Topic Title: A10 made in China?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/21/2012 09:20 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/21/2012 09:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harp7trinity
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/21/2012

Just purchaed a new A10-5800K. Every review I have seen for the past few months the chips are made in Malaysia.

AMD chips are made by global foundries and all that I have seen are then assembled in Malaysia.

Should I be worried I got a lower grade "Chinese" made chip?

Personally I was surprised and also disgusted when I seen this information through the window on the retail box.

 

This is my first AMD since I built a rig long ago with the first Thunderbird mostly due to the low quality and low quality control.

 

I Hope I am proved wrong and everything works like it should.

I am still waiting for more parts but I will known soon enough.

 

Maybe somebody here knows why curent chips are from China, my only guess is the Trininty chips is selling fast so they had to increase production in other assembly plants and I just  happened to get one from there.

 12/21/2012 10:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Case Modder

Posts: 992
Joined: 01/31/2010

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malaysia

Malaysia is not China, its an independent country

 



-------------------------

 12/21/2012 11:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harp7trinity
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/21/2012

I have a college degree, I am well aware Malaysia is not China, every 5th grader should know that.

You failed to answer the question of even attempt an answer.

I will try again.

Every chip made by AMD I have seen were made in Malaysia, the chip I just bought is made in CHINA, get it?

Did they open up a new assembly in China and the factory in Malaysia is at max capacity due to demand thus the need to shift production or is there another factor involved?

If AMD is trying to cut corners to cut cost by making their chips in China, and the heatsink is pure garbage then is it any wonder people stay with Intel?

 

So far I am not impressed with the quality, let me just note that.

 12/22/2012 11:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11583
Joined: 04/17/2008



So yours says "Diffused in Germany Made in China?"

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/22/2012 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harp7trinity
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/21/2012

Exacty. I thought maybe it was a forgery but I checked the numbers and it looks legit.

The box was sealed but that could easy be tampered with.

I just watched a youtube video on the A10 I believe from the UK and his chip was made in China as well.

More then likely most 90%+ are from Malaysia worldwide and the Chinese facility picks up the slack if need be.

I do not know of any other facitilites.

 

Intel I have seen Malaysia, Philippines and Costa Rica.

 12/22/2012 08:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11583
Joined: 04/17/2008

Could be fakes, I recall that Newegg.com had a shipment of fake Intel processors not to long ago.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/23/2012 12:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harp7trinity
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/21/2012

That is what I am worried about and why I wanted to ask here if anybody bought a new A series and they have one made in China.

I did read way back in 2005 AMD did open a facility in China but it did not mention production, it sounded more like it was a pure R&D facility.

I have not installed it yet and I am reluctant to RMA it and pay shipping only to get another Chinese one in return.

Here is a picture somebody posted a few weeks ago of their chip, course this does not verify the chip is authentic.

The # of my chip does match that of the box and the round green hologram is intact.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic



Edited: 12/23/2012 at 01:08 AM by harp7trinity
 12/25/2012 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neo5555
Case Modder

Posts: 905
Joined: 08/13/2008

I doubt its a fake...   if it were, why put " Made in China" all over it ?   Wouldn't make sense....



-------------------------

Pics of my rig
i7 4770k, custom water cooling, 8Gig Corsair Dom 2133 9-11-10-27, ASrock Z87 OC Formula, SilverStone ST-1500 PSU, Creative X-Fi Platinum, Logitech Z-5500D , 2xHIS 7970 CF, Asus VW246H Monitor, Win 7 64Bit HP, Corsair 800D Case

 12/25/2012 04:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Doron
Master Looter

Posts: 365
Joined: 12/14/2008

Open it and if it boots normally give it a stress-test and try it for a while. Also run a few benchmarks to verify is performance. If everything is in order, why worry? If something's wrong with the cpu, use your warranty to RMA.

Chinese facilities have lots of experience with production, most of what we use is made there. If everything is ok with the cpu then I wouldn't worry about it.



-------------------------
#1: Phenom II x4 B55 @ 3.8ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P | Sapphire hd4870 512mb | G.Skill Sniper 2x4gb | Antec 900 | Corsair TX750 | Samsung P2350 1920x1080



#2: Athlon II x2 240 @ 3.5ghz (250x14) | Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT-UD2H | G.Skill NQ 2x2gb | Coolermaster Elite 335 | SeaSonic S12II-500 | Samsung T220 1680x1050
 12/26/2012 10:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harp7trinity
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/21/2012

I found a thread a few years back on this forum about some chips AMD chips being made in China.

It seems they have a contract with Chartered which is a semiconductor fab out of Singapore to help if they need more chips fast or another contracted fab has a shutdown or issues.

I just happened to get one by dumb luck as the batch week I bought just happened to be delievered to newegg and that was the stock they had.

I wrote AMD at their fraud email address and asked if they could verify the S/N as being legit, I have not heard back and it has been a week.

I hope to fire it up soon, I am waiting for some parts to show up but due to the weather and holidays it has been delayed.

If it can fire up enough to get into bios it should be decent, of course without stress most chips are fine and it's not untl you run prime or other stress tests to see if it can handle the strain.

Statistics
81036 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.