Topic Title: Very slow loading with the AMD FX-8350 CPU
Topic Summary: Im experiencing very slow load times in any os
Created On: 11/20/2012 08:30 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/20/2012 08:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ausgrey
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 01/14/2009

Hi there i just put together a new rig with an AMD FX-8350 CPU and it has really really slow application load times for example my programs i loaded up on startup loaded all within 2mins on my I7 860 like steam, msn avast antivirus skype zonealarm ect. with this amd CPU it literally takes 15 minutes to load just those apps playing games seems ok but its like the cpu is becoming choked to death im sitting there waiting for the disk thrashing to stop im running this cpu on an Asrock 990fx Extreme 4 with 16gb of Corsair 1600mhz ram and a 2tb 7200rpm western digital with a Antech 900watt gaming psu temps stay around 40-45c and ive tried other os's even windows 8 it seems to me that this is not normal has anyone else had this issue i have all the latest drivers and bios updates for everything in my system all my ram and hard drives have been tested even booted with just one HDD and load times are awful can someone please help im tearing my hair out because i have run out of ideas im tried running AHCI, IDE and even Raid but still so damn slow somebody please i would like to know if anyone has had this problem too i hope i didnt waste my money as this rig im also running 2 Radeon HD6970's in crossfire and this cpu just doesnt cut it by the looks of it

 11/20/2012 09:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skline00
Nerfed

Posts: 52
Joined: 09/11/2007

My FX 8350 running on an Asus Sabertooth FX990 rev1 runs fine and windows 8 pops up. BTW wow that's the longest run on sentence I've ever seen. I know you are upset and I would be also.

May I ask if you installed all of the chipset drivers for your mb? Did you check device manager in windows to see if you are missing any device drivers? Truthfully that's the first time I've ever heard of this problem. What CPU cooler are you using? Have you run just 1 6970 to see if this problem occurs?



-------------------------

Asus Sabertooth FX990 R1 | FX 8350 @ 4.64Ghz with Corsair H100 p/p| EVGA GTX670 FTW | HAF 912 | 8g Gskill DDR3 1600 |Intel X25M-80 (OS); WD Blk Sata III 500g | Hanns HZ 281 | Win 8 Pro

 11/21/2012 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1151
Joined: 01/31/2010

get rid of zonealarm, the windows firewall works fine

that should help a bit

 



-------------------------

 11/22/2012 12:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ausgrey
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 01/14/2009

Hi guys thanks for the reply found out it was a faulty board which was put together perhaps at the factory quite badly as several capacitors were damaged after closer inspection

 11/22/2012 12:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ausgrey
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 01/14/2009

i now have an asus sabertooth 990FX and its great

 11/22/2012 08:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1151
Joined: 01/31/2010

That seems to be a very good board, see lots of users and no gripes

Been considering that model for my rig too

 



-------------------------

Statistics
84237 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.