Topic Title: BSOD after installing AMD AHCI driver from Catalyst 12.1
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/27/2012 04:08 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/27/2012 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
2Happy2BeSad
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/27/2012

Hello there.

Yesterday I downloaded the new AMD Catalyst 12.1 with chipset and graphics drivers. After removing all previous drivers using the Catalyst Install Manager and DriverCleaner.NET I started the installation of the chipset (AHCI and USB filter) drivers.
I rebooted the system after completion and when the Windows (Win7 Home Premium 64bit) Boot logo showed up for 1 or 2 seconds I got a BSOD with the following error code:

STOP: 0x0000007B
(0xFFFFF880009A9928, 0xFFFFFFFFC0000034, 0x0000000000000000, 0x0000000000000000)

I found out that switching "SATA Mode" to "IDE" in BIOS causes no problems and Windows starts up properly (but slow).
Of course I can use the MS AHCI driver but using the AMD AHCI boosted up my hard disk drive's performance in the past so I don't want to miss it.

Is there anything I can do about this or is the new AMD AHCI driver in Catalyst 12.1 corrupt?

Thanks in advance!

 01/27/2012 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlienInside
n00b

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/11/2010

the same thing happen to me I had to reinstall windows because it said that I had no os installed!



-------------------------

Gigabyte Ga-MA78GPM: Phenom II 940BE- O.C. 3.3 gigahertz: 4 Gigs OCZ AMD Special Edition DDR2-1066: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500 watt: XFX ATI 5750 O.C. 820-1200: ThermalTake v3 Black Edition: 2X Liteon DVD-RW/W Litescribe:Liteon Bluray rom: WD Black 750 gig: WD 320GB Caviar ide : Win 7 Home Premium X64: Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 CO: 1 120-mm Blue Cooler Master as exhaust fan: 23" Acer s231hl Lcd Monitor:

 01/27/2012 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

I have the same problem thus I installed everything but unchecked AHCI.

At first time I could not boot, I tried IDE mode and realised that AHCI was the problem. So I enabled AHCI again and used the system restore and now it is ok.

AMD please fix it, it is a fail. Some users will freeze when relise that they cannot boot.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 01/28/2012 06:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SteeLx
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/03/2009

Same here..

 

Windows 7 64bit, just installed ATI 12.1 and my Battlefield 3 FREEZE.. BSOD.

 01/30/2012 08:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Are there any AMD admins etc that read the forum?

This is a serius problem and must be fixed by giving us a new sb file containing a newer and fixed version of the AHCI driver,



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 01/30/2012 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7297
Joined: 11/13/2009

This is a peer-to-peer forum. Amd does not monitor. You should fill out a report. Look at the bottom of this page....'contact AMD'.

Using Google finds this: http://www.google.com/search?q=error+code+STOP%3A+0x0000007B+%280xFFFFF880009A9928%2C+0xFFFFFFFFC0000034%2C+0x0000000000000000%2C+0x0000000000000000%29&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-Address&ie=&oe=  So it affects systems with non ATI cards as well.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/30/2012 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
2Happy2BeSad
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/27/2012

I've reported this issue to AMD Customer Care.

From what I've gathered in other forums this problem seems to be limited to motherboards using AMD 7XXer chipsets ONLY.

 

Let's wait and see what will happen.

 01/30/2012 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Glazierman
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 04/27/2011

running win7 64 bit after update I get a two tone beep after windows opens and the two tone beep repeats three times and not to confuse this with a motherboard beep error this comes thru speaker system for computer ? where in 7 would I look for error ?

 01/31/2012 04:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fabek
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/29/2012

i also got the same BSOD since i've installed the 12.1 AHCI driver



-------------------------
AMD PHenom X4 965
GA-MA790XT-UD4P
GeForce GTX 460
Windows 7 64b
 02/01/2012 07:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rinkol1
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 09/20/2008

I ran into this problem too. Although I have no difficulties with this driver on a Gigabyte 890gx motherboard, I get the bsod on a Gigabyte 790X motherboard.

The short term fix is to:

1. set the bios for IDE mode access to the SATA drive(s);

2. boot and use system restore to go back to your previous configuation;

3  enable ahci mode access in the bios and reboot.

This is a potentially vexing problem: if you don't have the inspiration of disabling ahci (or otherwise know to do this), you will be seriously stuck.

Robert

 02/05/2012 05:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Varmit
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/05/2012

Brilliant, their driver causes BSOD and now I can't find a previous stable version of the driver on the AMD site. They're too stupid to keep an old version linked, which isn't surprising, it took them a week to fix the HD 79xx driver page. But oh, of course it makes perfect sense to keep 5 years of old graphics card drivers linked. Because, you know how windows update never has those.

