Topic Title: A10 running hot or not?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/02/2013 08:28 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/02/2013 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hawk52501
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/02/2013

My first build using an AMD APU....have built many systems in  the past.

Biostar Hi-fi A85W A85X MB

A10-5800k with retail HSF

When I first booted it up I went into the bios to check the motherboard detected my ram correctly....and then checked out the HW monitor and it was reporting the CPU at 60c.  I have heard about some of these new FM2 motherboards not reporting temps correctly...so I went ahead and installed my OS, and drivers.

Thermal paste (AS5) was applied correctly/cleanly.

After installing everything, I dowloaded CoreTemp, and it fluctuated between 0c-7c @ idle.  Then I tried HW Monitor, and it was reading 45c @ idle, which seemed about right to me.  But i noticed that sometimes HW Monitor would show the cpu temp jump from around 45c-60c just sitting there idle. Which seemed wierd to me, nothing was running in the background.

I then installed Biostars Green Power Utility, and it showed 22c @idle.

I fired up Prime95, and monitored the temps.....the Biostar Green Power Utility went up to around 63c-65c under full load...which again seemed about right for the stock cooler.

Checked HW Monitor and almost crapped myself 255c under the max. temp column.....this cant be accurate!

I would kind of like to know what temps are at least semi accurate for this processor on the stock cooler.

Anyone else with an A10 showing extremely high/wierd temps using HW Monitor?

temps

 

 01/02/2013 09:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12332
Joined: 04/17/2008

Does seem a touch warm, but if you aren't blue screening then I wouldn't worry, though I would look at maybe getting a closed loop cooler, they are very effective and these days pretty cheap as well.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/03/2013 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Yeah I'm thinkin that 255C reading isn't accurate.  The whole machine would scream and die long before that.  It's hard to say what a "typical" temperature would be, but the max temp for that chip is rated at 74C, so you're not quite into the danger zone... yet. 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/03/2013 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

I would make sure that you have the latest BIOS flashed for your motherboard as well as ensuring that you are running the latest HWM version of the software.  Alternatively, you could try AMD Overdrive to see if it reports the temps properly instead.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 01/03/2013 05:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12332
Joined: 04/17/2008

I will say that I just bought an A6-5600K for my uncle's new computer and the heatsink is extremely...nearly non existent. I've seen bigger ones on an Intel Slot 1 card, and I can't imagine the A10's is much beefier. Could also be a sensor error, I've owned quite a few AMD motherboards which have faulty thermal sensors, one reason you should always look at the core temps instead.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/03/2013 11:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hawk52501
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/02/2013

I have a Cooler Master Hyper 212 on the way, which should at the least give me comfort, knowing that i'll have an aftermarket cooler with copper components. 

(black_zion) The A10's heatsink I assure you, is the same one that came with the A6's.  The day I recieved the A10, and saw the size of the retail box...I knew what would be inside....a small solid aluminum block, with a few fins cut out, and a cheap looking fan on top

(Canis-x) The 1st thing I did was all of the above you mentioned...the board came with the latest bios pre-installed, and the software is current.  On another note, Amd Overdrive locks up the system when trying to run it.

I did find one thing wrong...the manual that came with my motherboard had the instructions for installing dual channel memory modules wrong, (A**backwards) to be exact, which was causing poor performance, especially on the IGP side of things.  3DMark 06 score has now doubled after switching the memory sticks around.  But still running too hot to my liking.

Will report back after my aftermarket coolers comes.

 

 01/04/2013 07:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
csas25
Nerfed

Posts: 72
Joined: 11/01/2012

Seems okay to me at idle.. Cooler: CM Blizzard T2

 01/09/2013 12:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hawk52501
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/02/2013

Hyper 212 finally came today.  CoreTemp and HWmonitor still seem out of wack.  Have been using GPU-Z to monitor semi accurate temps.  Stock cooler with the IGP under full load showed a max of 81c. With the Hyper 212 full load shows a max of 56c. 

The Bios is now showing a temp of 40c...down from 60c, so I have peace of mind now

Statistics
84687 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.