Topic Title: **STICKY** | Correct information on how to read your CPU temps
Topic Summary: Straight from Alex Cromwell, Senior Technology Director, Advanced Micro Devices
Created On: 08/29/2012 01:43 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/29/2012 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Just a snippet of information that often is misunderstood.

I found this out on this thread, post #1584.

[snip]
 Concerning your question regarding the temperatures with your processor. (1090) the maximum temperature threshold is 62 Celsius which set for the internal die (core) temperature of the chip. The core temperatures have an equational offset to determine temperature which equalizes at about 45 Celsius thus giving you more accurate readings at peak temperatures. The hindrance in this is the sub ambient idle temperature readings you speak of.

 The silicon and adhesives used in manufacturing these processors has a peak temperature rating of 97+ Celsius before any form of degradation will take place. The processor also has a thermal shut off safe guard in place that shuts the processor down at 90 Celsius.

The Cpu temperature is read form a sensor embedded within the socket of your motherboard causing about a 7-10 Celsius variance form the actual Cpu temperature, which may be what you are reading about on the net.
 I hope I was able to answer your questions, If you have any more inquiries don't hesitate to contact us.

 You can use an application called AMD overdrive, that will allow you to monitor your temperatures accurately.

 As long as your core temperature has not exceeded the high side of the 60 degree mark for extended periods of time you should be ok. 62 degrees holds a generous safety net to begin with.


 Thank You

 Alex Cromwell
 Senior Technology Director
 Advanced Micro Devices
 Fort Collins, Colorado
 2950 East Harmony Road
 Suite 300
 Fort Collins, CO
 80528-9558



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!



Edited: 11/25/2013 at 12:52 AM by Canis-X
 08/29/2012 10:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Wasn't this stickied on the Prc forums? I'd suggest the same here.



-------------------------

 08/29/2012 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Yes it was and I have on this one as well, just didn't put "Sticky" in the title.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 08/29/2012 11:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Canis-X Yes it was and I have on this one as well, just didn't put "Sticky" in the title.

 

God I love fusetalk, lol.

 

Good deal!



-------------------------

 09/23/2012 03:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
djinn151
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/13/2012

Your saying using the AMD Overdrive application is accurate for temp readings? Do I still gotta calculate the 7-10c from the sensor? Or no?

 09/24/2012 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

....to clarify, you want to pay attention to your individual core temps (multiple temperature readings if you have a multicore processor) and not your CPU temp (single temperature reading regardless of how many cores your processor has).

....clear as crystal or clear as mud?



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 09/29/2012 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
djinn151
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/13/2012

ah, I see so there are two different temperature readings I gotta look at.

got it... and thank you.

 02/13/2013 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hrothgar
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 03/19/2012

Rather than open a new thread, I'll ask here:

When using Speedfan, I should focus on the Core temp rather than the CPU temp? I looked, and Speedfan only offers 1 reading for Core rather than a reading for each.

So, I'm idling around 43°C (closer to 45°C when watching videos) and around 50°C at load. Some folks on another forum said I'm running a little hot. I'm running at stock settings with the stock cooler, and I have 2x120mm case fans. I keep my case very clean and also recently reapplied thermal compound (Arctic Silver5). Do you think the Phenom II is running hot? If so, what should I do to cool it down?



-------------------------

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE Deneb 3.5GHz CPU
ASUS M5A88-V EVO Mother Board
2 X 2GB CORSAIR XMS3 DDR3 1600 RAM
XFX AMD RADEON HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 GPU
Dell D1626HT Trinitron 21" CRT Monitor
Seagate Barracuda 160GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
ASUS DRW-24B1ST SATA DVD-R/RW
Corsair GS500 Gaming Series 500w PSU
CoolerMaster HAF 912 Case

 02/18/2013 09:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BartonCore
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/18/2013

Hello there.

I bought AMD FX8150 CPU and it's great in gamming and calculations! But i need to ensure is my temperature's are good enought. I am using Modecome Bulldozer case with 5x140mm fan and stock cooling system on AMD FX8150. Temperature is mesuring by software Core Temp/AMD OverDrive. In my room i have 22-25 C.

When the CPU is "doing nothing" the Core Temp showing 19-28 C, BUT

on gamming/testing/calculating:

Total War: Shogun2 game (max details) 54-59 C

World Of Tanks game (max details) 55-61 C

Anno1701 game (max details) 52-54 C

Unigine Heaven DX11 graphic test 38-46 C

AIDA64 CPU test max 61 C

Cinebench R11.5 max 61 C

(i don't remember which program was that but i run stability test on it for one hour max 61 C)

ANSYS Workbench v13.0 7000000 milions elements (FEM), solving for example steady state thermal simulation 62-86 C !!!!!!!!!! Simulation solved after 2 hours, slow because of lack of RAM memory. And for important information, after AMD System Monitor was showing 99% of RAM use, the CPU temperature started to rise.

Here i am asking, is this temperature is not too high? And why is so high. Is this program (ANSYS) "kills" CPU better than any other testing program? Time for water cooling or switch something in BIOS like Cool'n'Quiet technology will helps...? Thank for reading and sorry about my english.

