Topic Title: A hypertransport sync flood error occurred on last boot
Topic Summary: I keep getting this error
Created On: 12/20/2012 03:39 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/20/2012 03:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
michellemagill
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/20/2012

Hi there. As stated, my computer keeps giving me the "A hypertransport sync flood error occurred on last boot" error after rebooting itself for apparently (to me) no reason. This usually happens when playing certain games. More specifically, it has happened on occasion during World of Warcraft, often during Mount and Blade: Warband, and every 15 minutes or so on Guild Wars 2. I play GW2 and WoW on low settings.

I've tried googling this error and all I have found so far is people with this problem who overclock their processors. I am not and never have overclocked. Any insight into the matter would be much appriciated.

I reformatted my harddrive and reinstalled windows last night hoping it was a virus, but I got the error again when reinstalling Guild Wars 2.

 Here's my computer specs.

Graphics Card
NVIDIA GeForce GT 520 driver version 8.17.12.6742


Operating System
- 64-bit; Service Pack 1
- Previously was operating on 32=bit; Service Pack 3


Motherboard or System Make & Model
- MSI Mainboard 880GM-E43

Power Supply

-Cooler Master GX 650 watt


Applications and Games

- World of Warcraft, Mount and Blade: Warband, Guild Wars 2 (frequently)


CPU Details
- AMD Athlon II X3 455 Processor 3.30GHz
- No overclocking is or has ever been done on this Processor.


System Memory Type & Amount
- DDR3 4GB(2 sticks) Sector 5(unsure how to look up any more details)

 12/21/2012 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/31/2010

you might want to get a better display adapter thant the GT 520

the HD 7770 is a mid range card that will be drastically better for games compared to that card

 

 

 



-------------------------

 12/21/2012 07:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
michellemagill
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/20/2012

So, Vegan, this is a graphics card problem? Or are you just trying to get me to buy something?

If it's a graphic's card I should still be under warrantee and I'll send it in to be replaced but I don't need a better card. 

I really need to know if this is actually a graphics card problem or not. Please be more detailed in your posts Vegan, it will make them more helpful and sound less like ads. Thanks.

 12/21/2012 10:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/31/2010

if you have a spare video card try that

if that does work, then it could be your MB is dying or less likely the CPU

the way AMD works is CPU cia HT to PCIe which feeds the video card

so the video card is the easiest to swap out to test where the problem is

 



-------------------------

Statistics
84704 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.