Topic Title: amd fx 4170 black edition 4.2ghz
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/31/2012 01:27 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/31/2012 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
demongorgan
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 08/31/2012

to start things off, i had a problem playing the new transformers game, so i contcated gigabyte and they told me to update to the new bios version, which is FDa. and i did, and the game works.

issue:

my cpu that got shipped was a amd fx 4170 black edition that ran at 4.2ghz stock. cpuz even told me this is what i have as did windows, and amd controll 12.8

however after the bios update my cpu is now at 2.82ghz..

cpuz is also saying it is now a AMD fx-4170 quadcore processor (wheres the black edition gone?) and showing 2.8ghz

AMD vison engine controll centre dosnt even show my cpu anymore.

and windows is showing it as a 2.82ghz

 

what the hell has happened here? i need help to fix this please



-------------------------
 08/31/2012 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

Erm, turn off any power saving settings in Windows to stop it throttling down at idle .. turn off all Cool&Quiet / Throttling etc options in BIOS .. That's what's happening AFAICS.

Would also help to know what components etc we're dealing with, as per the STICKY thread ..



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 08/31/2012 02:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
demongorgan
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 08/31/2012

sorry didnt mean to miss it out, i been trying to work this out for about 23 hours straight and my brains a little fried from info overload.

Windows 7 home premium 64bit

gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2P rev 4.0 motherboard with bios update FDa

AMD FX-4170 quadcore 4.3ghz black edition prosessor

ATI Radeon 6570 gfx card with catalist vision controll centre updated to 12.8

gigabyte realtec sound updated to newist

260g chipset on north bridge (although cpu-z saying it a 780g?)



-------------------------
 08/31/2012 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

BIOS Screen -> Advanced BIOS Options -> AMD C1E Support ( Disable ) / AMD K8 Cool&Quiet Control ( Disable ) / Away Mode ( Disable )

Windows Power Settings -> Performance, no power saving settings activated.

That should run the CPU @ 4.2Ghz all the time. . Let us know how you get on ..



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 08/31/2012 03:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
demongorgan
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 08/31/2012

did the bios things you told me to do, dont get what you mean by no power options though?

at the moment it is set to high preformance with no sleep mode, there is no option to not select a power mode.

also the processor is still 2.83ghz



-------------------------
 08/31/2012 06:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12651
Joined: 04/17/2008

Your motherboard is that link, and its CPU Support List does not list the 4170 as supported, only 4100 and 4150, as well as FC being the latest BIOS, being released on 2011/12/19. As far as I can tell, by doing a simple search, FDa is the alpha (as in most likely unstable and likely to cause undesired operation) version of a canceled update to that board. My suggestion would be to upgrade the board itself, or try BIOS version FC.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/31/2012 07:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
demongorgan
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 08/31/2012

i udated to FC yesterday but still had the issues, thats when, this morining i was directed towards FDa and it fixed the problem, well fixed one problem and then gave me a new one



-------------------------
 08/31/2012 07:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12651
Joined: 04/17/2008

Then you have a couple of choices if you want to keep that cheapo matx board, let the programmers fix the game, or suffer with a slow processor.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/31/2012 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
demongorgan
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 08/31/2012

good point, so will reverting to a previuse bios (prob go back to FB) will it sort out my prosessor problem?



-------------------------
 08/31/2012 09:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12651
Joined: 04/17/2008

Possibly, like I said it's not officially supported on that board, so if it was working fully before it was most likely detected as an unknown processor and not working correctly anyway. You need to look at upgrading the board for a real solution. Even looking at the latest revision of that board, v5, it's not even in the support lists. The good news is this gives you an excuse to upgrade to a true Socket AM3+ board, not just a Socket AM3 board with partial AM3+ support. Since you're not a heavy gamer, look for a board with a 970 series chipset.

It's like my board, it was (near) top of the line when it was released, but like most boards designed to be Socket AM3 and not outright AM3+, I can't drop in many Bulldozer chips either.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/01/2012 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
demongorgan
n00b

Posts: 6
Joined: 08/31/2012

reverted back to fb, but now my computer showing on 2 processors at 2.83ghz.. so in the course of one day my pc had gone from being able to play crysis2 in ultra down to a bloody slug with 2 cores... my old pc runs faster than this now.



-------------------------
 09/01/2012 05:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3509
Joined: 03/01/2009

What BZ Said.. Hardware incompatability at this point. I'd upgrade the board if I were you. Or return the CPU and get my money back and get the last support 41XX CPU that is officially supported. Not one they say "should" work. But actually does.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

Statistics
86396 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.