Topic Title: BSOD after installing AMD AHCI driver from Catalyst 12.1
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/27/2012 04:08 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/13/2012 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
linhtinh
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 03/13/2012

I confirm this bug in sb/ahci driver packages 12.1 & 12.2 (AHCI driver version 1.2.001.0321 vs 1.2.001.0327), 11.12(AHCI ver 1.2.001.0317) and earlier not bug.

This bug in amd_sata.inf. I fixed it. Try this: http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=383&threadid=158975&enterthread=y

and this: http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=383&threadid=158759&enterthread=y

(tested on my mobo HA-07, SB750).



Edited: 03/13/2012 at 08:29 PM by linhtinh
 03/13/2012 08:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
justtesting
n00b

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/07/2012

Thanks for sharing!

 03/15/2012 12:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

I have the same problem!! MSI DKA790GX (790GX+SB750)

I wrote about this a few days a ago here http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=425&threadid=158936&enterthread=y

Mate thanks for sharing the info



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 03/15/2012 01:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

I have just tried it and it wooooooooooorks!!!!

 

Thank you!!



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64



Edited: 03/15/2012 at 07:20 PM by el_arantis
 03/28/2012 01:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Did anyone tried the 12.3 AHCI driver?

Did AMD fixed it or we have to fix it manually again?



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 03/28/2012 02:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Well I must confirm the the problem remains.

I booted at IDE mode and changed the registry error in order to boot again at AHCI mode.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 03/28/2012 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gr33nGecko
Long Time Member

Posts: 10027
Joined: 10/01/2009

 

12.3s work 100% here ..



-------------------------
AM3 965BE C3 / 4GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair H70 & 2 CM Excaliburs / x2 HD3870 ATOMIC Edition / Corsair 90GB Force 3 SSD / Momentus XT 250Gb Hybrid HDD / x3 Samsung F3 1Tb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech Kboard & MX620 Laser Mouse / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM 23" IPS TFT / MY RIG HERE
 03/28/2012 05:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
justtesting
n00b

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/07/2012

It will surely BSOD to those affected, this line remains the same:

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0

this wasn't changed back to 0xFF on the *.inf files present on 12-3_vista_win7_32-64_sb\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB7xx\AHCI

Gr33nGecko, everybody here and at vgaforum appreciates your continuous work and I'm sure you'll surely deal with a fair amount of user stupidity every day. But the issue here surely exists with *some* motherboards, mostly based on SB7XX and nothing more recent. Most probably, the blame is on the manufacturers side due to a bad bios PM implementation, but this only had a chance to manifest itself since the aforementioned change in drivers after a long time.

It's not because it doesn't affect yours, or the systems you install this ahci  driver to, that makes this a non existent problem. If you hadn't problems before since this *.inf change was made (starting 12.1 when the standalone ahci package became included in the sb package and so on) , it surely won't start affecting you now.

Any user with half a brain will be able to change this inf/registry, or simply use an older driver because there's no need to update sb drivers every month. Petty performance differences shouldn't matter, as fortunately TRIM support was enabled some time ago. The problem is mostly with newer users with affected boards starting their OS fresh with newer drivers without this knowledge, and this is something AMD can address by reverting that setting back to what has been during years.

 03/28/2012 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gr33nGecko
Long Time Member

Posts: 10027
Joined: 10/01/2009

 

Ah, I never said that it was a non-existent problem though .. there's a difference ..



-------------------------
AM3 965BE C3 / 4GB Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair H70 & 2 CM Excaliburs / x2 HD3870 ATOMIC Edition / Corsair 90GB Force 3 SSD / Momentus XT 250Gb Hybrid HDD / x3 Samsung F3 1Tb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech Kboard & MX620 Laser Mouse / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM 23" IPS TFT / MY RIG HERE
 03/28/2012 06:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
justtesting
n00b

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/07/2012

If you tell users that 12.3 are working fine (despite never having the problem before on your system), those who check this thread and are most likely to bsod with the two previous versions for this same cause, might assume it was corrected for their system, which unfortunately isn't the case.

