Topic Title: FX-6100 windows problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/09/2013 07:11 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/09/2013 07:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KingCapning
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/09/2013

Windows is not recognizing all 6 cores and threads, its only seeing 2 cores and 2 threads? is this a common problem or is there a way to fix this?

 01/11/2013 11:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kent@AMD
Grinding Levels

Posts: 127
Joined: 01/10/2013

Could be an issue with the BIOS, Windows, or the CPU. If you update your BIOS to the latest non-Beta release, update Windows completely (and install the FX patch that doesn't come up in Windows Update), and you can't access more than 2 cores, it could be faulty and in need of replacing under warranty.



-------------------------
AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.
 01/12/2013 06:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KingCapning
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/09/2013

I managed to sort this out by going into the bios and turning on all cores manually they now show up in windows with 6 cores and 6 threads do you recommend i install both these updates? do they have any increased performance or such? these are the FX updates i think if not could you link?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2645594

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2646060

Statistics
84980 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.