Topic Title: Trinity APU/motherboard/Graphics Card Crossfire optimisation
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/01/2012 01:11 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/01/2012 01:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
amdmike
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/01/2012

I want to build a HTPC using the new Trinity processor but would like to stay with the Micro-ATX form factor. In order to maximise graphics capability I want to add the best suited graphics card. Ideally I want to use the A10-5800K APU with an GA-F2A75M-D3H board and HD6670 graphics card with crossfire. Is that the best combo? Or do I have to go to full sized ATX GA-F2A85X-UP4 to do this? Is using the A10-5700 APU an option in order to reduce heat output.



Edited: 10/01/2012 at 06:11 PM by amdmike
 10/01/2012 09:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Are you planning to game on your HTPC also?

I ask only because the integrated graphics in trinity should be capable of handling HTPC duty on its own.  If you're going to doing more than that though, then yeah... you could toss another GPU in there.

I've never personally been a fan of the whole hybrid crossfire thing(it ranks high on my bogometer), but that's just me.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 10/01/2012 09:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12908
Joined: 04/17/2008

Plus if you look at the reviews of Trinity the higher end chips are no graphics slouch, not Crysis 1920x1080 Ultra capable of course but easily capable for casual games. Dual Graphics has come a long way BUT it still has issues such as zero to negative scaling in some games, as well as carrying with it the caveats of Crossfire such as microstuttering, so outside the laptop form factor a HD 6770 or other small single slot card would be better than a dual graphics setup, but if you aren't going to really game on it, I'm with Mime.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/01/2012 11:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
amdmike
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/01/2012

Hi Mime/Black-Zion, Many thanks for your rapid response. No gaming, mainly movies. My current HTPC is 4850E on a GA-MA78GPM-DS2H mobo and has performed well. I do though get some action jerkiness with Bluray. Also it is a pain to boot up so am adding an SSD. It has also become my house NAS. We live near the ocean so the case and other parts are starting to rust. Then thought why not do a refresh after 4+years. So no additonal GPU will now be added, thanks for that. I thought the config I would end up with is: APU A10-5700 (less heat), Mobo GA-F2A85XM-D3H, RAM  8GB DDRIII 1866Mhz (2 x 4GB), HDD 2 x 2TB drives, dual tuner card and 128GB SSD. The case is a bit of a challenge as I want to stay micro-ATX and fit into living room furniture. Looking at Silverstone GD06. I know am probably going way off topic but why not try and get advice where I can? Thoughts?

 10/02/2012 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

I think you'll like having an SSD.  Compared to a mechanical drive those little buggers are pretty awesome.

Combining a NAS and an HTPC can work out well.  I was just wondering if I should do that myself.  If corrosion is a problem, then you might want to look at getting an aluminum case.  Generally there's not much difference between steel and aluminum in cases, but since aluminum doesn't rust it might be worth it if you're going to keep the case for a while.  Galvanic corrosion can still happen, but I wouldn't expect that to be a big deal.

Silverstone makes good cases.  The Grandia's are a little big if you're looking for something unobtrusive for the living room, but I guess that depends on where you put it also.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 10/02/2012 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 720
Joined: 08/28/2012

SSD's are fantastic!  I love mine and am in the market to get another...LOL....maybe after the holidays...   Don't need the wife getting mad at me...hahaha



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 10/02/2012 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12908
Joined: 04/17/2008

Agreed on the SSD as well, they do make laptops fly and are excellent in place of so called "Green" drives as well. Plus they are considerably cheaper than even I thought, I just bought a 128gb OCZ Agility 4 for my laptop (since I moved the 100GB OCZ VertexLE over to my desktop when I graduated) for $84, and plan on, when they go on ***** (which they always are somewhere sometime) getting a pair of 256GB OCZ SSDs for this desktop as well and go completely SSD, only use mechanical for external backups.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/02/2012 05:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

That's the way it is here.  The only mechnical storage I have are in the NAS, the other machines run off SSDs.  Wheeeeeee.  



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 10/02/2012 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12908
Joined: 04/17/2008

And as a bonus you get a nice warm footrest from your NAS

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/02/2012 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
amdmike
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/01/2012

Thanks for all your advice gents. I now only have to wait for the MBO and APU to become available herre in Australia.

 10/02/2012 09:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12908
Joined: 04/17/2008

If you're handy you could get some Plexiglass (or Perspex, same thing different name) and silicone and make your own case out of that, won't rust and is more durable than aluminum

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/02/2012 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
amdmike
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/01/2012

Good thought Black-Zion. I think I wil stick to a ready made version. There is a lot more to a case than making a box (eg airflow, component relationship,etc. I will therefore leave that design aspect to the experts.

One further question. I cannot find the list of Supported RAM for the new FM2 mobo's on the the Gigabyte website. Is anyone able to recommend a particular model number for say e.g. G-Skill RipjawZ. It needs to be 2 x 4GB, 1866Mhz, 1.5V AND FM2 and new mobo certified. .....or point me to a Gigabyte websitelink.

 10/02/2012 11:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12908
Joined: 04/17/2008

As long as you don't use ValueRAM or cheap crap like that, or a DFI motherboard, you shouldn't have a RAM problem. Personally I prefer OCZ but they switched to SSDs only, so I would say Crucial or Corsair

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/05/2012 09:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dr_Deathscythe
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/05/2012

I have a question related.

What are the compatible GPU for the A-10 APU?

HD6670 and HD6570 only?

Statistics
87583 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.