Topic Title: If FirePro A320 = AMD A10-Series A10-5800K?
Topic Summary: Can Firepro v4900 Crossfire with A10
Created On: 11/22/2012 09:31 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/22/2012 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
divedr12351
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/22/2012

I am looking into building an entry level workstation speced machine that can also work well with media and casual gaming. It has to run CAD/CAM well so I figured the Firepro v4900 would be a nice graphics card for it. I would of liked to get a Firepro v320 but can't seem to find any on sale so I'm wondering if the AMD A10-5800K would make a good substitute to unload GPU onto the Firepro v4900.

Can the A10 function in a similar ***** in relation to the Firepro V4900 as it does with the Radeon 6770 HD? And importantly does this form of Hybrid Crossfire bring the same CAD/CAM optimization that AMD pledges to deliver with the Firepro A320/v4900 combination?

 11/22/2012 09:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1440
Joined: 01/31/2010

CAD programs are not too demanding, but when you get into 3D the VRAM requirements can grow quickly.

The top card, the HD7970 has eased down in price of late and it features 3 GB of VRAM which is helpful for 3D Studio etc

 



-------------------------

 11/22/2012 10:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
divedr12351
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/22/2012

So would it be just the same reliability (crashes during rendering) if I buy a Radeon 6770 HD with GDDR 5? Both cards (Radeon 6770 and Firepro V4900) I'm looking at have 1Gb of 128bit GDDR 5 VRAM.

 11/22/2012 10:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13068
Joined: 04/17/2008

No you can't crossfire a Fire series card with an APU.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/22/2012 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
divedr12351
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/22/2012

So if thats the case would a A10 Radeon 6770 Crossfire be about as reliable for CAD/CAM as a Firepro A320 v4900 combination?

I'm aware of optimization for work applications in the Firepro hardware and firmware. Does anyone know where I can buy a Firepro A320?



Edited: 11/22/2012 at 11:04 PM by divedr12351
 11/26/2012 12:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Even if you could setup crossfire this way, you probably wouldn't want to.  Hybrid crossfire is proving to be one of those things which works much better on paper than it does in reality.

Don't get me wrong, it often will improve performance more than using only one or the other, but from what I've seen here from various people... that comes at quite a cost.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 11/26/2012 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13068
Joined: 04/17/2008

Agreed, Hybrid Crossfire was alright when HTPC class graphics cards were anemically weak (and it wasn't that alright back then), and the current iteration "Dual Graphics" isn't without its issues either, and with all multiple GPU systems there are unique problems compared to a single GPU setup, such as microstuttering and non linear scaling.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/26/2012 06:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: divedr12351 So if thats the case would a A10 Radeon 6770 Crossfire be about as reliable for CAD/CAM as a Firepro A320 v4900 combination?

You need to decide which is more important... gaming or CAD/CAM.  You won't get the benefits of CAD-specific improvement to the drivers if you go with a Radeon, and you run the risk of being in somewhat unknown territory if you game on a Pro card.  If CAD is a must-have, then I'd probably get a Pro card, and take my chances on weirdness when gaming.  The hardware is mostly the same, it's just the drivers that are different.

Unfortunately, a lot of advertising won't turn a bad idea into a good one.  Integrated graphics have come a long way in recent years, but it still can't match the performance of a discrete card.  On top of that there's the fact that AMDs "APUs" have so far always had a good GPU and a relatively weak CPU.  If you need that extra performance of a discrete card(and it sounds like you probably do), then you're probably better off getting a "normal" CPU, and one good video card.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.



Edited: 11/26/2012 at 06:43 PM by Mime
Statistics
88787 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.