Topic Title: Piledriver desktop chips are out and so are the reviews...
Topic Summary: ...But what is your take?
Created On: 10/23/2012 08:46 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/02/2012 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Cookie Monster

Posts: 484
Joined: 05/02/2010

thats new. before the  ht could not surpass the nb.  is that due to the cpu or the 990fx chip set?



-------------------------

 motherboard gigabyte: ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios F8h , amd 965 cpu at 4.0 , sileneX efz-120ha4 cooler, 8 gig patriot pgs34g1600llka memory, xfx 750w power supply, xfx 6970 graphics card, 3-22"1080p monitors , coolermaster HAF 922case, windows 7-64

 11/02/2012 11:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Buffed

Posts: 76
Joined: 09/03/2012

I have not done any testing myself, just going by what others are saying in another forum. Some are saying they are getting better results with a higher HT then a higher NB, I do believe some are using the 990fx chipset. I am just lurking in that forum, can't find many active forums just for Vishera.

-------------------------

AMD 8350FX 4.5ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//Corsair Force GT 90GB OS+240GB games ssd //WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Windows 8.1 x64

 11/03/2012 01:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12233
Joined: 04/17/2008

Not sure why it would have that effect, the NB speed decreases RAM access time, and the HT isn't able to be saturated as it is. Except in server applications where you have inter-processor memory sharing and all that jazz that is.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/03/2012 02:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Buffed

Posts: 76
Joined: 09/03/2012

cpuz does not show the HT Link anymore, It looks like they show it as Rated FSB   I am not totally sure myself  about what the others have said.

-------------------------

AMD 8350FX 4.5ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//Corsair Force GT 90GB OS+240GB games ssd //WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Windows 8.1 x64

 11/03/2012 10:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Cookie Monster

Posts: 484
Joined: 05/02/2010

it looks like the ht link is default at 2600 on the fx chip now. i did not see the restirction about it being lower than the cpu/nb anymore

http://sites.amd.com/us/Documents/AMD_FX_Performance_Tuning_Guide.pdf

 

here is excerpt from the dragon platform guide

HT Link Multiplier:

 

This multiplier determines the clock speed of the HT Link. In the case of the AMD Phenom

II X4 955BE CPU, the default value is x10 (10x200MHz = 2000MHz). In most cases a reboot is required for HT

Link Multiplier value adjustment. The maximum value of HT Link Multiplier is x13 and it can not exceed the CPU/NB Multiplier value. Also note that the HT Link multiplier is unlocked only on the Black Edition CPUs models.

it just caught my i when i saw it.

here is the thread Darmic started

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=161031&enterthread=y

have fun with your new chip

 

 

 

 



-------------------------

 motherboard gigabyte: ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios F8h , amd 965 cpu at 4.0 , sileneX efz-120ha4 cooler, 8 gig patriot pgs34g1600llka memory, xfx 750w power supply, xfx 6970 graphics card, 3-22"1080p monitors , coolermaster HAF 922case, windows 7-64



Edited: 11/04/2012 at 09:39 AM by k-9
 11/03/2012 12:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Buffed

Posts: 76
Joined: 09/03/2012

Well from what I have read and my gut feeling I am going to run the HT link at 2600 and NB at 2600 at this time. I will mess around more later.  The one link leads to a server error, at least it does right now, and the other link is good reading.

-------------------------

AMD 8350FX 4.5ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//Corsair Force GT 90GB OS+240GB games ssd //WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Windows 8.1 x64

 11/03/2012 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12233
Joined: 04/17/2008

Yea...that guy who makes CPUz should never be allowed to program anything ever again if he things FSB's still exist

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/17/2012 12:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ed6698
Buffed

Posts: 76
Joined: 09/03/2012

A little update, I have finally got this cpu stable enough for me. I ran over 21 hours of Prime95 and 8.5+ on OCCT. Could not get stable enough until the most recent bios the other day, plus the use of a little more LLC. I have never had a bsod or any lockups, just kept getting failures of the stress testing programs. Games run great. I have been eyeing up some new video cards some 680's, the only reason is the newer cards are better on the voltages compared to my 480's.  Here are my voltages I have for 4.5ghz being stable.CPU Manual Voltage 1.3562 CPU/NB Manual Voltage 1.1437 CPU VDDA 2.5 DRAM 1.510 NB Voltage 1.1187 NB HT Voltage 1.2125

-------------------------

AMD 8350FX 4.5ghz//Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2//Zalman 9900Max//4x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866//Corsair Force GT 90GB OS+240GB games ssd //WD 250gb Scorpio Black//PNY GTX680 sli//HP w2408h//Corsair hx1000//Antec 1200//Windows 8.1 x64

 11/20/2012 11:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skline00
Nerfed

Posts: 52
Joined: 09/11/2007

I've had my FX 8350 for about 10 days and really like it. Toyed around with a ton of settings and presently have it running rock solid at 4.64Ghz (23 x202).

Runs somewhat faster than the 8150 it replaced and uses less power. Is it as power effiecient as a 3770k? No.  Do I think it's a good chip? Yes. I have 2 2500k rigs OC'd to 4.53 Ghz each and the PileDriver stays up with them in games and surpasses them in heavy threaded apps.



-------------------------

Asus Sabertooth FX990 R1 | FX 8350 @ 4.64Ghz with Corsair H100 p/p| EVGA GTX670 FTW | HAF 912 | 8g Gskill DDR3 1600 |Intel X25M-80 (OS); WD Blk Sata III 500g | Hanns HZ 281 | Win 8 Pro

Statistics
84247 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.