Topic Title: FX-8150 & Computer Freezing
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/20/2012 01:34 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/20/2012 01:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TehPole
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/20/2012

Hi Everyone, new to the board with a very persistent and annoying issue. Let's get the background stuff out of the way first:

Graphics Card
Radeon HD7870 2GB GDDR5 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102983

Driver Version: 8.982.0.0

Operating System
Windows 7 64bit

Motherboard or System Make & Model
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev. 1.1
http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3996&dl=1#ov

Power Supply

OCZ700MXSP
http://www.ocztechnology.com/ocz-500w-700w-modxstream-pro-power-supply.html

CPU Details

AMD FX 8150 http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/processors/amdfx/Pages/amdfx-model-number-comparison.aspx

Motherboard BIOS Version
Bios F8

System Memory Type & Amount
Corsair Vengence 8GB [2x4gb]

CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9B http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233170

Additional Hardware

HD: Kingston HyperX SH100S3B 120GB SSD http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820139601

Case: Antec DF-85 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129087


Additional Details

Did a clean Windows 7 install recently. Problem persists.

Ran Memtest86. Did not see any problems.

System Temp: 34C

CPU Temp: 48C

After the clean install Windows updates were turned off. Windows Driver updated was turned off. All drivers were then updates from each site representing product.

I keep getting this error in Event Viewer System Log:

Event 19, WHEA-Logger

A corrected hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Corrected Machine Check
Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error
Processor ID: 6

This also happens for Processor ID: 7

 

Which is how I ended up here. My computer keeps freezing at random times. I do not get any blue screen or black screen or anything. It will just freeze completely. Alt+Ctrl+Del does not work. I then have to do a hard reboot.

The computer was built in May and was working great for a long time. Then it suddenly started having this issue.

I tried updating everything, windows, drivers, bios. After the clean install I didn't update anything. Rules out many possible issues. Quite honestly I'm not sure what's wrong with it anymore.

It even froze within about 2 hours of the new install when I only managed to install about 4 programs thinking the problem was solved [Firefox, Chrome, Steam, Diablo 3, AVG, Microsoft Silverlight (in this order)]

Any help is sooo appreciated -.-

 09/23/2012 05:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markjohnson
Grinding Levels

Posts: 191
Joined: 04/12/2008

In my experience, random errors/crashes usually occur from memory compatibility.

Try setting your memory timings and voltage manually.

9-10-9-27 1.5v at 1866 Mhz Maybe even try 1.55v

Luck
-=Mark=-


-------------------------
GigaByte GA-970A-UD3 | AMD FX-8120 | 16GB (4 x 4GB) G. Skill DDR3-1333 C7 | MSI 7750 OC | 1TB Seagate 7200.11 | Dual boot Windows 7 Ult x64/Ubuntu 10.10 x64
 09/24/2012 07:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Calgar
Nerfed

Posts: 63
Joined: 04/25/2010

I had the same problem once, I installed an SSD and my system acted the same way. 

In your case though I can think two possible problems. The first is your GPU driver, I suppose you are using the driver that came with the GPU. Try installing the latest driver from AMD's site. Second I think it a loose part in your system, you could try and resiting every thing...

 



-------------------------

Thermaltake Level 10GT-ToughPower 1500W-Frio Extreme/Asus Sabertooth 990FX/AMD FX 8150/Asus HD 6990/Kingston Hyper X Predator KHX18C9T2K4/16X /WD VelociRaptor 250GB(Main),x2 320GB(Raid BackUp)Caviar Black,2Tb Caviar Black x2/Creative SB XFi 3D Pro/LG Blu-Ray x2/Windows 7 64bit/Samsung T27A950 x3/Samsung HT-D6750W/Logitech G19,G9x,G13.

 09/24/2012 08:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4006
Joined: 01/27/2008

There's a couple patches to Win7 for the FX chips. Did you install them?
Optionally partition off 40gig and install Win8, see if it does the same.

-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

Statistics
84643 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.