Topic Title: CORES temp : 255° C
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/27/2012 02:56 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/27/2012 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
exileLyk
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/27/2012

Hello,

 

 

I have seen similar topics about this bug/problem but I don't know if it's motherboard's or processor's fault.

 

So, my specs : AMD FX-8120, MSI 990FXA-GD65, 8Gb DDR3

 

When I bought the motherboard, I put the latest BIOS version (19.8) and I experienced these temps only when I had unplugged the PSU cable before starting up the computer.

 

With the most recent BIOS (19.9), everytime I turn on the computer (2 hours from the last switch off) I see these temps :

 

 

Notice that 255° C is min/max CORE temp, CPU/MB temps are normal.

 

If I stess the system (100% CPU activity) it won' t go over 1400MHz :

 

 

And of course the stress program fails with these CORE temps :

 

 

After I simply restart the computer, all go back to normal, it idles and stresses without problems and temps are fine.

 

So, 255° C CORE temp everytime system boots (with BIOS 19.9), CPU can't go over minimum frequency but CPU/MB temps are fine. And after a restart all go back to normal.

 

Is it CPU or Motherboard?

 

If it's processor's fail can I ask for replacement?

 

Thank you for your time,

 

Lykourgos

 

 

PS : I have posted the exact same thread here --> http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=162839.0 (maybe their answers help you)

 10/27/2012 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nichtswisser
Grinding Levels

Posts: 114
Joined: 04/09/2011

Either the tool has some issues or there is something wrong with the temp sensor the tool is taking the data from, because the CPU would have melted down long bevore reaching 255°C. Silicon starts loosing it's consitency @ around 125°C.

 



-------------------------

 i5 2500k @ 4,2 GHz ][ ASUS P8P67 Pro ][ HD 5850 ][ 8GB Ram GEIL ][ ASUS Xonar DX


 10/28/2012 04:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
exileLyk
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/27/2012

Hello,


Of course that temp isn' t real! The problem is when it shows that temps, the CPU throttles down to 1400MHz and can't go higher.


So I have to restart the computer after every startup to get back to normal. It's sensor's fault, but don't know if it's motherboard's or processor's! CPU temp (sensor from motherboard) is ok all the time.. Core temp is the problem!

 10/28/2012 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nichtswisser
Grinding Levels

Posts: 114
Joined: 04/09/2011

Bios is up to date? Updating it is probably worth a try and pretty much the only thing I can think of which might help.



-------------------------

 i5 2500k @ 4,2 GHz ][ ASUS P8P67 Pro ][ HD 5850 ][ 8GB Ram GEIL ][ ASUS Xonar DX


 10/28/2012 10:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Reading your link to the MSI forum, you said that you could get a CPU replacement..

If I were you, I would do it..

Seems to be a defective sensor. If you still have warranty, then use it.

 

Best regards..



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / CF-X 7970 + 7950 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 10/28/2012 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
exileLyk
n00b

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/27/2012

Originally posted by: Nichtswisser Bios is up to date? Updating it is probably worth a try and pretty much the only thing I can think of which might help.

 

Have tried 3 different BIOS versions. I flashed an older one to see if there is any difference!

 

Originally posted by: Mkissner Reading your link to the MSI forum, you said that you could get a CPU replacement..

If I were you, I would do it..

Seems to be a defective sensor. If you still have warranty, then use it.

Best regards..

 

Actually I asked the forum IF I can ask for replacement for such an issue, didn't say that I can! ; )

 

I thought that here you should know better, that's why I created the thread..

 

I still have warranty!

Statistics
86495 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.