Topic Title: Better CPU
Topic Summary: I need a new CPU
Created On: 01/21/2013 01:11 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/21/2013 01:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Awesomeness2354
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/21/2013

 

 

 

 

I need a new Processor I got a new laptop for Christmas, but it's nowhere near fast enough to handle any of the games I am going to play. Could someone please help me in finding a new one? Possibly a quad-core or 2.5 Ghz+ Dual Core, and if I need to replace my video card aswell please let me know. P.S. I really don't want to replace my chipset  so something with a compatible Socket please

OS: Windows 8

CPU: 1.3 Ghz AMD E-300 Accelerated Processor

Brand:HP

Model: HP 2000 Notebook PC



Edited: 01/21/2013 at 01:17 AM by Awesomeness2354
 01/21/2013 01:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

You can't upgrade the graphics card or processor in that low end excuse for a computer.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/21/2013 03:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Awesomeness2354
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/21/2013

 

 

 

Why is that?

 

 01/21/2013 03:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Awesomeness2354
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/21/2013

 

 

 

 

 

Even if there's nothing with a compatible socket would I be able to get a different chipset?

FYI I didn't pick the computer my parents picked it out I would have picked some thing out with at least an i3 intel

 01/21/2013 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

You really need to find a Computers For Dummies book and read it, or do some simple basic research and get basic knowledge of how a computer works. And even if you had picked something out with an i3, that's not a gaming laptop without a gaming glass video card, and you don't even know what those are. Bottom line is you CANNOT upgrade that laptop to play anything but solitare and maybe browser based games on Facebook. Period.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/21/2013 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Awesomeness2354
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/21/2013

 

 

 

Listen I came on here to get help and if you can't help me please be quiet. Tell me why I can't just put a new chipset in with a new graphics card and processor. I know the processor's socket is incompatible with anything.

 01/21/2013 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

Didn't say I can't help you, I said I wouldn't help you because you need to have at least a passing familiarity with how a computer works if you are going to use one. Do your research and learn, else you will never be able to make informed decisions.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/21/2013 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Awesomeness2354
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/21/2013

 

 

 

I'll be sure to take the Computer course next year at my High School

 01/21/2013 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7229
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Awesomeness2354  

 

 

 

I need a new Processor I got a new laptop for Christmas, but it's nowhere near fast enough to handle any of the games I am going to play. Could someone please help me in finding a new one? Possibly a quad-core or 2.5 Ghz+ Dual Core, and if I need to replace my video card aswell please let me know. P.S. I really don't want to replace my chipset  so something with a compatible Socket please

OS: Windows 8

CPU: 1.3 Ghz AMD E-300 Accelerated Processor

Brand:HP

Model: HP 2000 Notebook PC

Check this forum out...maybe post there > http://btoforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=39



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/21/2013 10:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 179
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi ok a lap top has all the chips soldered to the motherboard. So you would have to heat each chip you want to change so it would come off and then solder a new chip back on. Which cant be done at home by you with a blow torch.



-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 01/22/2013 03:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Awesomeness2354
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/21/2013

 

 

 

 

 

Originally posted by: Hammey Hi ok a lap top has all the chips soldered to the motherboard. So you would have to heat each chip you want to change so it would come off and then solder a new chip back on. Which cant be done at home by you with a blow torch.

 

Thank You. I was not gonna replace the parts myself I would not trust myself. If I can find the parts I was gonna take it to a computer shop and have them do it for me if possible. Would that work if I got the necessary parts?

 01/22/2013 07:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 275
Joined: 09/16/2012

It would be a lot cheaper just to go buy your self a new laptop.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 01/22/2013 08:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion You can't upgrade the graphics card or processor in that low end excuse for a computer.

 

You really need to learn some tact...... anybody tell you that before? I'll just come out and say it, that was just plane old rude.... seriously. rude.



-------------------------

 01/22/2013 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Yeah... not cool dude.  Posts like that are a good way to get on the wrong end of a pointy stick.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/27/2013 01:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Awesomeness2354
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/21/2013

 

 

 

Seriously was hoping you weren't gonna say that. I kinda needed a good non-super expensive solution, I was kind of hoping for a solution in time in time for DayZ Standalone release. Because none of the computers in my household are powerful enough for That Game, Ithink the fastest CPU we have is rated 2.0 Ghz and is Windows Vista

 

 01/30/2013 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 538
Joined: 01/15/2011

As stated by someone else, the laptop / compact APU-based systems have the chips soldered onto the board. It is essentially a part of the mainboard.

You can't replace the chip because there are NO replacements available for the average consumer. If you want a chip, you'd need to still one from...AMD or HP or something..before they solder it onto the board.



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 01/30/2013 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Awesomeness2354  

 

 

Seriously was hoping you weren't gonna say that. I kinda needed a good non-super expensive solution, I was kind of hoping for a solution in time in time for DayZ Standalone release. Because none of the computers in my household are powerful enough for That Game, Ithink the fastest CPU we have is rated 2.0 Ghz and is Windows Vista

 

 

Could always build a system.

 

Desktops aren't dead!



-------------------------

 01/31/2013 09:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1185
Joined: 01/31/2010

I use a desktop for gaming and work

my mobiles are far from suitable for games

 



-------------------------

Statistics
84900 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.