(another forum is saying that catalyst chipset driver 11.10, AHCI driver build 317 is functional)

 03/01/2012 11:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
johnliu
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/01/2012

I have a Asus M3A78-CM mother board with north bridge-AMD 780V+ south bridge-ATI700. I'm using Windows 7 64bit.

I got the similar problem after installed the AHCI driver in 12.1 chipset driver package. The PC will restart after I see the Windows logo no matter in normal mode or safe mode.

It works perfectly with using the AHCI driver included in chipset driver package v11.12.

I have to change AHCI to SATA in BIOS, in order to fix it. The I use the system recovery before I can reinstall the old AHCI driver in chipset driver package v11.12. 

It brought me a lot of trouble and wasted a lot of time after hitting this trap! Fix it now! AMD.



Edited: 03/02/2012 at 12:51 AM by johnliu
 03/07/2012 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
justtesting
n00b

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/07/2012

A new 12.2 sb package is out. There's a newer 1.2.001.0327 driver included.

*can't test today

 03/07/2012 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gr33nGecko
Long Time Member

Posts: 10027
Joined: 10/01/2009

 

12.1 AHCI drivers worked perfectly here, and on 780/790/890 chipset boards I have installed at work ..

12.2 previews worked fine on above chipset boards too ..

12.2 WHQL work just fine aswell .. am running the 1.2.1.327 AHCI drivers right now .. nothing but good speeds with my SSD and stable too .



-------------------------
AM3 965BE C3 / 4GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair H70 & 2 CM Excaliburs / x2 HD3870 ATOMIC Edition / Corsair 90GB Force 3 SSD / Momentus XT 250Gb Hybrid HDD / x3 Samsung F3 1Tb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech Kboard & MX620 Laser Mouse / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM 23" IPS TFT / MY RIG HERE
 03/07/2012 08:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
justtesting
n00b

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/07/2012

Originally posted by: Gr33nGecko

 

 

12.2 previews worked fine on above chipset boards too ..

Where there 12.1sb preview drivers (with ahci)? I thought only a graphics driver package came out.

 03/07/2012 08:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gr33nGecko
Long Time Member

Posts: 10027
Joined: 10/01/2009

 

Damn, I just deleted all my preview drivers from the system ( including the installers, as they were taking up 1&1/2Gb of space and I needed it ) and installed 12.2 WHQL over the top of the 12.2 previews I was using ..

The only 12.1 driver pack I have here now is 12-1_vista_win7_32-64_sb as I didn't really bother with the 12.1s as they released a load of other stuff not long after. I can't remember whether it was a preview pack from inside the large 12.1 previews, or if I waited and downloaded the WHQL pack .. it was 8.93.0.0 IIRC .. heh, if you'd have asked me an hour or so ago, I'd have still had them all .

12.2 previews work for me, as do the 12.2 WHQL release ..



-------------------------
AM3 965BE C3 / 4GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair H70 & 2 CM Excaliburs / x2 HD3870 ATOMIC Edition / Corsair 90GB Force 3 SSD / Momentus XT 250Gb Hybrid HDD / x3 Samsung F3 1Tb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech Kboard & MX620 Laser Mouse / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM 23" IPS TFT / MY RIG HERE
 03/07/2012 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
justtesting
n00b

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/07/2012

Sorry, it was a typo. I meant 12.2 preview having also an sb pack (with ahci), other than the graphics driver.

I'm also affected by the same bsod most seem to have with the latest pack, but not with the ahci driver present in 11.12. I'll only be near my sb750 machine next week to test the newer .0327.

With some troubleshooting further by running the OS drive in IDE and other hdds in AHCI (combined mode) to be able to boot, what happens is that the sata controller simply can't detect any hdd with .0321 on the other 4 ports.

For what see, experience seems to vary from motherboard to motherboard based on sb7x0.

 03/08/2012 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7297
Joined: 11/13/2009

There are some interesting discussions about this issue on various websites...here is one  http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2083024



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/08/2012 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
2Happy2BeSad
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/27/2012

AHCI driver build 327 from Catalyst 12.2 still DOES NOT work for me.

I'm still getting the BSOD. :-(

 03/08/2012 02:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
justtesting
n00b

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/07/2012

Originally posted by: stumped There are some interesting discussions about this issue on various websites...here is one  http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2083024

 

There are more threads specifically for what is happening with the 12.1 pack, and probably will with the 12.2, given the previous post.

@pchelpforum

I've also posted a workaround in xtremesys for those who have trouble to revert back to older drivers in ahci mode.

@xtremesystems

Unfortunately, these drivers are still required in some motherboards because there's a bug with msahci that causes a ~30s delay when the windows logo appears. And now that TRIM is finally supported, there's no reason for not using them except for this issue.



Edited: 03/08/2012 at 02:24 PM by justtesting
Statistics
86624 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.