy some old computer tower and a KVM switch.

This is not funny realy. I played very well this games on my HD4650. The games are not that old and many people online plays them. The problem is in the new drivers. For example when I look at device manager it shows R9 driver with vers 14.4 and shows HD7770 with drivers 13.3 and 13.4.

 08/02/2014 11:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Well.. that is how drivers work, to improve performance in latest games, you have to change variables which may have once improved performance in some old game. It's naive to assume the latest driver must perfectly support each and every piece of software released since the dawn of the information era. ie. "We cannot release this latest state of the art game with photorealistic graphics because modifying the driver that is required to run it would break X game released in 1993."

This is why people still have old Windows 98 and XP desktops around for.. legacy software.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 08/02/2014 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
home_sick
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/02/2014

Originally posted by: zipsi Well.. that is how drivers work, to improve performance in latest games, you have to change variables which may have once improved performance in some old game. It's naive to assume the latest driver must perfectly support each and every piece of software released since the dawn of the information era. ie. "We cannot release this latest state of the art game with photorealistic graphics because modifying the driver that is required to run it would break X game released in 1993."

 

This is why people still have old Windows 98 and XP desktops around for.. legacy software.

Look, these games are not ancient, they are very actual and patched regularly just to support new windows, cards etc. Lots of people are playing these games. I would think that AMD developers know that and make new drivers for them too. For example you could have options in Catalyst Control to play games newer than 2012-2013. I dont think would be that hard. But I believe something else is going on here. Same as windows 8.1 gimmick.

 08/02/2014 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12502
Joined: 04/17/2008

They're from 2003 and 2006, in computer terms that -is- ancient.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/02/2014 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Practikill
Grinding Levels

Posts: 113
Joined: 08/07/2009

Just to confrim here.....Wolf:ET is running at 10 fps here on my HD6870 with 14.4 drivers on Win7 x64.

 

It was fine last time I tried it, about 6 months and a driver ago,lol.

Oh well...

 



-------------------------
 08/02/2014 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12502
Joined: 04/17/2008

But at least Plants Vs Zombies is running find now

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/03/2014 05:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kahless_uk
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 06/19/2013

Can't speak to Ace Online because I don't own it, however Wolfenstein will work as expected if you copy the atioglxx.dll from the 13.12 driver into the game's executable directory. (it's an OpenGL game but it uses OpenGL1 which hasn't had a lot of luck with any of the 14.x drivers so far, probably because of the Wolfenstein : New Order optimizations, but 13.12 should be fine)

 

Alternatively Wolfenstein will also work with GLDirect5 (a wrapper to convert OpenGL1 into Direct3D)

 08/05/2014 09:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
home_sick
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/02/2014

Originally posted by: Kahless_uk Can't speak to Ace Online because I don't own it, however Wolfenstein will work as expected if you copy the atioglxx.dll from the 13.12 driver into the game's executable directory. (it's an OpenGL game but it uses OpenGL1 which hasn't had a lot of luck with any of the 14.x drivers so far, probably because of the Wolfenstein : New Order optimizations, but 13.12 should be fine)

 

 

 

Alternatively Wolfenstein will also work with GLDirect5 (a wrapper to convert OpenGL1 into Direct3D)

 

What do you mean by this? I should copy the "atioglxx.dll from the 13.12 driver into the game's executable directory" and than install 14.4, or do this with 14.4 installed?

 08/05/2014 11:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Doesn't matter in which order you do it, installing a driver doesn't overwrite your game folder contents, but the file is only present after installing 13.12 (or earlier version) during which you can copy it. "atioglxx.dll" was retired some time ago, some older games still rely on it, so you can provide the library to your game(s) that run on opengl.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
Statistics
85527 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.