Topic Title: The AMD FX 4100 BE thread
Topic Summary: info about this Bulldozer CPU
Created On: 05/15/2012 06:47 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/15/2012 06:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scorilo
n00b

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/12/2011

Let s talk about this AMD CPU a little.

I have bought it to see how good it is by myself ,stoped trusting review sites for some time.

I have some question myself and i m sure many others have.

Comparing it directly with my AMD Phenom X3 720 BE at stock speeds i have discovered that the FX 4100 is quite a good CPU .

In spite of the generalized internet bashing it s quite powerfull and if Easy Saver Gigabyte software is right it takes less power to be better.

Easy Saver showed 18-20Watts in idle with CnQ off (3,7Ghz idle clock) for the AMD FX 4100  and maximum 40Watts for the CPU in load(3,6 Ghz clock).The X3 720 BE showed with CnQ on minimum 35-40W in idle and ~60 Watts in load.

So practically the FX 4100 is better than the X3 720BE taking much less power and not reaching the huge TDP AMD is stating.

The AMD website doesnt seem to show to much info about this CPU-s.For Phenoms and Athlons there were pages showing you the recommended voltages and temperatures can t seem to find that now for Bulldozers.

Here there is only generic info -> http://www.amd.com/uk/products/desktop/processors/amdfx/Pages/amdfx.aspx

So :

 1. First of all what is the recommended voltage for this CPU by default ,as in my CPU-Z v1.59 the voltage with CnQ off is 1,424 V at 3,724 Ghz ? Is there something wrong with 970A-UD3 regarding this aspect ? I am not alarmed as the temperatures are ok ,hovering around 40 Celsius in stress.

If we take a look at this review from legitreviews ( http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1766/3/ ) we see that the CPU is fed at 1,272 Volts at similar clock

I have dropped the voltage myself to what the GIgabyte BIOS and CPU -Z show as 1,23V and the CPU is perfectly ok in Intel Burn test.Also the temperatures iwth the stock cooler are now 31 Celsius in load.

2.What is the maximum recommended temperature for the cores ?

3.The boost to 3,7 Ghz (from the rated 3,6Ghz) rises the clocks for all cores ?

4.Why is there a second boost state for 3,8 Ghz and how many cores does it affect ?

5.What is the real CPU WEI score in Windows 7 for FX 4100 ,as on the same legitreviews we can see a beefy 7,6 ?
I see a 7,2 on my Windows 7 32 bit installation and on some online stores many reviewers report 7,3 ?

6.What is the recommended memory speed for maximum performance at default clocks ?

7.What is it with the throttling thing is it a malfunction of my mothebroard or it s a CPU bug?Seen the CPU drop to 3,3 Ghz while running WEI for few seconds.

Posted more info here ->  http://forum.giga-byte.co.uk/index.php/topic,8983.0.html

 

LE: By the way if this CPU speed throtling is a bug when will AMD force the manufacturers to fix the problem ?!

At this time we should have mature AM3+ boards that really show the correct performance of this CPU-s.



-------------------------

Main :AMD PII X4 975BE+H60/ 890GPA-UD3H v2.1/ 8G CorsairXMS3 at 1333/ Saphire 6950 2G unlocked /Creative X-fi XtremeMusic/ G11/ G5R/ WD7501AALS/ OCZ 750 Fatal1ty

Secondary:AMD FX 4100 BE/ 970A-UD3/ 4G CorsairXMS3 1333/ HIS 4850 iC4/ Asus Xonar D1/ A4tech/ WD7501AALS/ Corsair 600 CX



Edited: 05/15/2012 at 07:00 AM by Scorilo
 05/15/2012 12:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12334
Joined: 04/17/2008

Questions 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, and 7 can be answered by a simple web search, while question 5 can be answered by a simple forum search.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/15/2012 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scorilo
n00b

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/12/2011

I am sure you have not made all the 7867 posts by replying only with this ,isn t it ?

If you have a link with genuine AMD official information please add it here.

What some kids on some forums are spaming regarding FX 4100 CPU is not the point here.

 

 



-------------------------

Main :AMD PII X4 975BE+H60/ 890GPA-UD3H v2.1/ 8G CorsairXMS3 at 1333/ Saphire 6950 2G unlocked /Creative X-fi XtremeMusic/ G11/ G5R/ WD7501AALS/ OCZ 750 Fatal1ty

Secondary:AMD FX 4100 BE/ 970A-UD3/ 4G CorsairXMS3 1333/ HIS 4850 iC4/ Asus Xonar D1/ A4tech/ WD7501AALS/ Corsair 600 CX

Statistics
84710 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.