 

 

---------------------------------------------

AMD FX8150 3,6 GHz (Turbo Core enabled)

MSI 990FXA-GD65

MSI R6870-2PM2D1GD5/OC

Kingstone KVR DDR3 NonECC CL9 1866MHz/16GB

Modecom Carbon MC 620W

 

 02/18/2013 11:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hrothgar
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 03/19/2012

The article below says the max. temp. is 61°C, so your temps are high when using certain applications.

Running at max. temp. intermittently won't cause any damage; if you run at max. temp. often, however, you will have problems.

I always read Prime 95 is the best CPU stress tester.

Finally, Cool 'n' Quiet underclocks the CPU when it isn't under load, so it won't bring those temps down, since they are read when under full load. If you're that worried, install an after market cooler.



-------------------------

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE Deneb 3.5GHz CPU
ASUS M5A88-V EVO Mother Board
2 X 2GB CORSAIR XMS3 DDR3 1600 RAM
XFX AMD RADEON HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 GPU
Dell D1626HT Trinitron 21" CRT Monitor
Seagate Barracuda 160GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
ASUS DRW-24B1ST SATA DVD-R/RW
Corsair GS500 Gaming Series 500w PSU
CoolerMaster HAF 912 Case

 02/18/2013 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BartonCore
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/18/2013

Thx for answer. I will do the Prime95 test and write here the results. Regardless could you tell me which cooler will be best for AMD FX8150? I was thinking about Nocuta NH-D14/C14 or Cooler Master V6 GT but those were tested on AMD Phenom X4 9850 (about 44-47 C on full load). 

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------

Ho Ho Ho and results are clear:

1 thread test 53 C after 8 minutes i stopped

4 threads test 81 C after 3 minutes i stopped

8 threads test XX C i haven't try this mode

 

I need better cooler on my CPU than this stock crap 

 

One second...on this page we can read about temperature test on AMD FX8150 - http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1741/18/  and the have stock cooler, and they have 46 C.

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now i have Zalman CNPS12X installed and no more problems with temperature. Prime95, 8 threads,  priority 9 and hardest test => 42 C. Bye bye stock cooling. Thank you all.



Edited: 02/21/2013 at 01:20 PM by BartonCore
 03/15/2013 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FlanK3r
Peon

Posts: 31
Joined: 03/13/2013

I have the same experience...Phenom II+OC, you must holt temperatures at cores in Coretemp up to 55C, better was around 50C only. It was hard for aircooling, but it was possible get it.

FX seems not so sensitive as Phenom II, you can take 65C in Coretemp and it is OK (65C in Coretemp could be around 80C in die)

 



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350, FX-8320, FX-8150, FX-8120, FX-8120 95W, FX-6300, FX-4300, PII x4 1100T BE, PII x6 1090T BE, PII x4 980 BE, PII x4 975 BE, PII x4 970 BE, PII x4 965BE C3, PII x4 965 BE C2, A10-5800K, A10-5600K, A8-3870K, A8-3850, P x4 9850, P x3 8650, etc

 04/14/2013 04:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mithun7
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/14/2013

Just download and instll free software "local Cooling" that's it.

 

 04/29/2013 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheUnknown
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/29/2013

Can anyone help with this issue........

Got a FX-8120.......standard stock, 990fx sabertooth, Thermal paste mtx 4.

And for the last month temps have been going crazy, before it used to idle around 52ish and at most 60 degrees when playing games like GTA IV.

Sudden increase in temperature was seen for unknown reason, this is when i'm on multiple tabs on chrome, and using Asus Suite II to put the fans on at 100% and sometimes its just stays around 60-65 degrees which clearly isn't right at all........any help?

 04/30/2013 08:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thursfield
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/30/2013

This seems strange to me, as the temp that Overdrive gives me is the exact same temp that my bios and motherboard software says the CPU is. Overdrive stats this is the temp of each of my cores, they are all exacly the same. Which is strange as the post does state 

"The Cpu temperature is read form a sensor embedded within the socket of your motherboard causing about a 7-10 Celsius variance form the actual Cpu temperature, which may be what you are reading about on the net.

 I hope I was able to answer your questions, If you have any more inquiries don't hesitate to contact us.

 You can use an application called AMD overdrive, that will allow you to monitor your temperatures accurately."

I'm using an FX-8120 CPU.

 05/19/2013 10:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Hi, guys..

Well, I've doing some more stress tests to my CPU and see if I can achieve better colck speeds (despite my ambient temps.. everyone knows about that.. isgust; )..

Anyway, I've my CPU at 4,6GHz (4,5 previously), but when I start a stress test (OCCT and IntelBurn Test) my temps readings are "strange".

Strange how??. Well, OCCT chart reports a "package temp" of 66,05°C before I stop the tests, and AMD OVerDrive says my core temps went to 76°C each.. I could still be going on with the test, but I don't know because the readings.. .. HWMonitor says my "CPU package" hits 66°C as well..

No shutdowns, no freezes, no nothing.. Just stopped by the user.. So, the big question: how can I know my "approximately" CPU temps???.. I know I can get a better speeds with my chip, just can't get a "real" or "almost real" CPU temp to check on it..

