Topic Title: CPU Temp reading
Topic Summary: comin' from the STICKY
Created On: 08/30/2012 10:17 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/30/2012 10:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Hi guys, and girls..

Reading the STICKY about CPU Temps reading, I now have some doubts.

I read all the posts followed from the link here:

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=446&threadid=160921

that is where the STICKY stands for, and placed the statement from AMD about the "correct" way to read the CPU Temps.

Now, it states this:

"Concerning your question regarding the temperatures with your processor. (1090) the maximum temperature threshold is 62 Celsius which set for the internal die (core) temperature of the chip. The core temperatures have an equational offset to determine temperature which equalizes at about 45 Celsius thus giving you more accurate readings at peak temperatures. The hindrance in this is the sub ambient idle temperature readings you speak of.
 The silicon and adhesives used in manufacturing these processors has a peak temperature rating of 97+ Celsius before any form of degradation will take place. The processor also has a thermal shut off safe guard in place that shuts the processor down at 90 Celsius.
The Cpu temperature is read form a sensor embedded within the socket of your motherboard causing about a 7-10 Celsius variance form the actual Cpu temperature, which may be what you are reading about on the net.
 I hope I was able to answer your questions, If you have any more inquiries don't hesitate to contact us."
 ...

Well, as some here knows, I live in the Caribbean, so my ambient temps can be as high as 35ºC any given day of the year, and with my 955 OCed and playing hours, Core Temp (the software) says that my highest temp are 61-62ºC at some point, not constantly.

The point is: since appears to be a difference between the actual CPU temp and the cores temp, which software gives the more accurated read of it?. Are those 60ish degrees real, or it's less than that??..

Which read must be considered as the one to take in count?. CPU temp, or core temp?. Or they're the same, and I'm confused?.

And this:

 "As long as your core temperature has not exceeded the high side of the 60 degree mark for extended periods of time you should be ok. 62 degrees holds a generous safety net to begin with."

This means that the CPU temp could be even more than those 62ºC without suffering a shutdown, or any other catastrofic side effect??.. Because a few days back, one of my fan from the H80 decided to stop working while I was playing, and when I finished my session, CoreTemp showed that the max temp were 65ºC.. .. And no shutdown at all..

Since the CPU and Game forums are combined now, please, if any of the gurus can bring some light to my mind, would be very much apreciated. Maybe I have no idea about what just wrote, but any input would be nice..

Best regards..



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 08/30/2012 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Hello!

So, core temp vs. CPU temp....

In your case, 955 BE, you should see 4 core temp readings, this is what you want to pay attention to and AMD of coarse recommends that you download and use the AMD OverDrive (AOD) application to monitor your CPU's core temperatures.

The CPU temp reading is provided from a sensor located in the motherboard's CPU socket, this value is a calculated value and as such, is not accurate.  This is why Alex Cromwell states that there can be a 7-10 Celsius variance from the actual CPU core temperatures.  Personally, since the CPU temp reading is a calculated value, I wouldn't trust it at all simply because it is a calculated value and it can be different in every motherboard that you place that CPU in.

Clear as mud? 



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 08/30/2012 11:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Thanx for the input, Canis..

So, if I use CoreTemp (the software) to check my temps, those numbers are accurate?.

 

Best regards..

 



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 08/30/2012 11:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11571
Joined: 04/17/2008

Aye, the individual core temps are the accurate ones

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/30/2012 12:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Mkissner Thanx for the input, Canis..

So, if I use CoreTemp (the software) to check my temps, those numbers are accurate?.

Best regards..

I haven't used CoreTemp specifically before, so I can't really speak from my own exprience but I have used HWMonitor and AOD and they work well. 

EDIT:

I see you have an ASUS motherboard, ASUS has an application called PC Probe that works pretty good as well (if memory servers me correctly).



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 08/30/2012 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Thanx both of you for your answers..

I'll give it a try to that PC Probe utility.. Yes, I know it exist, just I'm not a huge fan on installing every utility a motherboard has on it.. Not all of them are as usefull as it should be..

But at the second I have some results, I'll let you know..

 

Best regards..

 



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / 7950 @ 1100-6000 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 02/13/2013 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hrothgar
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 03/19/2012

Is the AOD you reference a separate application, or is it the one bundled with the Catalyst Control Center? I checked there, and I can only view the temps for my video card. How do I use AOD to monitor Core temps?



-------------------------

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE Deneb 3.5GHz CPU
ASUS M5A88-V EVO Mother Board
2 X 2GB CORSAIR XMS3 DDR3 1600 RAM
XFX AMD RADEON HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 GPU
Dell D1626HT Trinitron 21" CRT Monitor
Seagate Barracuda 160GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
ASUS DRW-24B1ST SATA DVD-R/RW
Corsair GS500 Gaming Series 500w PSU
CoolerMaster HAF 912 Case

 02/14/2013 09:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dementor
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/29/2008

AOD = AMD OverDrive™

Read and download here  http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/amd-overdrive/Pages/overview.aspx



-------------------------

ASRock 970 EXTREME3 / AMD FX-8320 @ 4.4 / G.SKILL Sniper 8GB / XFX HD 6950

 02/18/2013 11:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hrothgar
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 03/19/2012

Thank you, Dementor. I'm now using AMD OverDrive. I found it's slightly more accurate than SpeedFan: the former shows exact temps while the latter rounds up to the nearest whole number.

Edit:

I noticed the Boost Button in AMD Overdrive had a red outline - meaning High Performance - by default, so I clicked the button which reduced my Core temps by ~10°C. I wonder why it was selected by default, and why my Core temps were ~10°C higher before installing AMD Overdrive and clicking the Boost Button.

Another issue I noticed in AMD Overdrive is it shows my DRAM Voltage at 1.875v when it's set to 1.65v in BIOS setup.



-------------------------

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE Deneb 3.5GHz CPU
ASUS M5A88-V EVO Mother Board
2 X 2GB CORSAIR XMS3 DDR3 1600 RAM
XFX AMD RADEON HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 GPU
Dell D1626HT Trinitron 21" CRT Monitor
Seagate Barracuda 160GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
ASUS DRW-24B1ST SATA DVD-R/RW
Corsair GS500 Gaming Series 500w PSU
CoolerMaster HAF 912 Case



Edited: 02/25/2013 at 06:47 PM by Hrothgar
Statistics
80921 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.