Topic Title: Some Advice on my machine Please.
Topic Summary: Some Advice on my machine Please.
Created On: 01/17/2013 09:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/17/2013 09:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mister_Fister
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/17/2013

Hello Everyone.

Hello Everyone.

 

I recently purchased a new/Used machine and did some recent upgrades and have some questions

I got my new Power supply and installed it with the 2nd AMD card last night, Everything is still working but I did not see any improvement in FPS on BF3 AVG of (60 FPS same as with single card.) Also from monitoring the CPU in Game it seems that the CPU is averaging a usage percentage rate of anywhere from 60% to 100% at times RAM of around 16%..... Is this normal?( I think it was better with one card but I will have to remove the 2nd card to check)
I have this AMD Tweaker program and  Saffire TRIX on the machine for Overclocking and a bunch of other crap but I am still learning and am not sure what if there is anything else I can do to make the machine run smoother faster ?

any advice would be great.
~Jarod.

Here are the Specs.

 

AMD T1100 Black Edition X6 core, 3.3GHZ Stock, can handle 4.2 OC
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600 Mhz RAM
Thermaltake 1500 Watt gold TX2 Power Supply
180GB INTEL SSD - VERY fast Primary Hard-Drive
750GB SATA3 - Information Hard-Drive
X 2 -Sapphire HD 6970 2GB GDDR5 Graphics /w Crossfire support.(Bridged together) One card has the Twin Fans and the other is the older single Fan unit.
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula - Comes with Soundblaster XFI2 Sound and everything onboard. EUFI Bios + more.
ZALMAN CNPS9500 Copper Cooling /w remote fan management



 



Edited: 01/17/2013 at 12:53 PM by Mister_Fister
 01/17/2013 02:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mister_Fister
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/17/2013

6 views with no reply's Bummer.

 01/17/2013 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

You waited a massive 5 hours, during which time most people are at work. And so what if you don't get more than 60FPS, I don't see you mention if you checked Vsync, and I don't see where you mentioned you had a true 120hz display which would be the only place >60FPS would make a difference.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/17/2013 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mister_Fister
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/17/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion You waited a massive 5 hours, during which time most people are at work. And so what if you don't get more than 60FPS, I don't see you mention if you checked Vsync, and I don't see where you mentioned you had a true 120hz display which would be the only place >60FPS would make a difference.

 

 

black_Zion, I was not complaining about anything I was just confused on the view things my apologies As I came of catty.

This is my first AMD machine and I don't know to much about them,Nor the true operating potential of computers in general and I am trying to learn.

What is Vsync and how can I test it?

My Monitor is a ASUS VE276 how would I check the Hz on it?

 01/17/2013 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

www.google.com
www.yahoo.com
www.bing.com
www.wikipedia.com

Any of those will answer your questions.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/17/2013 11:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Vsync only locks the fps to the max refresh rate of your monitor. old CRTs were a 60hz or 60 cycles per second contraption, and thus vsync still lives with us today. You can force it off within the game, or via the driver settings.

 For what it's worth, the human eye raeally only sees around 20fps, which is why most movies still only run at 24fps, so anything above that, if it's fluid is theoretically ok, I don't always see it as ok, but it's tru most of the time, 60fps should be more than ample for game-play, so unless you've got performance issues, there's no need to worry about it. unless you're just looking for higher numbers to one-up someone, then may I suggest a proper benchmark.

Hope that is of some help.



-------------------------

 01/18/2013 12:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mister_Fister
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/17/2013

Lobster, Thanks for the input. I understand the dynamics of Film and 24FPS.I am not looking to up any one I was just trying to eliminate some of the CPU load in Game that's why I got the 2nd GPU,currently BF3 bounces from 50%-100% CPU load and the game bog's from time to time, As I said before I will remove the 2nd card and restore the system to it's previous config. then See if that makes any difference.

 

Thanks agian for the info. Maybe I need an 8 core CPU?

 01/18/2013 01:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

That's probably not going to help very much...

If you're getting a steady 60 frames per second, but it still feels like it's bogging down, then you might be running into the problem known as "micro-stuttering".  That's an issue of latency where some individual frames take longer to process than others, leading to hitches and hiccups and other annoying things.  It's a common problem, especially with multi-GPU systems.

Or... these laggy spots could be caused by something else entirely, like a slow/laggy internet connection.  If you actually are getting steady frame rates, then your Internet connection probably isn't to blame... just something to keep in mind.  Lots of different components have to work together for a system to function properly.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.



Edited: 01/18/2013 at 01:28 AM by Mime
Statistics
84893 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.