I can load into Windows at 4,7 or 4,8, but can't know my CPU temps when stressing it.. BTW, I can't use CoreTemp because it crashes my system. I don't know, maybe a conflict with another software. First time this happens to me..

Seeing this 3 software readings, seems to me that there's a gap between them around 10°C. Most scary thing, AMD OD tells me I'm frying my chip without a safe shutdown or freeze or anything..

Could HWMonitor and OCCT have a "plus" gap to the real value too??.. Seeing I can still going with the test at 66°C (taking that value as real as it could be coming from 2 softwares) without any issues..

Any inputs would be apreciated..

If this isn't the place for this thread, let me know, or the mods could move it too..

Best regards..

 

EDIT: I just "tried" to run another test to see temps (aborted by me), and both OCCT and HWMonitor showed me a single pike of 96°C on package temp.. Really weird.. .. Again, no shutdowns or hardlock or anything..



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506



Edited: 05/19/2013 at 10:56 AM by Mkissner
 06/28/2013 01:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
niccolo83
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/16/2013

I am confused as to what reading I should refer to when determining the CPU temperature. This is a screenshot I took of temps when running Prime95:

Which one is right: CPU 0 under the FX 6300 or the Fintek reading of 65C?  I really want to know because while 54-55C is okay, anything above 61C is not as stated in this thread.

Also, what is Auxiliary and T1/D1+? 

 



-------------------------

Mobo: MSI 970A-G46
CPU: AMD FX 6300 @ stock
RAM: Crucial 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
GPU: Diamond Radeon HD 7790 (7790PE51G)
Power Supply: Seasonic M12 SS-500HM 500W
OS: MS Windows 7 x64

 07/30/2013 11:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Arun Yajaman
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/30/2013

Here is my PC configuration,

CPU: AMD FX 8320 3.5GHz
Motherboard: MSI 970a-g43
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600MHz
GPU: MSI R7770-PMD1GD5 (1GB, AMD Radeon 7770)
Cabinet: Antec X1
Power Supply Unit: Circle 550w
DVD RAM: LG 24x
UPS: Intex 725
Mouse & Keyboard: Dell USB
Monitor: Samsung 18.5" LED (DVI)
Hard Drive: WD Green 1 TB

I got all the above stuff from flipkart and snapdeal in the last week. Since I had knowledge about assembling a computer I was successful in doing it.
When I switched on the power button for the first time, I could see the board setup page where I happened to see the temperature of CPU and board which was increasing gradually from 51c to 78c and 31c to 41c respectively, which does not fall in the ideal range. And the CPU cooler is putting out intesive noise. I switched it off as I did not want to risk myself.
I am not able get rid of it even after restarting. I want to fix this issue and later install OS.
Kindly help me. I am depressed by this as I have spent nearly Rs. 46000 to build it up.
Thank You.

 07/31/2013 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hrothgar
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 03/19/2012

Arun Yajaman, did you apply thermal compound to the CPU before installing it? Is the cooler assembly tightly affixed to the motherboard? Try unseating it, cleaning off the thermal compound (if any), applying a rice-grain-sized dot of thermal compound to the CPU, and reinstalling the cooling assembly. I hope this helps.



-------------------------

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE Deneb 3.5GHz CPU
ASUS M5A88-V EVO Mother Board
2 X 2GB CORSAIR XMS3 DDR3 1600 RAM
XFX AMD RADEON HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 GPU
Dell D1626HT Trinitron 21" CRT Monitor
Seagate Barracuda 160GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
ASUS DRW-24B1ST SATA DVD-R/RW
Corsair GS500 Gaming Series 500w PSU
CoolerMaster HAF 912 Case

 08/22/2013 07:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ruckerduck
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/21/2013

Canis-X:    Perhaps you would know about this -When I originally bought the ASROCK 990FX Extreme4 motherboard last year from Newegg I also bought memory I thought was compatible ... I installed everything with an AMD 965 processor with Cooler Master Hyper 212 cooler and everything worked well.  When I changed the processor 2 weeks ago to an AMD 8350, the computer worked well for 1 week.  There has never been a temperature problem - the temp is usually about 38-40C, and  max temperature I have observed when playing BIOSHOCK 1 was about 51C.   I had BIOSHOCK 1 on the computer last Sunday and walked away from the computer for 2 hours,  When I returned the computer had restarted and the display was showing BSOD.  When I restarted the computer it would start up correctly for about 2 minutes and the display would show the opening screen of Windows7, then BSOD.  I tried this several times with the same result.  I removed the AMD 8350 and reinstalled the AMD 965 processor, and now it works.   Is this a problem with the memory, the 8350 CPU, or the 990 Motherboard?  When I use CPUZ to find out what kind of memory I have without tearing the computer apart, it tells me I have 4 pieces of KHX1600C9D3/4GX which does not appear on the ASROCK list of approved memory :  when I go to the purchase records to find out what kind of memory I have, it gives KHX1600C9D3K2/8GX, 2 each which is 4 sticks of 4GB RAM on the ASROCK mem approval list.  Does this describe a bad CPU with the 8350?
Statistics
84310 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.