Don't take it personally, but in a previous thread by el_arantis you've claimed there was nothing to fix. Hence my interpretation of your previous post.

Cheers!

 03/31/2012 05:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
linhtinh
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 03/13/2012

Confirm bug remain. just a version 1.2.001.0327. amd suck.

 04/25/2012 01:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Well.... 12.4 and the problem remains.... are they so blind?

This is an EPIC FAIL!

I feel sorry for users who do not know many things about pcs and they cannot boot...  

Same on you AMD



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 06/08/2012 09:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Agent24
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/07/2008

I have a problem with Windows 7 32-bit, Catalyst 12.4 and an MSI 790GX-G65 motherboard.

I don't get a BSOD under Windows 7, but I get an issue when I put the computer into standby.

When I resume from standby, two of my HDDs don't show up, not even in device manager. I have to do a full shut-down and cold boot to be able to see them again.


I was previously using the AHCI drivers from MSI's website.
 06/29/2012 06:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zidder
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 11/21/2008

Revision History

 

1.2.001.0331

 

-         Fix: System hang-up on some BIOS implementations

 

1.2.001.0329

 

-         Win7 to Win8 update failure fix (BSOD 0x BE)

 

What about 12.6 AHCI driver? Still bugged?

 06/30/2012 12:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Yes yes... AHCI is still a problem concerning 7xx chipset but you can make a modification with notepad and install it without problems.

1- run sb driver package to extract, but don't install.
2- find the location your file amd_sata.inf, example my mobo sb750 with win7 is: x:\AMD\support\12-2_vista_win7_32-64_sb\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB7xx\AHCI\W764A
3- Edit amd_sata.inf, find the line 

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0

and change it to

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0xFF

Run the extracted setup file and install everything, you will be asked if you want to go on with installation because we edited the file but answer yes and let it finish.

 

I you have installed it and cannot boot, boot at IDE mode and go to regedit.

Then find HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\amd_sata\Parameters\Device\AmdSataPMDisabled"=dword:000000ff
and change it from 0 to 0xff restart, change from IDE to AHCI in Bios and everything is OK



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 06/30/2012 04:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zidder
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 11/21/2008

Originally posted by: el_arantis Yes yes... AHCI is still a problem concerning 7xx chipset but you can make a modification with notepad and install it without problems.

 

1- run sb driver package to extract, but don't install. 2- find the location your file amd_sata.inf, example my mobo sb750 with win7 is: x:\AMD\support\12-2_vista_win7_32-64_sb\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB7xx\AHCI\W764A 3- Edit amd_sata.inf, find the line 

 

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0

 

and change it to

 

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0xFF

 

Run the extracted setup file and install everything, you will be asked if you want to go on with installation because we edited the file but answer yes and let it finish.

 

 

 

I you have installed it and cannot boot, boot at IDE mode and go to regedit.

 

Then find HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\amd_sata\Parameters\Device\AmdSataPMDisabled"=dword:000000ff and change it from 0 to 0xff restart, change from IDE to AHCI in Bios and everything is OK

 

Sounds good, I will try it!

Thanks!!!

 

 07/03/2012 05:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
justtesting
n00b

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/07/2012

Just to add, in regedit if you are inputting 0xFF in decimal it'll be 255.

 08/16/2012 04:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zidder
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 11/21/2008

What about 12.8 ahci drivers? Any good news for SB7xx owners? Working without editing inf?

 10/20/2012 03:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BuzzGUN
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/18/2009

Gigabyte just released a new beta BIOS (F9b) for my MA-790XT-UD4P that updates the AMD AHCI ROM to 3.1.0.0.  The previous BIOS had 3.0.1540.59.

I'm wondering if the ROM update fixes the recent AHCI driver issues, but before I test it (and potentially have to system restore): Has anyone else noticed if they get the BSOD with this AHCI ROM version 3.1.0.0 or later?

Statistics
84880 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.