Topic Title: system so Slow
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/21/2012 01:27 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/21/2012 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Torontocity
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/21/2012

hello all...i put a hd5450 card im my Pc chips A33G MB with 4gigs of ram ,a 400w PS , win XP Home, and was running great until the card went in....now its slow to start and responds very slow, when i look at the  task manager, the cpu is running at 100% sometimes lower, take the card out and all is well.

can anyone help Please ?

 05/21/2012 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12381
Joined: 04/17/2008

You have an old computer with an antique very very very low end motherboard with a backstreet chinese made PSU, an antique operating system, and a low end video card which was intended only for HTPC applications, and you are wondering what the problem is?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/21/2012 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Torontocity
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/21/2012

Wow!   Yuh So Mean manh....is that a real answer or should i just consult my grandchlidren ???

 05/21/2012 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveo_crossfire
Long Time Member

Posts: 7015
Joined: 01/19/2009

lol  lmfao ! yeah  black _ zion is right    your  platform is ancient !! and i bet  your  400 watt psu  is a peice of sh*t ! which is probly  under powering your ancient rig 

don't u think it's time to retire that  pos ???



-------------------------

Rampage II Extreme , 920 @ 4.7 ghz , 12 gig Dominator  2000mhz  , xfx  7970 BE  crossfire   1300/1800  , 60g Vertex 3 raid0 , 120g Vertex 3 raid0 ,wd 2  tb black , xfx 1250 w   , Dell 3007 , x-fi forte , logitech z-5500 , logitech g510/g700

12.8 / 12.7cap3

http://s550.photobucket.com/albums/ii415/steve_hen/steveos%20rig/

 05/22/2012 08:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Doron
Master Looter

Posts: 365
Joined: 12/14/2008

This problem can be caused by many things, but my bet is that it's either an insufficient power delivery caused by a weak, cheap PSU that lives in most PCs (possibly including yours), or over-heating caused by insufficient cooling.

The fact that your cpu goes to 100% probably mean that either over-heating or insufficient power-delivery is causing your cpu to dial its speed down to prevent a system crash or possibly hardware failure.

My suggestion is that you ask someone you trust (possibly your grandchildren) for help and suggestions, although I think that if you find out that you indeed have a cheap PSU then it's both dangerous and irresponsible not to replace it.



-------------------------
#1: Phenom II x4 B55 @ 3.8ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P | Sapphire hd4870 512mb | G.Skill Sniper 2x4gb | Antec 900 | Corsair TX750 | Samsung P2350 1920x1080



#2: Athlon II x2 240 @ 3.5ghz (250x14) | Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT-UD2H | G.Skill NQ 2x2gb | Coolermaster Elite 335 | SeaSonic S12II-500 | Samsung T220 1680x1050
 05/22/2012 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12381
Joined: 04/17/2008

Dangerous also means the possibility of a catastrophic failure involving a lethal power surge to all attached components, as well as the possibility that the PSU could set fire to the surrounding materials (carpet, curtains, dust, etc), exploding 240v capacitors are very dangerous.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/22/2012 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Torontocity
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/21/2012

Doron....i thank you for your senseable answer....it runs great without the video card and i dont all that much about computers...i only installed this card to plug the hdmi to the the tv, i will see about upgrading the power supply and see what happens....Thanks Again!

 05/22/2012 03:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Doron
Master Looter

Posts: 365
Joined: 12/14/2008

My pleasure, good luck



-------------------------
#1: Phenom II x4 B55 @ 3.8ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P | Sapphire hd4870 512mb | G.Skill Sniper 2x4gb | Antec 900 | Corsair TX750 | Samsung P2350 1920x1080



#2: Athlon II x2 240 @ 3.5ghz (250x14) | Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT-UD2H | G.Skill NQ 2x2gb | Coolermaster Elite 335 | SeaSonic S12II-500 | Samsung T220 1680x1050
Statistics
84963 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.