Topic Title: AMD FX 1820 bad Temp Sensor, overheat or ..?
Topic Summary: Too high temps on Game mode
Created On: 10/18/2012 02:40 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/18/2012 02:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theknight007
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/18/2012

700 Watts Cooler Master Silent Pro

Asus Crosshair V Formula MB

4GB DDR3 1333 XPG Gaming V2 

FX 8120 3.1Gh with Stock Sink and Fan

Case with 6 fan 2 out air  4 in air

Programs Used  Core Temp, HWInfo64, AI asus program, Bios Temp

 

Ok I allready checked the MB with an X6 phenom II Prossor and temps are ok, or just in the base line, but with the FX 8120 BE 3.1Gh the sensors are diferent.

1.- All system at Stock mode, never OC or even changed base settings on mother soft or Bios, I buyed the Prossesor last week.

2.- The Core Temp shows me IDLE Mode 23°C in AMD 10th+ CPU Thermal Sensor.
3.- The FULL CPU IDLE  mode shows 41°C at the  ITE IT8721F Sensor

4.- by searching internet the AMD FX8120 Max Temp supported is 60°C and almost all programs shows me the ITEIT8721F temp. rates as the principal temp sensor.

5.- but the cores i mean, The CPU#0,1,2,3....,8 shows the AMD 10th +CPU Thermal sensor temp. rates. = 23°C

6.-When I play BF3, Sleep. Dogs, or any other Game in normal mode my temp. rises to 63°C  ITE IT8721F Sensor and all programs shows the alert but my Core Sensor "AMD 10th+ CPU Thermal Sensor" shows 52°C, with the X6 Phenom Prossesor the max temp was 45°.

 

All this in Stock Mode with the Prossesor default Fan.

 

1 .- So, wich is the real Temperature, I Know all this sensors are not exact but are them ok? or I should return the FX8120 to my dealer and apply for Warranty? I am from Mexico so maybe terms are different. 

2.- I know i should try to buy another cooling System but searching at some forums, some guys said the wrong temps are a bad FX sensor manufacture and are wrong, some ones are displaying too low temps and other to high temps.

3.- it is suposed that core temp and socket temp should ll been the same with a minimal dif. but the same. and mine are not.

4.- I ask again is this normal? are the sensors wrong, I should return the Processor? or I can keep it but change my cooling system (I'll buy the H80 is this a good choise?) 

5.- if the sensor neither the cooling system were the problem what could be?

 

Thanks and sorry my English, It is not my native languaje.

 

Some HWinfo Caps

 



Edited: 10/18/2012 at 02:52 AM by theknight007
 10/18/2012 08:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12209
Joined: 04/17/2008

**STICKY** | Correct information on how to read your CPU temps

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/18/2012 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theknight007
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/18/2012

Thanks Black_Zion, this info is really excelent so.. then. mm the real temperature of my Processor is .. AMD 10th+ CPU Thermal Sensor. with 24°C/33°C  IDLE mode.  but I still've an over heat in my socket i think mm in the back side of my mother... mmm  ok then  I need to get a corsair h60++ cooling. Thanks, I tought my UPS or the mother or the pro. were the problem but no.

Statistics
84179 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.