Topic Title: Trouble mounting AM3+ FX8150 w/ Asetek liquid cooler to MSI motherboard
Topic Summary: Liquid cooling pump retaining hardware doesn't attach to Am3+ backplate or mounting bracket
Created On: 01/09/2013 06:28 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/09/2013 06:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFlipside
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/09/2013

Hey all!

I'm new here, so let me first say thanks for taking the time to read my post! I appreciate the help!  

Ive been building for more than a decade, so I've come across lots of little hardware design issues and had to find workarounds... But this one has me stumped. 

 

WHAT IM WORKING WITH:

-AMD AM3+ FX8150 with Asetek liquid cooler (closed loop) system included

-MSI 760GM-P34 motherboard

WHAT IM DOING:

I put the system together, mounted the motherboard on 6 posts and assembled the cooler fan assembly and pump retainer brackets. However, I can't attach the pump to the stock, plastic CPU cooling bracket (saddle). As well, I can't seem to get the pump retainer bracket to mount to the stock AM3+ backplate. (Screws line up but aren't nearly long enough.) 

 

i figure I'm missing something, either in procedure or hardware. Has anyone else ran into this or a similar problem? I just don't know what to do. The CPU came with liquid cooler so I can't even use the cheap heatsink and fan that would fit if I wanted to - which I don't

I need some advice, this one had me stumped. Thanks everyone!

 

best regards,

Jordan (theflipside)

 01/09/2013 11:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 219
Joined: 09/16/2012

if its anything like the H50 than you have to replace the stock backplate with the onethat came with the cooler. 

 

 



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 01/10/2013 01:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Button Masher

Posts: 268
Joined: 11/27/2012

On the other hand if it is like the H80i you need to keep the original back plate 

What does the manual say to do?

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:


CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 01/10/2013 06:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFlipside
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/09/2013

The manual says to attach it to the motherboard, and no mention of a backplate exists. I looked at a hardware forum walk through and they say to discard the top saddle for the stock cooling kit and just use the backplate. This might work, but the screws that came with the CPU / liquid cooling kit don't even reach the threads of the backplate if there's no motherboard and CPU in between. I'm thinking get longer screws? Unless someone has an idea of how to utilize the stock backplate. 

 01/10/2013 10:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11581
Joined: 04/17/2008

Sounds like it's time to do what I do when something makes me shake my head in confusion: Tear it down and rebuild. If you have to discard the saddle, then it sounds like you just unscrew the saddle from the backplate and insert the new screws in through the same holes through the backplate. Hard for me to tell though, I'm a real hands on guy.

Also the reason I went with the Corsair H60, clips right to the stock bracket, no muss, no fuss.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/11/2013 02:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFlipside
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/09/2013

black_zion, you're on the right track. This was my thinking too - and when I stripped it back down and rebuilt it, I found all was as the manual directs (I use up all the parts in the process.) The only problem was that the four retaining screws - which should affix the pump to the MOBO CPU backplate - lined up perfectly but were about 1/2" too short to reach the threads. 

So, I went to the hardware store and picked up 6x32-1.25" screws and will try them instead. My concern is that they won't have the same resistance to lateral motion that the tumb-screws that were included, but too short, had. 

I went back to NewEgg to look at the reviews, and one of the few 1-egg reviews mentioned this same problem. I'm wondering if the socket was ever shipped with a non-standard backplate?

 01/11/2013 04:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Button Masher

Posts: 268
Joined: 11/27/2012

A very little (and easy) bit of Googling found this:

 

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1743/4/

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:


CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 01/11/2013 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFlipside
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/09/2013

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer A very little (and easy) bit of Googling found this:

 

 

 

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1743/4/

 

 

 

QB

 

 

thanks for the input QB. I too found a walk through just like this, and followed all of the steps. I wish I could be more clear - I wish, perhaps, I could share photos - because when I lower the pump down and press it against the CPU, there is too much of a gap to lower the screws down to the motherboard, let alone reach the threads on the stock backplate. 

On top of the motherboard sits the CPU socket (bed). The CPU sits on this and gets latched down. Between the CPU and the CPU socket, the top of the CPU is approximately 1/4 inch to 1/2 inch of elevation above the surface of the motherboard. 

On the pump, the surface that comes in contact with the CPU is the lowest point, and the screws sit just lateral to this, but about 1/8 higher. The only way to get the threads low enough to insert the thumb screws to the back plate would be to bend the pump retention ring. 

(In addition to computer building for myself and customers, I was a Dell on-site repair tech; so I've probably taken apart and reassembled between 3-4,000 desktops and laptops. I'd like to think I'm not missing something silly, though it's always possible. Ill disassemble it again and rebuild... Maybe something didn't latch/settle properly.)

thanks for the input though. 

 01/11/2013 12:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11581
Joined: 04/17/2008

There is a chance it could just be a flaw with that unit. Penalties of mass production.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/11/2013 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheFlipside
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/09/2013

This is my thought process, though all of the parts look like they do in the walkthroughs I found. Maybe my blard's CPU pase is elevated just slightly more than other boards with the same socket?

 

im going to call AMD today to ask. They were closed both times I tried earlier. 

 01/11/2013 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Button Masher

Posts: 268
Joined: 11/27/2012

Have you removed the plastic "saddle" that is on your MB?  The piece that AMD coolers actually latch on to?  As you can see in the images from the link I posted above the saddle is removed.  You still use the AMD back plate, but the saddle is not to be used.

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:


CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

Statistics
81003 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.