Topic Title: CPU Hardware Error freezes PC
Topic Summary: PC Freeze/Reboot: CPU Hardware Error: Execution Unit Error: EX payload array parity error AMD FX(tm)-8150 Eight-Core Pro
Created On: 01/10/2013 11:39 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/10/2013 11:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
D_AMD
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/10/2013

Please advise how can following error be resolved.

I notice that every time I launch some heavy CPU hungry apps/processes running for about 10 minutes, my desktop freezes or reboots by itself. [e.g. 5 python processes using 5 cores at 100%, playing 3 fullscreen movies using totem/vlc]

Leaves following error in syslog:

Jan 10 15:20:33 athena kernel: [ 2700.732026] [Hardware Error]: CPU:7 MC5_STATUS[Over|CE|MiscV|-|AddrV|-|-]: 0xdc00000000030e0f

Jan 10 15:20:33 athena kernel: [ 2700.732032] [Hardware Error]: MC5_ADDR: 0x0000000000000017

Jan 10 15:20:33 athena kernel: [ 2700.732034] [Hardware Error]: Execution Unit Error: EX payload array parity error.

Jan 10 15:20:33 athena kernel: [ 2700.732037] [Hardware Error]: cache level: L3/GEN, mem/io: GEN, mem-tx: GEN, part-proc: GEN (no timeout)

 

System details:

PC is new (4 months)

Ubuntu 12.04

Linux athena 3.2.0-35-generic #55-Ubuntu SMP Wed Dec 5 17:42:16 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

 

Memory - 16GB

 

CPU info - /proc/cpuinfo:

vendor_id : AuthenticAMD

cpu family : 21

model : 1

model name : AMD FX(tm)-8150 Eight-Core Processor           

stepping : 2

microcode : 0x6000623

cpu MHz : 1400.000

cache size : 2048 KB

physical id : 0

siblings : 8

core id : 7

cpu cores : 4

apicid : 23

initial apicid : 7

fpu : yes

fpu_exception : yes

cpuid level : 13

wp : yes

flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq monitor ssse3 cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt aes xsave avx lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs xop skinit wdt lwp fma4 nodeid_msr topoext perfctr_core arat cpb npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save tsc_scale vmcb_clean flushbyasid decodeassists pausefilter pfthreshold

bogomips : 8307.51

TLB size : 1536 4K pages

clflush size : 64

cache_alignment : 64

address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual

power management: ts ttp tm 100mhzsteps hwpstate cpb

 

 

Devices - lspci:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (external gfx0 port B) (rev 02)

00:00.2 IOMMU: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD990 I/O Memory Management Unit (IOMMU)

00:02.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port B)

00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port D)

00:07.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port G)

00:11.0 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 40)

00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller

00:12.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller

00:13.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller

00:13.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller

00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 42)

00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)

00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller (rev 40)

00:14.4 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)

00:14.5 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI2 Controller

00:16.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller

00:16.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller

00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 0

00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 1

00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 2

00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 3

00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 4

00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 5

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Device 683d

01:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Device aab0

02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)

03:00.0 USB controller: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1042 SuperSpeed USB Host Controller

Thanks

 01/10/2013 09:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 329
Joined: 11/27/2012

What is your MB?  My board has a massive voltage droop when the CPU is under load.

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 01/11/2013 01:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
D_AMD
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/10/2013

MB is ASUS M5A97 AMD 970 Chipset

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3Plus/M5A97/

A voltage drop will always freeze or reboot the PC? Can it be prevented?

Thanks

 01/11/2013 03:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 329
Joined: 11/27/2012

An easy way to see if this is the problem is run OCCT and watch your CPU Vcore voltage...  For me it is at 1.38V at idle and droops to as lows as 1.28V when stressed.

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

Statistics
85474 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.