Topic Title: A10 over heating
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/24/2013 10:51 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/27/2013 08:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Stock heatsinks usually aren't going to blow your mind, so yeah... a third party heatsink isn't a bad idea.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/27/2013 08:32 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12332
Joined: 04/17/2008

You could always upgrade to a closed loop liquid cooler. They're not much more expensive than good air coolers, quiet, and some clip right to the AMD mounting bracket. They have come a long way in the past few years (I'm sure some of my early posts after joining this forum berated liquid), and worth the investment. And since it appears that AMD is set on conserving the same mounting system (thank God), it should have future compatibility with FM and AM sockets.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/27/2013 08:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moparfan
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/24/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion You could always upgrade to a closed loop liquid cooler. They're not much more expensive than good air coolers, quiet, and some clip right to the AMD mounting bracket. They have come a long way in the past few years (I'm sure some of my early posts after joining this forum berated liquid), and worth the investment.

yea idk about going that far lol that just adds more stuff to go wrong lol

 01/28/2013 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

That it does.  Even with the self-contained coolers around these days, it's still a lot easier just to stick on a heatsink, and most of the time there's not a huge difference in temperatures anyway.

I'd say watercooling a GPU makes more sense these days since there's plenty of good, quiet CPU heatsinks around now while most GPU coolers often still make that annoying whiney noise.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 01/28/2013 12:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moparfan
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/24/2013

Yea it's not like i will be over clocking or anything. this thing is so much faster then i need as it is i don't need anymore. I just want it to last with the lest amount of work keeping it running. I plained to just stick with the stock cooler but after all this i will probably just throw on a better one and leve it.

 02/08/2013 04:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moparfan
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/24/2013

I know it took awhile to get back but i had the memory go bad already so had to wait on that. Anyways i went ahead and repasted the heat sink on the CPU and only noticed 1 of my temp gauges drop about 5-8c at idle. it was in my CLICK BIOS II windows version that MSI kindly gives me if you don't know just look up my board on MSI site you will find it. i run AMD overdrive stress test and seen it kinda level out at 50-55c after about 30 seconds. i run it about 10 mins without gaining temp. so i was happy with that. All other temp monitor gauges are still crazy as they have been the hole time. So i am going to guess the only correct temp is that click BIOS  while in windows.

I also did have a nice chat with AMD with them blaming 3rd party software ECT but no sulution as to finding the true temp. they pretty much said run it and it will be fine ohh well. for me it will be fine because i wont overclock it.

Hope this thread goes on to help others!! I'm sure google is being searched like crazy over this deal.

AMD Support and Game » AMD Processors (CPU) » A10 over heating

<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
84685 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.