Topic Title: Phenom II x4 965BE OVERHEATING ALOT
Topic Summary: Phenom II x4 965BE
Created On: 10/03/2012 12:06 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/03/2012 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Athornez
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/03/2012

So yesterday I bought a Phenom 965BE, installed it, and the first thing I noticed that the CPU is running quite hot 52-55C Idle @ 4000-5000RPM's and it reaches like 66C while playing Battlefield 3 and other games. I heard that the maximum temperature for this CPU is 62C, so either there is something wrong with the cooler or the cpu itself. I tried reseating the heatsing, changing thermal paste - no change at all. Any suggestions?

BTW my old athlon ii x2 250 was running just fine, in the same case, same room. I think that cpu never exceeded 52C on full load, and I can hardly make the phenom idle at those temps.

System:
GA 870A-UD3 (rev2.1)

Phenom II x4 965BE (stock heatsing, stock clocks)

SAPPHIRE HD6850 2GB (stock)

2x2 Kingston RAM

Seasonic 520W

Thank you. 

 

 10/03/2012 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
L4d
Recompile The World

Posts: 2612
Joined: 11/13/2008

Is that a C3 revision C.P.U.?

How is your case's cooling?

Was that the reading of your C.P.U.'s cores?



-------------------------

Lad


I play with sand.

 10/03/2012 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Athornez
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/03/2012

Rev. RB-C3

I have NONE case cooling, but as I said my old cpu hardly exceeded 51-53C~

Core's temperature is always 1 or 2 degrees of the cpu's temp overall.

 10/03/2012 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Have you had a chance to read the thread linked below?

**STICKY** | Correct information on how to read your CPU temps
Straight from Alex Cromwell, Senior Technology Director, Advanced Micro Devices



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 10/03/2012 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Athornez
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/03/2012

What AMD Overdrive shows is exactly what I see from my desktop Gadget and EasyTune6.

 10/03/2012 12:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
L4d
Recompile The World

Posts: 2612
Joined: 11/13/2008

My suggestion is, you should replace your C.P.U.'s stock cooler and/or paste and/or add case fans.



-------------------------

Lad


I play with sand.

 10/03/2012 12:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Button Masher

Posts: 247
Joined: 10/14/2011

I had the same cpu in a previous build and it idled at high temps as well.

The stock cooler is very noisy and does not cool very well and should be replaced.

I installed an Arctic Cooling cooler and temps fell 8/10 degrees.

Try an aftermarket cooler. You will be happy.



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 


 


 


 

 10/04/2012 08:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Cookie Monster

Posts: 484
Joined: 05/02/2010

i was very happy with mine in a good high air flow case with the stock cooler, it was never noisy. i put on a better cooler when i cranked up the clocks.

i think you need a better case would be my first guess.

but just to be sure what voltage is being applied to the processor? i think 1.32 is stock for it.



-------------------------

 motherboard gigabyte: ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios F8h , amd 965 cpu at 4.0 , sileneX efz-120ha4 cooler, 8 gig patriot pgs34g1600llka memory, xfx 750w power supply, xfx 6970 graphics card, 3-22"1080p monitors , coolermaster HAF 922case, windows 7-64

 10/05/2012 04:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Damric
Cookie Monster

Posts: 454
Joined: 05/18/2008

1) Remove CPU cooler.
2) Clean old thermal grease.
3) Correctly install new thermal grease.
4) Correctly install CPU cooler.

-------------------------
If your aunt had balls, she'd be your uncle.
 10/05/2012 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
L4d
Recompile The World

Posts: 2612
Joined: 11/13/2008

I recommend coffee filters and high percentage alcohol to wipe away the old thermal compound, and a dot of thermal compound on the middle of the C.P.U. might suffice.



-------------------------

Lad


I play with sand.

 10/05/2012 06:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11615
Joined: 04/17/2008

There's also Arctic ArtiClean. After using 91% alcohol and elbow grease for years, but when I put this H60 in yesterday I used some of that. Amazing stuff, few drops on, wipe away, few drops of step two, wipe away. As for the TIM, depending on which kind you use you will use it different ways. AS5 or other more fluid TIMs will require less than Diamond based TIMs which don't really spread.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
81140 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.