Topic Title: Athlon II Overheating
Topic Summary: CPU Temp hitting 91C whilst recording/editing video
Created On: 12/22/2012 06:28 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/22/2012 06:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
camelot
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/22/2012

Hi,

Recently my CPU temperature warning alarm has started going off whenever I record or edit video.

I have tried various "cures" (relaced PSU, Graphics card, added more cooling paste etc) but the problem still persists.

Having tried everything I can think of, I am now wondering whether the CPU has decided it's had enough and should be replaced (according to the CPU it seems to have been made in 2008 in Malaysia).

My question is - What can I replace it with (without fitting a new motherboard)?

I have contacted Gigabyte but they just referred me to a table of compatible CPUs but I just didn't understand it!

Any help/suggestions would be much appreciated.

Merry Christmas to all.

System details are as follows:-

 

 12/22/2012 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13079
Joined: 04/17/2008

When it reads 91°C on a CPU which will blue screen 20 degrees cooler than that, it's called a Sensor Error, and you should ignore it, if after cleaning the heatsink and reappling new TIM it still occurs.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/22/2012 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
camelot
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/22/2012

black_zion,

Thanks for the reply.

Unfortunately it's a bit hard to ignore when the alarm is going off all the time.

The temperature reading is coming from the PC Health Staus screen in the BIOS (which has been set to it's maximum of 90C). After restarting the system and going into the BIOS, the temperature is still reading 91C so I assume that it was hotter than that while running.

I have already cleaned the heatsink and the CPU and then applied new cooling paste. It seems to work for a while but soon goes back to it's old ways.

 12/22/2012 04:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13079
Joined: 04/17/2008

Then change the BIOS setting to Ignored under CPU Temperature and forget about it.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/22/2012 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
camelot
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/22/2012

Thanks.

I do have a "Disabled" setting but what is the downside if the CPU is actually overheating?

 12/22/2012 08:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13079
Joined: 04/17/2008

You will get BSOD's because the CPU will start throwing out garbage, but you aren't, so it's not.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/23/2012 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
camelot
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/22/2012

OK, will give it a try.

Thanks for your help.

 12/25/2012 03:11 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1443
Joined: 01/31/2010

AMD and Intel both will shut down if the die exceeds a design limit.

Check for a BIOS update for your rig

Check as well to be sure all chassis fans are OK and that any empty fan bays have a fan installed into them as well.

 



-------------------------

Statistics
88964 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.