Topic Title: Phenom II 965 Black Edition
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/20/2012 04:01 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/20/2012 04:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1230
Joined: 01/31/2010

I recently pulled the trigger and ordered the Phenom II 965 Black Edition as I feel that model will give me excellent bang for my $ especially when I found it for 89.99 up here in Canada. After Haper's cut it ended up at $110 which is not bad at all.

I will be using it on my M4A77D with an eye now towards other components.

Over on a chess forum I inquired about performance boost, and it seems that this CPU has a respectable overclocking capacity even with the factory fan.

I think the core is Deneb, but the main motivator is the faster basic core speed compared to X6 processors avaialble.

Is the Deneb core still one of the better CPUs from AMD compared to the current FX offerings?

Also overclocking, can this get up to 4.0 GHZ on air without too much overvolting etc?

 



-------------------------



Edited: 11/20/2012 at 04:23 PM by Vegan
 11/21/2012 05:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
L4d
Recompile The World

Posts: 2612
Joined: 11/13/2008

If your 965 is a C3 revision, you have a chance to reach 4GHz with about 1.4+ voltage, but I recommend a better than stock cooler for 4GHz.

I was under the impression that Vishera has made any of the previous C.P.U.s obsolete, but the newer C.P.U.s cost more than the older ones.



-------------------------

Lad


I play with sand.

 11/21/2012 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4021
Joined: 01/27/2008

Yup, nothing wrong with the C3 965.

Double check which BIOS version your motherboard is using against ASUS's list of compatible CPUs. Your motherboard is somewhat older and would have had BIOS updates to accomodate the Phenom II series. And also check the wattage for the CPU. Seems to me some are 95watt and some 125ish watts and some motherboards can't deal with the higher wattage CPU.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 2x4gig GSkill @1866, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 11/21/2012 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 280
Joined: 09/16/2012

There was no 95w 965 the C2 version was a 140w and the C3 is 125W. but there was a 95W 955 at one time.

 

Vegan; I wouldn't even try to hit 4.0Ghz with the stock cooler, with your mobo your probaly going to have to really crank up the voltage to hit 4.0GHZ.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 11/21/2012 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1230
Joined: 01/31/2010

I never noticed there ever was a 95 W version of the 965, all the ones available by tray or box have been 125 W based on the details presented

I assume Cool & Quiet will keep the 125 W part down to a resonable power level when idle.

 



-------------------------

 11/22/2012 09:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4021
Joined: 01/27/2008

Thanks Slayer, I'm glad someone remembers this stuff.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 2x4gig GSkill @1866, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 11/22/2012 08:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1230
Joined: 01/31/2010

first thing I tried was the multiplier, core 3 shut down automatically

guess that route is no good, so back to the usual base clock

seems to be a lot better than my old Athlon64 X2 4200+ which is an older 65 nm part.

what is up with ganged vs unganged memory, if it even matters?

 



-------------------------

 11/23/2012 06:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4021
Joined: 01/27/2008

What? changing the multi should be painless, how much did you raise it?

Over on the old AMD CPU forums a fine woman posted a real good description of ganged vs. unganged. Leave at default in most cases.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 2x4gig GSkill @1866, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 11/23/2012 06:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1230
Joined: 01/31/2010

when I raise the multiplier beyond 17 the 3rd core is show down by the BIOS

I guess that means core 3 is the weakest one on the die

i estimate 233 on the main clock would get me to 4 GHz easy enough

but my RAM is not cooperating too well

 



-------------------------

 11/23/2012 07:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1230
Joined: 01/31/2010

just set the RAM to DDR2-400 and set the base clock to 235, boots up at 4 GHz as hoped for

looks like I can go even higher for even more extreme performance

not bad for the factory propeller

 



-------------------------

 11/25/2012 11:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 280
Joined: 09/16/2012

Right on, now all you need to do now is run a stress test and see how long it take before it BSOD on you.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 11/26/2012 03:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1230
Joined: 01/31/2010

I tried 240 and bulletstorm blue screened on me.

so 235 is as far as it goes before a game craps out

not bad as I am happy enough with 235, as long as it is stable i would even use it at stock if need be

 

now the fun, looking over the LCD panel market for a new screen

found one full hd for $90 so deals are finally abundant

 



-------------------------

Statistics
85444 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.