Topic Title: 2-Month old Fx-4100 overheating with stock air cooler + no overclock
Topic Summary: overheating with stock cooler @ 17C ambient temp + no overclock
Created On: 11/26/2012 06:08 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/26/2012 06:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
borolepratik
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/26/2012

So, i bought this fx-4100 with stock air cooler approx 2 months back & then the temps were in control (around 37-38C when the ambient temp was 32C). Past few days its been winter and the ambient(room) temp is close to 17C. When i switch on my pc, the CPU temp shoots upto 51-53C. so i let it cool down a bit, and it steps down only by 2-3C (in winter) after 10mins.

The fan speed is always 3856-3879 RPM. now the normal idling temp of the CPU is 53C (with no CPU-intense program running) and hardly reduces to <37C.

I never fidgeted with the cooler for i read strick warnings about the problems of the thermal paste. The installation was perfect!

I need to know where the problem is (CPU of stock fan). Since the CPU is still in warranty, maybe i can get either one replaced.

Also it has become very slow! When i bought it, .xml files in Eclipse Juno used to open without any delay & now Eclipse hangs when i try to open ANY file in it! (not a problem of Eclipse since its a stable build).

Need suggestions/guidance.

Thank You.

 11/26/2012 07:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RatsAss
Farming Materials

Posts: 543
Joined: 02/12/2009

HJave a look here and post what you have.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=160419&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Gaming Rig
Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7-B3 F7 bios
i7- 2600k ,Cooler Master V6GT
2x4 gig G-Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1333
Asus GTX 680
Corsair TX 850W PSU
Creative X-FI Titanium Champion, Logitech Z-5500
Win 7 x64 Ultimate(SP1), Antec DF-85 case.

 11/26/2012 12:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
borolepratik
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/26/2012

My rig config:

ASUS M5A88-M BIOS untouched

Fx-4100 unlocked 3.6GHz with stock cooler,no overclock

2x4 gig Corsair Value Select DDR3 1333

Zotac geforce 560ti oc edition (factory clock) (latest drivers, non-beta)

Corsair GS 700W PSU

Cooler Master performance chassis 431 elite

Win x64 Ultimate SP1

WD 250gig HDD

 

Using SpeedFan for temp details. it shows 51-53C ideal temp. whereas AMD OverDrive shows 45C-47C. SiW (system info of windows) and CPUID HardWare monitor show same temps as SpeedFan

 11/26/2012 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
borolepratik
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/26/2012

Also all the core speeds keep goin to 3.7GHz (default is 3.6) every time i boot up the PC. No values are changed from AMD OverDrive or ASUS TurboEVO.

 

After decreasing the core speeds to 3.6GHz, no temp difference is observed! Same as Befor 51-53C.

 11/26/2012 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12254
Joined: 04/17/2008

Clean it out and apply new TIM. If the problem still occurs, then it's most likely a faulty sensor. Also, is this the CPU temp or the core temp.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/26/2012 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
borolepratik
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/26/2012

Its the CPU temp. Core temp is 31-33C (idling). But still the CPU temp is quite high.

Will AMD replace the fan-heatsink-TIM setup or do I need to do it by myself? So if i were to change the TIM, then can I first inspect the problem and by removing the stock cooler and then again put it all together until TIM arrives from the shop? Or should I wait for the TIM to arrive and then ONLY remove the cooler?

 11/26/2012 10:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12254
Joined: 04/17/2008

Before you do anything you need to read a few of the many guides out there on how to replace the TIM, as if you do it wrong you can make the problem worse.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84335 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.