Topic Title: SMITE Jungle Camp Timers Corrupted
Topic Summary: SMITE's jungle camps are supposed to be round with a solid "pie chart" type timer, it's now a square, translucent timer
Created On: 08/18/2014 12:44 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/18/2014 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FireZerg
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/21/2014

So as you can see in this photo, both the targeter and jungle camp icons are corrupted. I've not had the targeter issue on all characters, but the camp timers are always wonk.

According to HiRezArchov, a HiRez Games employee, "This has entirely to do with the chipset of the card and AMD's drivers for them. There may be some way to modify those drivers to get it working properly but I'm not aware of a working method at this time as we don't have any of the affected cards inside the office" (http://forums.smitegame.com/showthread.php?2444-Square-buff-timer/page5).

I understand this problem is far harder to solve because it's much deeper than most software, but I want to make this issue known to AMD driver engineers and the community in general.

SMITE is the third largest MOBA, third only the LoL and DotA2. Raptr, AMD's gaming evolved software, has even made a deal to exchange Raptr Points for SMITE Gems. I think solving this graphical error is important to AMD's reputation and integrity.

 



-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 @ 4.6 GHz ~ Sapphire AMD Radeon R9 290x
 08/18/2014 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7444
Joined: 11/13/2009

Umm...this is a peer-to-peer gaming forum? If you have a issue with your card then use the issue report form to contact AMD driver support.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 08/20/2014 07:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1469
Joined: 07/13/2009

So there's an issue with some cards, and the developers haven't bothered to even get samples of the cards to work with?

As for the screenshot, I can't even see what's wrong.  I've never heard of the game, and have no idea what it's supposed to look like. 

 

 

 08/20/2014 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12889
Joined: 04/17/2008

Agreed with Thanny, this is clearly a case of a developer not doing their job properly, and something they're going to need to fix.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/21/2014 06:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FireZerg
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/21/2014

I agree it is quite odd how they haven't taken more action to fixing this... On reddit people always joke about how the game supposedly came out of beta this year.

I tried to explain what it should look like, but here is a screenshot:

 

I have used the form given to submit the issue to AMD; thanks. I really hope HiRez and AMD are able to work together.

The distortion is also apparent on other visuals, like the targeter on the ground. There isn't supposed to be a giant yellow square under the triangle with 5 spears. Many shiny FX also are distorted into a checker type transparent texture, all the right color and not the right physical look.

I understand a solution probably cannot be found on these forums, but I've gained an insight into what needs to happen.



-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 @ 4.6 GHz ~ Sapphire AMD Radeon R9 290x

Edited: 08/21/2014 at 08:17 PM by FireZerg
 08/21/2014 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12889
Joined: 04/17/2008

Not really anything odd about it. Studios from small time independents with a few developers to multi million dollar outfits like EA and Ubisoft have long tried to put things off on AMD and nVidia. They have also adopted the practices of releasing a buggy game well before it should be just to make money. The things which keep them doing it is the community at large will not demand higher standards.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
87530 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.