Topic Title: Phenom 2 x4 925, underclocking under load?!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/26/2013 12:56 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/26/2013 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ineedalife
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/26/2013

i know a cpu usually underclocks itself when it isnt needed, but for me its like vice versa, its at 3,2ghz(oced) at idle, but after about 1 minute into "any" new game the cpu goes down to about 900mhz for a couple of secs and then back to 3,2. i've also been testing with various software like OCCT, and the cpu seems to be underclocked at about 40c then it goes down to about 36c, and back to normal speed. i've also turned of cool'n quiet but didnt help, and tried stock speeds. its getting real annoying in games.

phenom 2 x4 925

4x2gb kingston hyperx 1066mhz(running at 800)

asus m3n78-emh hdmi

asus gtx560ti directCUII 1gb

i just got the gpu, but i oced the cpu before i got it and had the problem,didnt realize what the mhz drop was until i tried playing a newer game.

ive been going berserk on this thing for 6+ hours, i just dont know anymore.

 01/26/2013 01:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 275
Joined: 09/16/2012

The problem is that your motherboard dose not support the PII 925 95w cpu or any cpu over 65w.

So what happing is that the cpu is overpowering your motherboard so it throttles it down and the only way to fix it is to get a new motherboard.



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 01/27/2013 08:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ineedalife
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/26/2013

but i didnt have the problem before

 01/27/2013 02:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 275
Joined: 09/16/2012

You didn't or you just never noticed before?

According to Asus   your board dose not support any of the phenomII cpus, but if you were lucky and it work just fine before than I would be looking at the psu (wich you didn't list)

The GTX560 is a pretty powerful card and your going to need at least a 500W psu 



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 01/27/2013 03:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ineedalife
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/26/2013

i got a brand new psu along with the gpu, 550w 2x30amp 12v rails

 01/28/2013 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 275
Joined: 09/16/2012

Try taking out the video card and run a few stress tests and see if the cpu's clock speed still drops.

Turthly I can't see the video card having anything to do with it but at least you can rule out the gpu and psu.

 



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 01/28/2013 03:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ineedalife
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/26/2013

i started overclocking before i got the gpu, running the integrated gpu, i saw the mhz drop then already, but didnt actually know what it was until i tried running more demanding games. and i already had the psu then.

 01/28/2013 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerx
Button Masher

Posts: 275
Joined: 09/16/2012

As I said before your motherboard just can't handle a 95W cpu.

You might of been able to OC the cpu but once you put any load on the cpu the motherboard will downclock it to prevent damage.

Time to upgrade to a AM3/AM3+ board



-------------------------

FX 8320// Asus Sabertooth R2.0 // HIS R9 280x //8Gb of 1866Mhz ram, H50 cooling, HX850W psu all stuffed into a NZXT Phantom case.


Was a member of AMD Processer forum since 2008. Last post count 1818.

 01/28/2013 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ineedalife
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/26/2013

then why didnt i have it before, i would have noticed when fps drops to 10 in any game, and i also tried underclocking it to 2ghz, it still goes down.

 01/29/2013 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4011
Joined: 01/27/2008

Not sure why you're arguing about this considering you have a CPU with no official BIOS support, on an unsupported Nvidia chipset motherboard.

Maybe you're just lucky it's gotten this far and have to hope nothing has been permanently damaged.

Sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and upgrade. Get a new motherboard for starters.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

Statistics
84898 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.